Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS's New Fighting Champ
Had this game from release and so glad i made that choice.
Dead or Alive: Dimensions' cast of impossibly proportioned females makes it all too easy to dismiss it as a form of mere titillation, rather than a serious fighting game. Yet underneath its busty exterior lie fast-paced 3D battles that eschew complex button combinations in favour of agile reversals and...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Joel Corbett

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Fan, Phenomenal Game
Well I have been playing DOA for years. First tasted DOA2 then got DOA3 and DOA4 later on. Loved them to bits. Team Ninja have always outdone themselves when it comes to the next game with superior graphics and intelligent design. If you want to play a fighter, there is truly none better on any platform and certainly not on the 3DS. It blows Street Fighter out of the...
Published on 17 July 2011 by Ryan M. Horwood


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS's New Fighting Champ, 26 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Had this game from release and so glad i made that choice.
Dead or Alive: Dimensions' cast of impossibly proportioned females makes it all too easy to dismiss it as a form of mere titillation, rather than a serious fighting game. Yet underneath its busty exterior lie fast-paced 3D battles that eschew complex button combinations in favour of agile reversals and counterattacks.
Graphics are top-notch and a big smack in the face for anyone doubting the 3ds's capability - if games like this are being released so early in the consoles life then the future looks very promising for this wonderful handheld. With such fantastic graphics it also moves a an incredibly smooth rate with is i suppose the most important feature for a fighting game.
What makes this game special is anyone can pick it up and pull off winning combos straight away (there is a fantastic tutorial tagged into chronicle mode also), but to master it will take a while especially considering there are 25 charaters all with different styles and combos to perfect. Perfecting the throw and counters will take dedication, but you will be more than willing to put the time into this great game.
While most fighting games shoehorn their storylines into their arcade modes, Dimensions tackles things differently, with an ambitious mode called Chronicle. It tells the story of the first four Dead or Alive tournaments via in-engine cutscenes and prerendered videos, which are split across five separate chapters and interspersed with one-on-one battles. Trying to make sense of the story is a nigh-on-impossible task, though but it is a nice addition to the normal arcade, tag battles and online modes. Street-pass and spot-pass are very much part of this game also, setting up throwdown challenges from people you meet through the 3ds.
Overall, a great fantastic game. Everyone should pick this one up, especially since there isn't much out right now for the 3DS. Its worth the money to add to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead or Alive: Dimensions is awesome. Go buy it!, 27 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Wow. This is definitely the best game I have for the 3DS. Both the gameplay and graphics are awesome.

The game features a bunch of modes. "Chronicle" is the storymode, where you battle through 5 chapters summing up what happened in DoA 1-4. It's a mess, but it's still really fun. Then there's Arcade, Survival and Tag Challange, 3 other fun modes.

There's also online play, but it's a but of a mess. You can battle random strangers (from the entire world or just your region) or your friends. But the framerate can sometimes slow down a bit, regardless of who you're playing with.

There is a total of 25 characters to play, and maybe there's one more secret character? I won't spoil that. But there really is a lot, and they all have at least 3 costumes each. Every day you get a new costume for a character through SpotPass, so a character can have up to as many as 7 costumes!

Costumes aren't the only "prizes" you get, though. Sometimes you unlock a figurine of a character, which you can then look at in 3D, and take pictures if you want. But wait. You haven't heard the number of figurines. It will blow your mind... Because there's a whopping 999 figurines to collect! After about 10 hours I had only colected 12% of the figurines!

The game is really beautiful, with or without 3D. While 3D adds a really cool depth to the game, and stuff (the logo and other titles like "Winner" or "Loser") literally comes out of the screen, the framerate does suffer from this. It's halved to 30 fps, while the 2D mode runs at a unbelievably smooth 60 fps.

But overall this is a really great game. I spent a couple of hours on the Chronicle mode, and a bunch of hours on the other modes. It's really fun! So it's definitely a must-buy!

(And yes, jiggle is 3D is awesome)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Quote The 5 Alive Dodo "I'M ALIIIIVVE!!!", 19 Sept. 2011
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Ever since I played and reviewed Dead Or Alive on the PSone, I've developed somewhat of an interest in Tecmo's beat-'em-up creation. Partially because it's a very good smack-'em-in-the-face series, and partially because fighting with the female characters is the closest I'll ever get to "pulling" in my life time. With the Kasumi marriage reference from my DOA review still wafting around the nasal passages of my Asperger Syndrome affected brain, I've decided to take a look at Dead Or Alive: Dimensions on the Nintendo 3DS.

Dimensions is chock full of options. There are 25 fighters in this game; with eight of them available from the start, including the likes of Kasumi and Zack. You can unlock the others as you play the game. There are several modes that'll keep you occupied until Hell's Kitchen's Elise Wims finally realizes her cooking and attitude sucks (that is to say: a very long time). The modes include Arcade, which puts you in a series of matches that gradually get tougher as you go along; and Survival, in which you must survive an onslaught of aggressive opposition, starting out at 10 fights before working your way up to 100.

The main event of the evening is the Chronicle mode. This is the game's story mode, which involves a company called DOATEC, a series of fighting tournaments, and numerous fighters wanting in on the tournaments for one reason or another. The story mainly revolves around the Ninja characters of Kasumi, Ryu, Ayane and Hayate. Is it epic? Is it riveting? Is it Oscar-winning and capable of making Ayane cry tears of joy and say "You like me! You really like me!" during her award acceptance speech? Hardly. But the gameplay is fantastic, and that's all that really matters to the hardcore beat-'em-up fan.

As you watch the action on the top screen, the moves list for your chosen character is displayed on the touch screen at the bottom. This is ideal as you can quickly take a glance at the list before attempting certain attacks on your opponent. But that's not all. Whip out your 3DS stylus and you can scroll through the list and give your fighter commands by merely tapping the on-screen options. It works. I've managed to win a couple of fights with this method. Having said that though, the stylus option is a little gimmicky, and if you are playing the game on harder difficulty levels you'll be better off sticking with the old-fashioned button presses.

The environments are a joy to fight in, with each of them offering different scenery to admire. Whitewater Vale has luscious trees and realistic water and cliff edges; The White Storm has tonnes of snow, both on the ground and blowing around in the air; and Kyoto In Bloom is an old-skool Japanese setting with a spring time look about it. Not only that, but the fights can spread over two and sometimes even three floors. For example: the Lorelei stage takes place on a palace balcony, and it's possible to knock your opponent over the balcony and down onto a walkway below. The long falls can cause damage to the fighters, and it provides more in the way of strategic fighting as you try to manoeuvre your opponent into the correct positions before unleashing an eight-move combo.

All of this is presented with beautiful graphics. Everything flows so smoothly, and the fighters themselves are presented in realistic detail, from the strands of hair on their heads to the minor markings on their footwear. And what about the 3D stuff? Well in DOA:D I've finally found a game in which the 3D image feature actually works well. Both the environments and the fighters really feel alive, and during the fighters' poses before and after matches, their arms and fists look like they're coming out of the screen. I'm really impressed with it.

Also embedded amongst the options we have Showcase. As you play through the different game modes you'll unlock figurines of DOA characters. Those figurines can be viewed in Showcase where you can take pictures of them. You can rotate the camera a bit; zoom in and out; then once you're happy with things you can snap away. Photos can be taken in 2D and 3D, and can then be viewed in the 3D Photo Album. It's all rather pointless, but if you're a budding photographer who wants to take a few close-up snaps of Kasumi's face and "assets" then this mode is just right for you. Actually, come to think of it...maybe it's not so pointless after all!

DOA:D does have a couple of down points. The voice acting is a mixed bag. Ryu is supposed to be 23, yet he sounds nearer 53 and is not as immature as I thought he might be. Meanwhile, Tina looks and sounds like Britney Spears during her 2007 public meltdown. On the plus side, Gen-Fu's voice is about right for an old Chinese man, as is the voice of the Russian powerhouse, Bayman; and hip DJ Zack just sounds hilarious, especially when he wins a fight and says "Congratulations to me."

One mode I was disappointed with was the Tag Challenge mode. The idea here is that you select two fighters to battle against the opposition. One fights, the other sits out, and you can tag into the match by pressing the Hold (Y) button. It's great in theory, but the execution is dodgy at best. The problem is your partner is computer controlled and can be as trigger happy as a coffee addicted bank robber. Even if you only take a couple of weak punches to the head, your partner will automatically tag their self in and mess up any plans you had of dealing with your opponents. This is especially problematic when your partner is low on health and you really need to let them have a rest, and it can lead to some humiliating defeats.

Despite the awkward Tag Challenge mode, there's a lot about Dead Or Alive: Dimensions that I simply love. The fantastic graphics; the gameplay that's easy to get to grips with; the 2-Player internet play that allows you to fight against anyone in the world; and Helena's French accent has left me in need of a really cold shower. The game deserves 5-Stars and is an essential purchase for the 3DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its not all about the boob bounce, 1 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. A. Mcgrath "Of Chaos" (Eldwick UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
First of all, Dead or Alive has a reputation as "that fighting game with the boob bounce". Well that is true. It does have the BB, but what most people forget to mention is that this series, is a fantastic and highly polished fighting series.

This game is brilliant and one of the first games I owned for my new little wonder console.

Graphics: This game is very pretty. The character and level design are fantastic. The animation is top notch and everything is smooth and in fantastic 3D. Cut scenes are varied in quality as some are new whilst others are from older games in the series, making them a little less impressive. All in all this games looks and runs great.

Game play: Button mashers beware! The whole idea behind DOA is counters, throws and strikes. All moves in the game can be countered. Hitting the low kick button all the time will not work. Your opponent will figure out what you are doing and throw and slap you all over the place. It isn't difficult to get used to this and soon you'll be countering your opponents every move, which feels great.

Life span: First of all you have the usual match types of many fighting games i.e. Arcade, Survival. You also have Chronicle mode, which is a mode that spans all the DOA games right from the first PSX one. This is great and makes you use many different characters, giving you a taste of all the different fighting styles. The story can be a little hard to follow but all in all its a fun and worth while experience.

You also have the on-line fights, which depending on who you are fighting, can be very difficult (Especially if it is a Japanese gamer, those guys are insane). Occasionally I have experienced lag but only on the fights with far aways opponents ie Japan. All in all though a great on-line experience.

You also get throw down challenges. These pop up every now and again, from either spotpass or streetpass, and you Vs a computer controlled version of a human player. Very interesting take on things and the computer difficulty is adjusted by the rank of the human player, making it very varied.

There is a lot of content to unlock by succeeding in all the different match types. There are Figures, clothing, arenas and a massive host of characters to unlock. It'll take you an age to get everything but well worth it.

Sound: Very impressive. Decent speech, Good music and Cracking sound effects. Added to the visuals this makes it an enjoyable and highly polished game all round.

Controls: Easy to pick up and play however, again button mashing will not work. The secret to successful string of victories is to learn how to counter, grab and strike at the right moment. There are combos/specials available on the touch screen, but I find these more difficult than learning them yourself than picking the various touch screen icons.

All in all I recommend this game. I am not a massive beat em up fan, but I have to say this game is brilliant!

This game definitely isn't dead its alive and kicking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS's New Fighting Champ, 16 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Had this game from launch and so glad i made that choice.
Dead or Alive: Dimensions' cast of impossibly proportioned females makes it all too easy to dismiss it as a form of mere titillation, rather than a serious fighting game. Yet underneath its busty exterior lie fast-paced 3D battles that eschew complex button combinations in favour of agile reversals and counterattacks.
Graphics are top-notch and a big smack in the face for anyone doubting the 3ds's capability - if games like this are being released so early in the consoles life then the future looks very promising for this wonderful handheld. With such fantastic graphics it also moves a an incredibly smooth rate with is i suppose the most important feature for a fighting game.
What makes this game special is anyone can pick it up and pull off winning combos straight away (there is a fantastic tutorial tagged into chronicle mode also), but to master it will take a while especially considering there are 25 charaters all with different styles and combos to perfect. Perfecting the throw and counters will take dedication, but you will be more than willing to put the time into this great game.
While most fighting games shoehorn their storylines into their arcade modes, Dimensions tackles things differently, with an ambitious mode called Chronicle. It tells the story of the first four Dead or Alive tournaments via in-engine cutscenes and prerendered videos, which are split across five separate chapters and interspersed with one-on-one battles. Trying to make sense of the story is a nigh-on-impossible task, though but it is a nice addition to the normal arcade, tag battles and online modes. Street-pass and spot-pass are very much part of this game also setting up throwdown challenges from people you meet through the 3ds.
Overall, a great fantastic game. Everyone should pick this one up, especially since there isn't much out right now for the 3DS. Its worth the money to add to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3DS leading the way for fighting games....sort of..., 9 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. N. A. Steel "Majikfish" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
For anyone who is a fan of the DOA fighting games (those strange "volleyball" titles don't count) it must have been a bonus to see a new addition to the series being released for Nintendo's new handheld the 3DS. Personally I've never really been seriously into playing competetive fighting games, occasionally I've dabbled into Soul Calibur multiplayer with my girlfriend, but was never skilled enough to join the other lads in a Tekken tournament, so I was pleasantly surprised at quite how much I've enjoyed playing DOA Dimensions.

First of all I'm going to dispel something which most of the big review websites have been raving on about, and that is the extended story or "Chronicle" mode which was put into the game to give new and experienced DOA players an insight into the long running story across the series. The good points about this mode are all based around the fact that it teaches you how to play the game, with a VERY intuitive totorial system which sees you following on screen control guides, teaching you everything from how to pull off a combo, to reversing moves. The bad however are based around the story telling cutscenes, which were (for the most part) cheesy, and fairly awkward to watch as they flick between beautiful CGI scenes, and the less impressive frozen character (still 3D but not moving) diorama scenes with dialogue. I couldn't help but feel that this had been done as a bit of a rushed job,(perhaps because of limitations in development time, or in the amount of space on a 3DS cartride) it was something that whatever the reason, seems to be a weird design choice that perhaps could have been better done with 3D comic boards.

The only other minor gripe is the Arcade mode, rather than having a traditional (Street fighter style) mode which pits you against 10 fighters for example, you are given the opportunity of choosing from one of several "Courses" Course 1 being the easiest, and gaining in difficulty as the levels go up. Bizarrely once you have finished course 1, there is no automatic option to move onto course 2, which, whilst not being a massive problem (you can just quit to the main menu and choose course 2) again seems like a strange design choice!

Now I hope that none of the above detracts you from playing what is essentially a very well put together fighting game, the most important thing is that it IS fun to play! The online multiplayer seemed to run smoothly most of the time, only occasionally lagging, I got my ass kicked but that's my fault for being terrible at this sort of game! It's a shame that the local multiplayer requires you to have 2 copies, no download mode available, something that developers really should be addressing with the current gen of handheld consoles I think!

The Graphics are truly beautiful, and I can honestly say, some of the best I've seen on the 3DS so far! The overall presentation is great, the menus are all very slick and everything is smooth. Soundtrack is a typical heavy rock/techno,music score with some powerful SFX in game, you definitely feel every punch/kick/ninjitsu strike.

For hardcore fans there's plenty to do here, in addition to the arcade and chronicle modes, there are also tag team battles, in which you team up with a CPU player to take down increasingly difficult opponents. There are also a number of survival modes to beat, these put you in the arena as a single fighter who has to take down a number of competitors one after another, and as with the other modes there are increments in difficulty, both in the number of opponents you have to fight, and how much they will kick your ass (and by the time you get to 50 fights they will kick your ass!). There's also a showcase mode which sees you unlocking statues of your favourite charactres and taking 3D photographs, this is a bit of a gimmick really and didn't serve much purpose to me, but big fans will love this sort of thing, (plus the 3DS' built in accelerometer provides a little bit of boob jigglage, if that's your sort of thing (See my "Volleyball reference at the start").

So to summarise

+A great fun fighting game with nice tight controls
+Easy to pick up even for fighting game noobs like me
+Some of the best looking graphics I've seen to date on the 3DS
+Good online multiplayer content
+Lots to do...
-If your're a hardcore fan^
-Strange uncomfortable cutscenes
-No local multiplayer download

All in all I'd give this title an 8/10 score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As of today, probably the best game on the system so far, 27 May 2011
By 
Matthew J. Archdale (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
The title of this review pretty much says it all, the game is 100% worth your money if you own a 3DS or if you're considering buying a 3DS at this early stage of the handheld's development cycle.

Dead or Alive is a well known classic in the fighting game genre, even those who aren't particularly fans of fighting games in general can enjoy the series and its many spin-offs and Dimensions is no exception to this.

As a fan of fighting games, I know that many of them rely on the player being able to input long and complex combos, which puts a lot of people off playing them. Dead or Alive, however, is one of the exceptions to this standard in that it favours positioning and well-timed counter-attacks over... let's say... 30+ (or 99+ if your name is Blazblue) hit combos which makes the game more dynamic, fast paced and constantly rewarding. This doesn't mean, though, that the game is devoid of combos and like SSF4 3DS, there is a move selection area on the bottom screen which is helpful for learning combos when in training mode.

In terms of visual appeal, the game looks great. It looks even better still with the 3D turned on. The game features pre-rendered cutscenes throughout the Chronicle (Story) mode as well as breathtaking FMV sequences which really brings the Dead or Alive universe's compelling, yet sometimes confusing, story to home.
For players completely new to Dead or Alive, I would recommend playing the Chronicle mode before anything else as it includes handy tutorials in the middle of telling the game's story which are useful for getting the basics of the game's battle mechanics.
Previous players of DoA will be happy to know that they didn't skimp out on the skin in this installment of the series. Characters such as Kasumi, Ayane, Tina and so on all have the wobbly breast physics we all know and love! (Well most of us anyway) The game also features a figurine collection system which lets you collect mini versions of each character in the game and allows you to enter a photoshoot mode which lets you take pictures of your favourite DoA competitors in all sorts of dynamic, interesting, and sometimes raunchy positions...all in 3D!

The audio in DoA Dimensions brings the same kind of tracks you would expect of a DoA fighting game - fast paced techno beats, heavy guitar riffs flavoured by futuristic themes and homely oriental spice. The tunes set the mood of each stage and gets you pumped up during a fight. The quality of the music is great even without headphones.
For those who are fans of Japanese voice actors, Dimensions features an option which lets you set the voice language to Japanese and you can set the game to display English subtitles.

DoA Dimensions also features offline and online multiplayer which is good because it's a very fun game to play with a friend or even a complete stranger online.

On a more personal note, this game is the most fun I've had playing my 3DS to date. Until the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D comes out I don't think there's a better game for the system than Dead or Alive: Dimensions.

I would have given the game 5 stars but the story mode can be quite confusing at times, sometimes even leaving me with a blank expression and saying "What." outloud. That said, the majority of the story scenes are quite easily understandable and enjoyable to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 3DS titles., 20 Aug. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
If you have played DOA before, then you know what this is.
The game is 100% like the console version. Fast and responsive.

For those who have not played DOA before.
It's a fast pace fighter with it's main theme being ninjas.
Game is very fast, and counter attacks are as important as normal attacks.
Also there is alot of modes and story. Story is not any good... But DOA has never had any good stories.
As a fighter game, this is prime stuff.

This is one of the best figthers out there. And they have made it work very well on the 3DS.
Frame rate is the highest I have ever seen! Making gameplay smooth and even faster then it was in the old day of xbox and ps2.

Like fighters? Get this!

There is one more thing... For some reason they have been changing the game modes some... and the arcade is not as it was. I dont know if this is bad, but I kinda miss the old kind of arcade mode. But still, there is alot of other modes that make up for this. ^^

Game difficulty is also not hard, since the game start with super easy fighters, and tells you all how to do thing. And the more you play, the harder it gets. XD

I am holding back one star... and that is only because DOA has not gotten a character create or edit like many other big fighters.(tekken and soul caliber)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 19 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
It's basically the 360 version of DOA with some different content.

A brilliant version of a great fighting game, even on line the lag is few and far between and very rarely spoils the game.

There some nice editions to the game such as using the touch screen to activate complex combinations, but be warned a decent player who knows the move will beat TS player. But this is a great way for people who are not used to the genre to lean how the game works.

It's a great back to basics combat game, holds, throws and kicks, punches counters with some of the best graphics I have seen on a HH.

The 3d effects are really very good and I use them all the time off line, if you want to be really competitive you can turn off the 3D to improve the frame rate.

The sheer amount of content in this game will keep you going for ages.

Far better than other fighting games imo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Contender., 9 Jun. 2011
By 
E.J. McCartney (W. Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
DOA has gained a bad rep as 'that series with the boobs and volleyball', but it's still a versus-fighter at heart - a good one - and "Dimensions" is a great addition to the series.

PLOT: The story of DOAD is basically a more detailed retelling of DOA, and the growing war between the Mugen Tenshin Clan, and the antagonistic DOATEC. The story's a little confusing at first, but during "Chronicle mode" helpful addition notes pop up, so newcomers will understand the goings-on. The plot is not solid, but it's a better attempt of storytelling that you normally get from fighting games.

GAMEPLAY: Unlike DOA4, in which anyone could pound their way through matches by button mashing, DOAD plays more like DOA3. It's all about countering and timing, so provides more of a challenge for the 'hardcore gamer' (but Chronicle mode does feature short tutorials, which is useful to people who are new to DOA). The touch screen controls has its problems, as it has a slower input and it gives the opponent an wide opening to attack. The face-buttons, however, have instant input and are good to use.

Other modes include Training, Arcade, and Survival, which are self-explanatory. Tag Challenge pits your two-man team against another, but your team mate will always be a AI. This is a little annoying, because the AI will tag itself in whenever, but won't tag out again on its own, even when it's low on health, and isn't that good at attacking.

There are 1000 in-game figurines of the characters to unlock and take photos of, so there is some replay value. The game also supports Local and Internet play.

GRAPHICS AND ATHTETICS: DOA has always been praised for its good graphics, and the look of DOAD is definitely on par with the rest of the series, despite being on a handhold. The environments are stunning and the character models have been greatly improved. (And yes, the women's breasts bounce and move individually, but it's more subtle and less hilarious to watch compared to "Xtreme 2".) The whole game looks great in both 2D and 3D, but the 3D does hinder the gameplay because it cuts the frame rate by half. It's better to leave the 3D for cutscenes and non-fighting sections. Most of the music has been reused from the past games, but they are good tracks. The English voices are a bit hit-and-miss, but the game does let you set it to Japanese with subtitles, which is a plus.

One odd thing relating to graphics is the mix of fully animated scenes and still scenes during Chronicle mode. It seems like a odd choice to have the still images when the game can obviously support good animation; might have been to save space. Later on, the use of the stills becomes less, which is okay.

PACKAGING: The box is just your simple white 3DS game box. The front cover features a nice rendered image of Kasumi peeforming a high kick, with Ryu Hayabusa hiding in the background behind her. (The cover is black in Europe, and white in the US.) There is also a short, easy-read manual that goes over the basics, and has little profiles for Kasumi, Ryu, Ayane, and Hayate.

EXTRAS: DOAD uses SpotPass to download DLC in the form of extra costumes, a nice novelty, and Throwdown challenges, which adds to the replay value.

OVERALL: Yes, DOAD features a lot of recycled material, but it had enough new stuff that it doesn't feel like a quick port like most of the other 3DS titles. This game is one of the best games for the 3DS at the moment, and it's tough enough for experienced fans, while also allowing new comers to enter the series. If you have the money, it's a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead or Alive: Dimensions (Nintendo 3DS)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews