Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brew of hallucinogenic goodness
Making comparisons between Moon Duo and Wooden Shjips is practically inevitable considering the former is a side project of the latter. The distinction between the two was a very fine one with 2010's Escape - with Mazes the dividing line has become more defined. The gyrating riffing aesthetic is present on both, but the Duo seem to lift the not unpleasant fug of the...
Published on 19 April 2011 by J. Holloway

versus
2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is there music hidden there somewhere ?
Hard to say with this one. I read a review of this, probably in The Sunday Times, and thought that it sounded right up my street, and it could well be if I could actually hear the music behind the utterly abysmal, lo fi, mush recording. I have excellent Hi Fi Equipment and frankly it can expose terrible recordings for what they are. This may be a work of genius, but, its...
Published on 20 May 2011 by St.Obswell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brew of hallucinogenic goodness, 19 April 2011
By 
J. Holloway (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MAZES (Audio CD)
Making comparisons between Moon Duo and Wooden Shjips is practically inevitable considering the former is a side project of the latter. The distinction between the two was a very fine one with 2010's Escape - with Mazes the dividing line has become more defined. The gyrating riffing aesthetic is present on both, but the Duo seem to lift the not unpleasant fug of the Shjips and present something much lighter, more airy and generally less bong fuelled.

Allowing Moon Duo to embrace a pop sensibility, Sanae Yamada's keyboards are central to this distinction. Of course this is a swirling fractalised tie-dyed psychedelic garage awareness of pop's power, not the auto-tuned apocalypse of current chart pop, but the hook is as ingenious as anything on major play-lists. `Mazes', for example, is a sunshine bounce of a tune that has you humming within seconds and `When You Cut' catches you with its uncomplicated keyboard line before the fuzzed guitar begins to rise.

Mazes is a another brew of hallucinogenic goodness from Moon Duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Success, 16 May 2011
This review is from: MAZES (Audio CD)
Bought this on a recommendation as I've recently got into more psych rock based music such as Black Angels, Wooden Shjips, BRMC, Warlocks, Tame Impala and others. Just listened to the album with a couple of pints of Everards Old Original (brewed in Leicestershire) and can say what a thoroughly enjoyable 40 odd minutes this is. If you like the bands I've mentioned this is definitely one for you. Most of the tracks chug along with that hazy, druggy beat that also catches you nodding with approval with plenty of hooks to grab your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For fans of classic 'Spacerock'! There is a new voyage waiting to be experienced, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazes (MP3 Download)
Apologies for the rush of jumbled, initial reactions. This is amazing, I thought, jogging as it did the fondest of musical memories with its hints of Hendrix, Hawkwind, Gnod, White Hills and all the great space-rockers. The mood can be darkly atmospheric yet totally infectious, ethereal, metallic and fuzzy with some remarkable guitar work. It could almost be the top-rated selection from a list of the 'best ever', 'krautrock' releases (a truly miraculous, multi-faceted goldmine of a genre, but one tagged with a rather unhelpful label!). Hang on...in addition to Titan, Ash Ra and Amon Düül II, I'm also picking up a flavour of Tom Verlaine's vocal phrasing and the ensemble work on the 'Television' album...and all the while, all around these impressions, that pummeling beat like a metronomic steam-hammer and those joyful keyboard burbles, hisses, growls and hoots.
This pounced and overpowered on first hearing but I still think it will prove itself to be a 'grower' and unveil a further multitude of deranged charms over the next few sittings. Definitely a band whose cause I'd gladly champion and into whose output I intend to delve further. I guess I rather like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazes (MP3 Download)
An excellent slice of slightly scuzzy, lysergically inclined synth pulses and guitar riffage. Hugely enjoyable and a good one to crank up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That last review is s***..., 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazes Remixed (MP3 Download)
To the guy that "read the review in the Sunday Times". The garage aesthetic is king, and this album has it in spades...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Summer!, 21 May 2011
By 
T. Turner (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MAZES (Audio CD)
I first heard this playing before a Dean Wareham gig at XOYO in April. The repetitive rhythm and blissful effects laden guitar noodling refresh where other bands fail to reach. I can't stop playing it. Tracks Mazes, When You Cut and In The Sun are favourites. For me, it's the surefire album of the summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An aural experience, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazes (MP3 Download)
Wonderful mesmeric music. If you like The Warlocks, then you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazes (MP3 Download)
Great album but not great quality recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is there music hidden there somewhere ?, 20 May 2011
This review is from: MAZES (Audio CD)
Hard to say with this one. I read a review of this, probably in The Sunday Times, and thought that it sounded right up my street, and it could well be if I could actually hear the music behind the utterly abysmal, lo fi, mush recording. I have excellent Hi Fi Equipment and frankly it can expose terrible recordings for what they are. This may be a work of genius, but, its truly hidden by one of the worst recordings I've heard. Sounds like it was two tracked onto a 1970's Boots Cassette Player.
Moon Duo, get a proper soundman (or woman) with a firm grasp of the basics of sound recording, because its clear to me that you have no idea what to do with your equipment, you are hiding your potential instrumental virtuosity under a bushel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MAZES
MAZES by Moon Duo (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews