Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS's New Fighting Champ
Had this game from release and so glad i made that choice.
Dead or Alive: Dimensions' cast of impossibly proportioned females makes it all too easy to dismiss it as a form of mere titillation, rather than a serious fighting game. Yet underneath its busty exterior lie fast-paced 3D battles that eschew complex button combinations in favour of agile reversals and...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Joel Corbett

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Fan, Phenomenal Game
Well I have been playing DOA for years. First tasted DOA2 then got DOA3 and DOA4 later on. Loved them to bits. Team Ninja have always outdone themselves when it comes to the next game with superior graphics and intelligent design. If you want to play a fighter, there is truly none better on any platform and certainly not on the 3DS. It blows Street Fighter out of the...
Published on 17 July 2011 by Ryan M. Horwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Allways prefered Tekken ... but this time DoA won. You can fight people and get clotheing upgrades and style up your game a bit more than just "fight"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DOA, I missed you so much!, 15 Sept. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Oh, Dead or Alive, how I've missed these games.

Back in my teenage years I had a Play Station 2 and one of the games I had for it was Dead or Alive 2,
Now, I also had Tekken 4, which was fun and had better graphics and had some neat character customisation tools, but I think I had more fun with DOA2
No, not because of the busty girls! Although I was a teenager... but there was another reason.

Interactive, multi-level arenas.

Other fighting games either confine you to a ring or if you throw someone out of the ring it's an instant win (or instant lose if you're thrown out), but Dead or Alive was different -- yes some arenas were a confined fighting ring, but even those had interactive elements, you could do more damage by smashing someone against a wall or even into something like an electrical wire, but there were also arenas where you could throw someone off of a bridge or a balcony, they would take damage from the fall and then jump down and finish them off, equally if you were knocked off the edge this also gave you a chance to recover, and in addition it broke the repetitiveness of the fighting game, allowing you to explore multiple parts of an arena by knocking your opponent off the roof onto the next level.

Then DOA 3 was only released on the Xbox and so I missed out on it... but now it's on the 3DS! a portable DOA game? I had my doubts at first but everything I loved about the old games is here!

The interactive mechanic of the arenas has been brought back to life beautifully in Dead or Alive: Dimensions! Practically every arena from previous games is there, you can throw someone off a roof, off a balcony, down some stairs, off a bridge, down a waterfall and in the process explore some wonderfully rendered environments, all in full 3D!

There are some other cool features, like the chronicles mode that takes you through the story of each of the previous games, something the original games themselves did fairly poorly, in five chapters using various different characters that fit the part of the story -- this makes it less monotonous than just using one character over and over, and lets you experience different fighting types as you move through the story, and as you go through you'll unlock new characters to play in the other game modes. Chronacles mode also acts as a tutorial, giving you tips on how to use certain moves so you won't just be aimlessly button-mashing the whole time, which is a nice touch.

The game also has all the standard fighting modes like survival, arcade, tag team, versus, etc. and can connect with streetpass so people can challenge you to a throwdown when you're out and about.

There are a few negative aspects to the game though:
- in Chronicles mode some of the cutscenes are animated but a lot of them are a series of still renders of the characters standing motionless like figurines while their voice actors speak over them, which feels a bit... cheap -- I assume this was done because of the limitations of the 3DS though, there's only so much space on the cartridges. Also, in some of the victory animations the lip synch doesn't quite match up the the voice acting, and there are a few little things like this. Overall these are just aesthetics though and don't detract from the enjoyment value of the game.

The one thing I did find detracted a little bit from the fun of the game is that fights seem to be over very quickly because of the amount of damage characters can do to eachother in a short space of time, but this is a minor point and fights are still pretty fun, just more fast-paced.

All in all a good game, I recommend this to any fighting game fan and any Dead or Alive fan especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kick action, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Enjoyable game, kept son entertained for hours.

First purchase in the DOA franchise so don't know the history behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead or Alive, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Great game lots of action and a great variety of fighting characters. Best played in arcade mode. As you progress the characters get different outfits some are better than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Or Alive: Dimensions is excellent fun online and is a must have game for people who like their fighting games., 25 Sept. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Dead Or Alive 2 was one of the first games that I had for my PS2 and when I saw this game on the 3DS it put a big smile on my face. There are a impressive 25 charcters for you enjoy playing as, in which many of them get unlocked as you progress through the games many different modes. Chronicle mode allows you follow the gripping Dead or Alive story and in Arcade mode you are given 8 fighters to compete for the best clear times. Survival mode is the hardest mode in which it goes up to 100 fighters for you to challenge in one go.
In Tag Challenge you team with a computer player and battle against very powerfuful opponents and it's in this mode that you unlock the boss charcters. Free play lets you choose your favourite stage and charcters for battle against the computer.
Throwndown lets you take on other fighters you've come arcross by using Streetpass which is pretty cool stuff.
Interenet Play mode is by far my favorite mode, in which I play against people from all over the world with no slow down 99% of the time. The one time I did have slow it reminded me of Matrix when Kasumi was falling down in slow motion. I thought I was pretty good at Dead or Alive but their are some people that seem to be able block and counter attack nearly every move. I always look for opponents which are rated D or lower. I have beaten one person who was ranked A, but this was a very lucky fluke.
The graphics in Dead Or Alive: Dimensions are fantastic and I love the way you can knock your opponent through walls and off ledges. Yes the ladies boobies still have a lot bounce in them as you fight and the music still rocks as well. For me this is the best fighting game on the 3DS at the moment with Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition (Nintendo 3DS) a close 2nd and Tekken 3D - Prime Edition (Nintendo 3DS) taking a proud 3rd place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun fluid slightly fanservice combat which on the easy settings ..., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Fun fluid slightly fanservice combat which on the easy settings is a bit boring but normal and hard keep me entertained and a good fighting game to have in the game case however as soon as you turn on the 3d the frame rate gets choppy but still playable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 30 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
excellent value game, really shows what the 3ds can do, I know a lot of games on the 3ds are expensive and hard to buy, but really
this is a must have, hope the price stays fare so others can enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a cowboy, on a steel horse I ride..., 22 Jun. 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
The twitchiest, sleaziest, stupidest misogyny fest one on one fighter finally makes a proper handheld outing and in doing so provides what is not only a strong contender for the best fighter to appear on any handheld to date, but is also the best Dead or Alive title yet... probably.

The story(Hohohohoho!) is told via the central 'Chronicle' mode which serves as both a massive tutorial and a proper full story mode with cutscenes viewable in either english or japanese with subtitles. Honestly though, who cares about the plot in any beat em up? Let alone a DOA beat em up. It does seem to be a fairly sizeable mode though, and does a decent job or gradually easing you through the finer elements of the combat system in a way that is easy to understand and learn. So it serves at least some useful purpose, even if the meat of the game is to be found in the myriad other modes on offer. There's an arcade mode, time attack and survival that all gradually unlock longer and harder versions as you complete them. There's various challenge modes(Including a bloody hard tag challenge mode), full online multiplayer and a rather robust selection of collectible figurines and new costumes to unlock. It is NOT a game that is light on content, but how much patience you have for exploring it's nuances and working towards unlocking stuff is entirely a question you can only answer for yourself. It's also worth noting the excellent use of the 'Spotpass' function of the 3DS which sees new costumes added to the game daily and new 'throwdown' challenges from the developers weekly... all added completely automatically and unintrusively so long you have your 3DS on and internet set. Yet another great demonstration of the 3DS' unmatched communicative functionality.

The actual combat is pretty superbly done, with the 3DS recreating the series trademark, super smooth, super fast 60fps performance effortlessly with surface visuals that look fantastic to boot and lose none of the physics or stage interactivity either. The game can at times feel as though it has descended into a button mashing endurance test during tougher fights, with the countering system being as temperamental as ever, but with the added inconvenience of being on a smaller screen than ever before making it even harder to time when a kick is about to hit your face or shins. There is a steep curve to attaining true mastery of this combat system, and for some of the fights on offer, it can sometimes feel like you really need to do just that. Saying that, it CAN also be enjoyable as a quick, enjoyable stress releaser for the odd quick and easy fight... but make no mistake, if you aren't prepared to put the time and effort in, this game will not last you very long. If you are though, there's more than enough to keep you busy for quite some time. It is worth noting though that when the 3DS' 3D effect is switched on it cuts the game's framerate in HALF, so if you play this game at 60fps, then it's very very likely that'll you find the 3D 30fps version near unplayable. Without the smoothness of movement, this simply doesn't feel like the same game so sadly the 3D effect is essentially useless for any actual gameplay viewing. It does look great for the cutscenes and 'photo mode'(Yeah, I groaned too) though.

The online functionality though... that leaves a bit to be desired. It offers a decent enough set up, yes, and I had no trouble finding opponents... but there is some major lag going on here that can seriously impact the gameplay. In a game that requires timing as precise as this one does when battling a skilled opponent, even the slightest delayed response on your connection can totally change the course of a fight. It seemed to be a regularly occurring thing and my internet connection was registering strong while I was playing, so I can only conclude that the online in this game is in need of some ironing out of a few imperfections. It feels pretty amateurish on the online front when measured against 3DS launch title Super Street Fighter 4 3D, which had a near flawless multiplayer/online system in place from the get go. How often you plan on playing online here is probably going to determine how much of a downside the lag issues will be for you.

Visually, while DOA Dimensions is possibly not really much prettier to look at than the likes of Tekken 6 or Soul Calibur on PSP have looked over the past couple of years, there's no denying that in terms of performance it utterly outclasses any other handheld fighter you've seen before. The smooth visuals and speed are nothing short of a revelation to see in action on a handheld console and that really helps it feel like something fresh. There is of course the issue with the 3D being rendered useless for in-gameplay use due to how hard it hits the performance, but so long as you stick with 2D for the fights themselves at least you won't have many complaints. The physics are also of course noteworthy for how good a job is done on emulating the movement of clothing, hair and such... "Such" obviously being the females characters' breasts, an element of the DOA series whose attention to detail has attained legendary status over the years. You may or may not be pleased to hear that on this score it is every bit as bouncy as you could want... and this in conjunction with some of the sleaze-tastic outfits you can unlock for the women and that are added to the game via updates every day will leave you in no doubt that this sure is a game that was made in Japan! The sound work is good, with generic music but superb voice acting in either english or japanese more than making up for it.

It isn't a perfect game by any means, but as far as handheld one on one fighters go, this is a very very strong contender for being the best one to date, offering a solid combat system with amazing technical prowess behind it and a robust selection of features and modes. The compromising 3D aspects and flawed online multiplayer let the side down a bit, but overall, I'd say this is still a truly excellent game and definitely the pick of the 3DS' current games line up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This games graphic`s are amazing, the levels are massive, the sound is brilliant perfectly realised for a hand-held
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ) smooth game-play as well as learning new tricks as you play is great: ), 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
a really addictive game :) smooth game-play as well as learning new tricks as you play is great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS)
£6.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews