Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS's New Fighting Champ
Had this game from release and so glad i made that choice.
Dead or Alive: Dimensions' cast of impossibly proportioned females makes it all too easy to dismiss it as a form of mere titillation, rather than a serious fighting game. Yet underneath its busty exterior lie fast-paced 3D battles that eschew complex button combinations in favour of agile reversals and...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Joel Corbett

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Fan, Phenomenal Game
Well I have been playing DOA for years. First tasted DOA2 then got DOA3 and DOA4 later on. Loved them to bits. Team Ninja have always outdone themselves when it comes to the next game with superior graphics and intelligent design. If you want to play a fighter, there is truly none better on any platform and certainly not on the 3DS. It blows Street Fighter out of the...
Published on 17 July 2011 by Ryan M. Horwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS's New Fighting Champ, 16 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Had this game from launch and so glad i made that choice.
Dead or Alive: Dimensions' cast of impossibly proportioned females makes it all too easy to dismiss it as a form of mere titillation, rather than a serious fighting game. Yet underneath its busty exterior lie fast-paced 3D battles that eschew complex button combinations in favour of agile reversals and counterattacks.
Graphics are top-notch and a big smack in the face for anyone doubting the 3ds's capability - if games like this are being released so early in the consoles life then the future looks very promising for this wonderful handheld. With such fantastic graphics it also moves a an incredibly smooth rate with is i suppose the most important feature for a fighting game.
What makes this game special is anyone can pick it up and pull off winning combos straight away (there is a fantastic tutorial tagged into chronicle mode also), but to master it will take a while especially considering there are 25 charaters all with different styles and combos to perfect. Perfecting the throw and counters will take dedication, but you will be more than willing to put the time into this great game.
While most fighting games shoehorn their storylines into their arcade modes, Dimensions tackles things differently, with an ambitious mode called Chronicle. It tells the story of the first four Dead or Alive tournaments via in-engine cutscenes and prerendered videos, which are split across five separate chapters and interspersed with one-on-one battles. Trying to make sense of the story is a nigh-on-impossible task, though but it is a nice addition to the normal arcade, tag battles and online modes. Street-pass and spot-pass are very much part of this game also setting up throwdown challenges from people you meet through the 3ds.
Overall, a great fantastic game. Everyone should pick this one up, especially since there isn't much out right now for the 3DS. Its worth the money to add to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't hesitate!, 10 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I have owned this game for two weeks now and i an already tell its going to be hard to get bored of.

There's hundreds of unlockables to collect, several game modes which are all addictive in their own right and plenty of downloadable content for those who are lucky enough to have access to wi-fi, not to mention stunning graphics as well.

This is one of the best games available on this platform so don't hold back, its just what your looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 3D DOA that simply shines., 10 Jun 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This in my humble opinion is the best game on the 3DS as of June 2011. The 3D effect looks amazing and compliments the game very well. There are tons of modes and lots of cool little things that help the game last longer, I especially love the fact you get a free costume every day automatically downloaded. The collectable 3D statues are superb and the 3D photo mode is very addictive. There are tons of characters to unlock and a great story mode to play through as well as the online side of things. This has to be the biggest DOA to date and overall is better than the latest console version.
Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3DS leading the way for fighting games....sort of..., 9 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. N. A. Steel "Majikfish" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
For anyone who is a fan of the DOA fighting games (those strange "volleyball" titles don't count) it must have been a bonus to see a new addition to the series being released for Nintendo's new handheld the 3DS. Personally I've never really been seriously into playing competetive fighting games, occasionally I've dabbled into Soul Calibur multiplayer with my girlfriend, but was never skilled enough to join the other lads in a Tekken tournament, so I was pleasantly surprised at quite how much I've enjoyed playing DOA Dimensions.

First of all I'm going to dispel something which most of the big review websites have been raving on about, and that is the extended story or "Chronicle" mode which was put into the game to give new and experienced DOA players an insight into the long running story across the series. The good points about this mode are all based around the fact that it teaches you how to play the game, with a VERY intuitive totorial system which sees you following on screen control guides, teaching you everything from how to pull off a combo, to reversing moves. The bad however are based around the story telling cutscenes, which were (for the most part) cheesy, and fairly awkward to watch as they flick between beautiful CGI scenes, and the less impressive frozen character (still 3D but not moving) diorama scenes with dialogue. I couldn't help but feel that this had been done as a bit of a rushed job,(perhaps because of limitations in development time, or in the amount of space on a 3DS cartride) it was something that whatever the reason, seems to be a weird design choice that perhaps could have been better done with 3D comic boards.

The only other minor gripe is the Arcade mode, rather than having a traditional (Street fighter style) mode which pits you against 10 fighters for example, you are given the opportunity of choosing from one of several "Courses" Course 1 being the easiest, and gaining in difficulty as the levels go up. Bizarrely once you have finished course 1, there is no automatic option to move onto course 2, which, whilst not being a massive problem (you can just quit to the main menu and choose course 2) again seems like a strange design choice!

Now I hope that none of the above detracts you from playing what is essentially a very well put together fighting game, the most important thing is that it IS fun to play! The online multiplayer seemed to run smoothly most of the time, only occasionally lagging, I got my ass kicked but that's my fault for being terrible at this sort of game! It's a shame that the local multiplayer requires you to have 2 copies, no download mode available, something that developers really should be addressing with the current gen of handheld consoles I think!

The Graphics are truly beautiful, and I can honestly say, some of the best I've seen on the 3DS so far! The overall presentation is great, the menus are all very slick and everything is smooth. Soundtrack is a typical heavy rock/techno,music score with some powerful SFX in game, you definitely feel every punch/kick/ninjitsu strike.

For hardcore fans there's plenty to do here, in addition to the arcade and chronicle modes, there are also tag team battles, in which you team up with a CPU player to take down increasingly difficult opponents. There are also a number of survival modes to beat, these put you in the arena as a single fighter who has to take down a number of competitors one after another, and as with the other modes there are increments in difficulty, both in the number of opponents you have to fight, and how much they will kick your ass (and by the time you get to 50 fights they will kick your ass!). There's also a showcase mode which sees you unlocking statues of your favourite charactres and taking 3D photographs, this is a bit of a gimmick really and didn't serve much purpose to me, but big fans will love this sort of thing, (plus the 3DS' built in accelerometer provides a little bit of boob jigglage, if that's your sort of thing (See my "Volleyball reference at the start").

So to summarise

+A great fun fighting game with nice tight controls
+Easy to pick up even for fighting game noobs like me
+Some of the best looking graphics I've seen to date on the 3DS
+Good online multiplayer content
+Lots to do...
-If your're a hardcore fan^
-Strange uncomfortable cutscenes
-No local multiplayer download

All in all I'd give this title an 8/10 score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and Cheerful, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Dead or Alive Dimensions is simply a fun way to make journeys go quicker, with its eye popping 3D engaging you in the gaming experience. WIth 999 models to collect and characters/costumes too there is always something to do.

I never really play fighting games but this one really pulled me in, I love its endless combos for you to master and I like how you can hit your enemies across the map e.g kicking your opposition down the stairs. The online mode can be connected through either friends, region and worldwide but to be honest the game is slow losing that fun experience you recieve from this game. Its also unfortunate that the game is slower in 3D but thats really the only reason its not 5 stars.

For its price, a must buy for the Nintendo 3DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 7 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. Ryan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Dead or alive dimensions is gorgeous to look at it makes perfect use of the nintendo 3ds 3d graphic capabilities. For me one the main story is finished the game play feels too repetitive although it's fairly cheap to buy now and fans of beat ups I think will enjoy it although street fighter 4 is a better purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fighting saga, 3 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I'm not much into fighting games, I alway get bored. But Dead or Alive has something that keeps me playing on and on. And no, it's not the bouncing things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible titillating fighting game, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Dr. I. J. Newey (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I suspect many adolescents boys take pleasure in this game because of the breast physics of the female combatants. Not me! This attack counter high speed fighting game is a good alternative to Street Fighter 4 3D edition. Well worth getting both if you like beat em ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Contender., 9 Jun 2011
By 
E.J. McCartney (W. Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
DOA has gained a bad rep as 'that series with the boobs and volleyball', but it's still a versus-fighter at heart - a good one - and "Dimensions" is a great addition to the series.

PLOT: The story of DOAD is basically a more detailed retelling of DOA, and the growing war between the Mugen Tenshin Clan, and the antagonistic DOATEC. The story's a little confusing at first, but during "Chronicle mode" helpful addition notes pop up, so newcomers will understand the goings-on. The plot is not solid, but it's a better attempt of storytelling that you normally get from fighting games.

GAMEPLAY: Unlike DOA4, in which anyone could pound their way through matches by button mashing, DOAD plays more like DOA3. It's all about countering and timing, so provides more of a challenge for the 'hardcore gamer' (but Chronicle mode does feature short tutorials, which is useful to people who are new to DOA). The touch screen controls has its problems, as it has a slower input and it gives the opponent an wide opening to attack. The face-buttons, however, have instant input and are good to use.

Other modes include Training, Arcade, and Survival, which are self-explanatory. Tag Challenge pits your two-man team against another, but your team mate will always be a AI. This is a little annoying, because the AI will tag itself in whenever, but won't tag out again on its own, even when it's low on health, and isn't that good at attacking.

There are 1000 in-game figurines of the characters to unlock and take photos of, so there is some replay value. The game also supports Local and Internet play.

GRAPHICS AND ATHTETICS: DOA has always been praised for its good graphics, and the look of DOAD is definitely on par with the rest of the series, despite being on a handhold. The environments are stunning and the character models have been greatly improved. (And yes, the women's breasts bounce and move individually, but it's more subtle and less hilarious to watch compared to "Xtreme 2".) The whole game looks great in both 2D and 3D, but the 3D does hinder the gameplay because it cuts the frame rate by half. It's better to leave the 3D for cutscenes and non-fighting sections. Most of the music has been reused from the past games, but they are good tracks. The English voices are a bit hit-and-miss, but the game does let you set it to Japanese with subtitles, which is a plus.

One odd thing relating to graphics is the mix of fully animated scenes and still scenes during Chronicle mode. It seems like a odd choice to have the still images when the game can obviously support good animation; might have been to save space. Later on, the use of the stills becomes less, which is okay.

PACKAGING: The box is just your simple white 3DS game box. The front cover features a nice rendered image of Kasumi peeforming a high kick, with Ryu Hayabusa hiding in the background behind her. (The cover is black in Europe, and white in the US.) There is also a short, easy-read manual that goes over the basics, and has little profiles for Kasumi, Ryu, Ayane, and Hayate.

EXTRAS: DOAD uses SpotPass to download DLC in the form of extra costumes, a nice novelty, and Throwdown challenges, which adds to the replay value.

OVERALL: Yes, DOAD features a lot of recycled material, but it had enough new stuff that it doesn't feel like a quick port like most of the other 3DS titles. This game is one of the best games for the 3DS at the moment, and it's tough enough for experienced fans, while also allowing new comers to enter the series. If you have the money, it's a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness, thy name is DoA, 23 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
To make a quick rundown through the DoA history, the first thing I noticed in DoA 1 back in those days were the boob physics. While the game was decent enough, it was clearly aimed at teenage boys. Put it this way: The guys had two or three costumes, if that. One of the female fighters had fourteen. Since then we've had at least two spin-offs that focus far more on showing the girls in bikinis than being actual games. Then to top it off, when asked about the 3D-effect in DoA: Dimensions, one of the developers said "you guys won't be disappointed". Sounds like a really good game, huh...

Actually, yes. Yes, it is. Dead or Alive: Dimensions is BRILLIANT. I'm honestly not sure if the 'boob physics' are still there, but I'm having too much fun to notice. The fights are lightning-quick and often lasts less than ten seconds, yet the gameplay never gets out of control. You always know what you are doing, and trust me, you can do almost anything. Sort of. I mean other than the occasional boss, there are no fireballs, no screenfiling umbercombos and all that crap. One boss can fly for a short time and one has a lightsaber-thingy, but the rest of the characters are realistic enough and fight in close combat.

As for the characters, they are surprisingly varied too. Both Arcade and Survival-mode have stages that gets progressivly harder. I breezed through both Arcade and the next to last Survival (50 fights on Hard) without too much problems with Leifang, Ayane and La Mariposa, but I didn't stand a chance on the third Arcade stage with fighters like Helena and Chrissy. All because they are so different. And good ol' Tina? Good luck punching people with her. She's a wrestler, so you might as well learn to throw people. Same with her dad. The ninja-characters are quite similar in many ways, but the rest are different enough.

Anyway, to top it off, I went back to the "king" afterwards. Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition. I got bored after the first round. I used to love it, but after Dead or Alive: Dimensions... nah. Too boring for me. DoA is so much faster and funnier to play.

And as the icing of the cake, the top of the iceberg and all that? DoA has been notorious for being too difficult for newcomers. Trust me, I tried DoA4 four hours and didn't win a single fight. DoA: D not only is a much easier game at times (don't worry, there's enough for you hardcore here as well), but it even included a story telling the entire saga from DoA1 up to DoA4. It's not a perfect story or anything, but it definitely gets the job done.

All in all, I really love DoA: Dimensions. So much I've scrapped Super Street Fighter IV.

Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS)
8.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews