Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful little book
So far we have walked one of the walks (our intention is to do all 50) and there were some minor errors, one of which resulted in us setting off in totally the wrong direction at the start (should have said 'turn left out of the car park instead of 'turn right'!!) Anyway, the publishers mention in their blurb in the book that they are grateful for corrections so I will...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by RapidReader

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply infuriating
I bought this book recently following the completion of a different (better) Kent walk book, hoping to carry on striding around the countryside; not standing in the middle of fields infuriated with the shockingly poor descriptions, wrong directions (being told to turn left when it's painfully obvious that right is the correct way, and vice versa happens in most of the...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by oliorchard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply infuriating, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book recently following the completion of a different (better) Kent walk book, hoping to carry on striding around the countryside; not standing in the middle of fields infuriated with the shockingly poor descriptions, wrong directions (being told to turn left when it's painfully obvious that right is the correct way, and vice versa happens in most of the walks), lack of distance perception etc etc.

Really, don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget to take your map!, 9 May 2012
We've only done five of the walks so far but three of them have been blighted by dreadful directions.

On one occasion we'd finally got back on track and were enjoying our egg sandwiches in an orchard near Brenchley, when another couple came along clutching the very same book and cursing it out loud!!!

Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful little book, 6 Jan 2010
By 
RapidReader (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
So far we have walked one of the walks (our intention is to do all 50) and there were some minor errors, one of which resulted in us setting off in totally the wrong direction at the start (should have said 'turn left out of the car park instead of 'turn right'!!) Anyway, the publishers mention in their blurb in the book that they are grateful for corrections so I will write to them in due course when we have completed a few more of the walks.

Handy size for taking on the walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my parents who wanted to take up walking. It is a handy little pack that that is covered so will be fine to use in bad weather also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed maps, good information, 7 July 2012
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Of the 50 walks, 40 are covered with maps and 10 are described without the aid of maps, which is slightly disappointing. The only other criticism I have is the lack of any walks along the south side of the river Thames where there are many fascinating public footpaths that I know which explore the Kent side of the river.

That aside the book is an easily pocketable guide, each route map having a description of how to get to the starting point and parking instructions near to the start. Other information includes distance and estimated walk time, the gradient covered (in feet/metres), path type, public toilets along the route, and dog friendliness for those taking one. The walks are generally circular, thus avoiding back-tracking on previous ground, and there's information on where to eat and drink, plus notes on what to look out for and visit while you're on the walk, such as points of historical interest.

Very useful also is the inclusion of the relevant OS Explorer map for each walk, which I would always recommend taking so that detailed landmarks can be observed. For reference, the Explorer maps required to cover all 50 walks are:

OS 125 Romney Marsh
OS 136 High Weald
OS 137 Ashford
OS 138 Dover, Folkestone & Hythe
OS 148 Maidstone & the Medway Towns
OS 149 Sittingbourne & Faversham
OS 150 Canterbury & the Isle of Thanet
OS 162 Greenwich & Gravesend
OS 163 Gravesend & Rochester

The book is brief and informative, providing good directions for each on each walk combined with interesting geographical and historical facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good so far, 29 Aug 2010
By 
R. Yates "shopper" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A good book for Kent walks, I don't have an ordinance map and this did the job. Walk 44 extension to walk 43, slightly lost in Hurst Wood, no fault of book but signs seem to disappear in the wood but was able to get back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kent AA 50 walks Series, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Curtis "badgerjan" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, some good walks included here, something for everyone, off to Kent at the end of Nov,09, will be taking it with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We bought the book for friends who were moving to Kent, when we visited we did one of the walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KENT, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have only had the time (and good weather) for one of the Kent walks, and found the very detailed description of the route to be absolutely invaluable .... despite innumerable changes that have occurred since this article was first written.

The narrative is very detailed, but the user must remember that fence lines change, so do not overly depend upon finding stiles or gates ... and remember that pub names also change with the years!! Signage along the Toys Hill route was very good, other than in Ide Hill where, without input from a concerned local resident, finding the appropriate path would have proved impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50 Walks in Kent (AA 50 Walks Series)
50 Walks in Kent (AA 50 Walks Series) by Automobile Association
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews