Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular television
I had watched Spartacus blood and sand and loved it.

I have always been fascinated with Ancient Rome and i thought this series was in fact spectacular to watch.

It follows of rise of Gnaeus Cornelius Lentulus Batiatus played by John Hannah and explains how he became the Dominus of his house and Gladitorial school following the death of his...
Published on 4 April 2011 by Beanie Luck Spud

versus
61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the complete series
this series has been split into 2 sperate releases
although not mentioned here you only get 9 episodes not the 18 quoted
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by Mr. M. Slaymaker


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular television, 4 April 2011
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I had watched Spartacus blood and sand and loved it.

I have always been fascinated with Ancient Rome and i thought this series was in fact spectacular to watch.

It follows of rise of Gnaeus Cornelius Lentulus Batiatus played by John Hannah and explains how he became the Dominus of his house and Gladitorial school following the death of his father.

This series also follows the rise of Crixus who you were introduced too in Spartacus: Blood And Sand Season 1 [DVD] [2010] i found it quite interesting to watch this season as Crixus was a nobody and had to fight very hard to earn his place as Champion of the house.

It also goes into detail about how he came to be the lover of the Lucretia, Domina of the house played by Lucy Lawless.

Most importantly however it details the story of Gannicus, who was not only the Champion of the house before Crixus and earns his freedom, but goes onto become one of Spartacus's most loyal generals in the slave rebellion, this by the way is historical fact, you can read about it here:

[...]

This season is short at only 6 episodes but at an hour each it really is worth the money.

Its authentic, violent, bloody and at times extremely brutal, and very very graphically sexual, so i would not recommend it for kids viewing even for historical purposes.

Personally i would highly recommend it but make sure that you buy the 1st season as well, ive included the link at the top of the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly brilliant!, 14 Mar 2011
By 
D. Turner (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I seriously considered not watching this, since I thought a series of Spartacus without Spartacus would be pointless, although I am so glad I did. The story line is just perfect, and as with the first series there are so many clever twists etc. Its fascinating seeing how the house of Batiatus got to where it was in blood and sand, and this mini series renders new meaning and shines light onto the blood and sand series. The acting, cast, storyline and everything is spot on. If you loved blood and sand and are doubtful about this because it doesn't have spartacus in, then don't be! give it a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality stuff again, 27 Feb 2011
While the character who plays Spartacus fights illness the producers have created a 6 episode prequel mini series.

Despite its short length Gods of the Arena does an outstanding job of explaining many of the pre stories of Season 1 while injecting all the manoeuvring for favour, violence and sex that marked the series out as so exceptional.

The acting, characterisation, plot and dialogue has all the skill and conviction of a Shakespearian production. Graphically impressive the photography and direction capture the essence of the era beautifully.

As good as all the components are this is a series about gladiators and the real stars are the fight scenes - choreographed, performed and CGI'd into a heavily stylised brutal reality they are fully immersive and leave little to the imagination

Buy it, and if you haven't seen season 1 yet, buy that first to appreciate the character stories in full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the complete series, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. M. Slaymaker (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this series has been split into 2 sperate releases
although not mentioned here you only get 9 episodes not the 18 quoted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When this was orderd, it said no where on it that it was for region 1, this meant that I could not play it on my dvd player and had to watch the whole series on my laptop.

If it was not a great series that I wanted to see the end of, I would have sent it back.

You need to make sure that you are getting the right dvd's for this country, as this did not say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning this is not Season three Complete., 16 Sep 2009
This box set is only the first 8 Episodes - the full season has 18 Episodes

I don't have a clue why they have split this into two but its best to wait for the complete season.

I was all ready to buy this when I decided to double check which was just as well.

Amazon should make this very clear its only half a box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ".0" is meant to indicate it's a half-season?, 27 Jan 2010
By 
J. Nicoll - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very disappointed with how this is sold. The ONLY hint that you're getting half a season, unless you already know the episode list, is the ".0" in the title. Not unreasonable for the price, just annoyed at how it's represented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FNL - what your TV is for!!, 26 May 2008
By 
Cav (Christchurch, UK) - See all my reviews
Just finished watching the second season. It's only 15 episodes long rather than the expected 24, because of the writers strike, apparently.

Despite that it's still an awesome programme. Season one blew me away, but I'd read that the second wasn't as good. Well, I personally wasn't disappointed. Every episode was superb TV and had me totally sucked in. The acting is as good as you'll get anywhere, and the script is intelligent but doesn't go over the top - if something doesn't need to be said, they don't say it.

My only gripe, and it's a small one, is that FNL packs far too many dramatic events/storylines into too small a space. But for a show that never knows when the plug is gonna be pulled, I suppose that's understandable. Even so, each situation is believable and well handled.

I've also seen this programme likened to The O.C. For me, it's the fact that it's nothing like The O.C. or Dawson's Creek etc. that makes it appealing. The pretty people aren't THAT pretty, or squeaky clean. The Texas location is perfect, and the American Football side of the show isn't overplayed to the point of putting off non-fans.

I don't think I've ever seen a programme I enjoyed as much as FNL. It still annoys me that it isn't given the respect it deserves of a long-term commitment, despite all the awards it's won. I have heard rumours of a third season in 2009, but I won't get too excited just in case it doesn't happen. Maybe one day they'll even release season 2 on a region 2 DVD.

Anyway, FNL is what John Logie Baird had in mind all those years ago when he invented the TV. Go watch it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Area Code, 28 Mar 2013
The description did not say which area code. Naturally, being in UK, I assumed a region 2, but it turned out to be region 1 which cannot be played in Europe. Bummer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Rip-Off, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Steve S (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The box says "A Town called Eureka Season 3.0" but you only get the first 8 episodes, not the 18 listed by Wikipedia. Will the others be released? Who knows. Is this a complete series? No.

My advice - wait until the complete series is available. Universal-Playback should be ashamed of themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartacus - Gods Of The Arena [Blu-ray]
Spartacus - Gods Of The Arena [Blu-ray] by Various (Blu-ray - 2011)
18.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews