Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Exactly As It Says On The Cover, 18 Feb 2011
By 
In describing this 2cd suite as `the most comprehensive collection of his work ever released', Spectrum hits the mark and shrugs off its budget label tag. This is a truly excellent compilation of original single releases, b-sides, 12-inch mixes, rare tracks and more; released only three months after Gregory's passing. How Spectrum managed to pull this together is laudable. Disc one, subtitled Extra Classic, covers the period 1970 - 1978; an amazing thirteen different labels over twenty tracks! Slave Master and early favourite, Mr Know It All with its extended dub outro are featured. Production credits go to Gregory himself, keyboard player Ossie Hibbert, Lee Perry, Clive Chin and Sly & Robbie among others.

Disc two, titled Cream Of The Crop, includes (for the first time on cd I believe) Tune In and Happy Anniversary from Gregory's short time with Charisma on the PRE lp release, The Lonely Lover. There are six tracks that were not originally released in the UK. Night Nurse (the 1982 album) for a change is not too heavily plundered, giving this release a more rounded representation of Gregory's outstanding work. Barring the Sly & Robbie produced (Oh) What A Feeling; disc two receives the production gloss of the artist.

The sound quality on these discs is superb, with no filler. Even better is the quality of the packaging. Disc one is screen printed in the Trojan Records branding, whilst disc two features the Island logo. The Spectrum logo is so discreet as to be deliberately underplayed. A twelve-page colour booklet includes an overview of Gregory's recording career with additional info on the tracks, images of record labels, sleeves, press cuttings and promo shots.

With a combined running time of about 150 minutes and a budget price, I would recommend this over any of the other collections of Gregory's work. Listen to the vocal talent from the snippets above and then buy. As far as compilations go, this is definitely Top Ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gregory Isaac, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This double album is fantasic, i bought it for my mother who is a big fan of the "cool ruler" and listerning to it i fell in love with it myself.
The quality of the tracks is brilliant they sound clear and brand new. The photos and documentation regarding the musical jorney all made it all the more better.
Needless to say my mom totally loved her gift.
I would totally recommend this album!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have several Gregory albums and compilations but this is the best, Great value, sound quality and even some 12" versions and dub tracks thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Nurse: The Best Of Gregory Isaacs, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is definitely one of my most favourity Gregory Isaacs cd's. I love every song on this and would definitely recommend anybody to purchase this. FANTASTIC!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best album that Ive listened to in a loooooong time. A must have for Gregry Issacs fans both young and old with a little bit of everything from the legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest selection, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love music and it is great for the money and all reggae fans will love this great combination of these classic songs brought three copies to give to uncles the best cd ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quality compilation of a man with dulcet tones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a star, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the music of such a great man sadly gone from this world. Bought back memories of my youth fond ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RIP Gregory, 25 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doubtless that this contains some classic Isaacs tracks but one cannot help but think that so soon after his death someone is trying to cash in. A truly classic reggae singer who I will miss along side Dennis Brown.In my opinion they both demonstrated what real roots reggae music (old school 'irie' vibe)was truly all about beyond the rock influence phenomenom of Marley.Sadly they both wrestled with demons largely based around drug abuse for a very long time.Sorry to get on my soap box but trust me if you are thinking of exploring the music of Gregory Issaacs this is genuinely as good a place to start is any.A truly comprehensive collection which can't have been easy to collate as the Cool Ruler recorded hundreds of albums on hundreds of different labels. This contains many of his essential tracks from many years of recording a prolific and varied legacy of great songs.Gregory, I wish I had known you lived in England and I also regret that I never saw you live.RIP-no one will ever replace the cool ruler.I hope your family receive some royalties for this mark of a huge reggae career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Nurse: The Best Of
Night Nurse: The Best Of by Gregory Isaacs
Buy MP3 Album12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews