Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great.
Fantastic picture and sound quality and the digibook packaging is gorgeous. Universal got everything right with this bluray release...for a change.
Published 23 months ago by Blu-ray fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great film, first rate role played by actor, moved me it did
Jamie foxx portrayed the part well, thoroughly enjoyed it, glad I have this in my collection
Aspiring first rate actors n actresses in this
Published 6 months ago by racooner


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic picture and sound quality and the digibook packaging is gorgeous. Universal got everything right with this bluray release...for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than the average Blu-ray, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thorouhly entertaining from start to finish this incredible story of a musical genius, fighting his demons and standing tall in the face of adversity. Everything is brillant about this movie; Fox's acting, the screenplay and not to forget the music.
Let it be known that this Ray Limited Edition Digibook(Blu-ray) is a must for any Ray fan/collector worth his salt, with its outstanding presentation which comes in a smooth black hardcover book with satinated paper pages filled with text and illustrations. Superb value and ideal for a Christmas present. I wish we could get more of this...more often.Ray - Limited Edition Digibook [Blu-ray] [2004]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar winning lip-synching, 29 Dec 2005
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ray (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I've never been much of a Ray Charles fan (which makes me nekulturny, I guess), but I do know an Oscar-winning performance when I see one.
Jamie Foxx is Ray Charles Robinson, the truly great American musician and composer, and RAY depicts his professional career and personal trials from 1948, when he left Florida at age 18 on a bus for Seattle, to the late 60s when he kicked a heroin habit. The film is interspersed with numerous flashbacks to his boyhood in Georgia, where, at age 5, he was psychologically scarred by the tragic drowning of his younger brother in a washtub, and where, by age 7, glaucoma rendered him completely blind.
I would've been even more impressed with Foxx's role had he been the one singing the Ray Charles songs sprinkled throughout the film, much as Sissy Spacek sang Loretta Lynn's hits in the memorable COAL MINER'S DAUGHTER (1980). However, Jamie's lip-synch was seamless, and he certainly had Ray's mannerisms down. The viewer can be excused for forgetting that it wasn't actually Charles up there on the Big Screen, and Foxx deserved the Best Actor Oscar award he received.
There were at least two performances worthy of an Academy nod for Best Supporting Actress: Regina King as Margie Hendricks, Ray's on-the-road mistress that inspired the passion which fueled many of his musical compositions, and Sharron Warren as Aretha Robinson, Ray's mother. I wish we could have seen more of the latter. Aretha had fire.
In any story of someone transcending poverty to attain fame, usually an entertainer or athlete, there's usually the two-hanky bit where the star returns home to buy Mom a new house or some such. There's no indication in the film that Ray visited Aretha after he left Florida. This may be a puzzle unless the viewer is aware that Aretha died when Ray was 15, something RAY fails to note. Also, the film's conclusion infers that Charles lived happily ever after with his long-suffering wife, Della Bea (Kerry Washington). In fact, Ray and Della divorced in 1977. And my only other niggling objection was the genesis of the song "Hit the Road, Jack". As portrayed, it brought forth laughter from the audience; I think it was intended by the scriptwriters and director to be a powerfully dramatic sequence.
RAY was arguably 2004's Best Picture. It's certainly a must-see for any consumer of contemporary cinema, and an absolutely obligatory-see for any fan of Ray Charles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Charles' Complex Life Matched by Superb Jamie Foxx, 9 Jan 2006
This review is from: Ray (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I like "Ray." The music is strong, using Ray Charles' own tracks for both background and performance shots. The storyline is complex, flashing back to Charles' youth as he reflected on the loss of his eyesight and the death of his brother.

From his days as a child in a poor rural community, through his early days as an unknown musician struggling to get a fair deal, to his mid-career with management problems, affairs, hits, and drugs, and then, finally, as a one of our national heroes, we see Ray Charles in full color.

We learn how he manipulated women, cheated on his wife, became addicted to heroin, found his sound, got his name, and learned to work aggressively as his own musician. He deals with racism at first by avoiding it, and then quickly, takes a harsh stand, shaming the bigots and segregationists. Now, it a state where he was once banned from playing, his work, "Georgia on My Mind" is now the state song.

Biopics of celebrities are difficult to describe because of the chronology required to produce the movies. People don't live out plots written by screenwriters, but lives that have events that do not always make sense. Ray Charles' life didn't always make sense, but he lived it.

We have two views of Ray Charles. One is as a fighter, working hard against adversity to become the musician we now know. The other is as a womanizing addict who used his charm, position and trust of his wife to diminish all that was good about him. He eventually beats the drugs, holds onto his marriage, but these failures brought down my respect of him.

Jamie Foxx never impressed me before this. I found his comedy more off-color than I prefer, and expected that his version of Ray Charles would be mediocre. I heard the hype that his performance was Oscar-worthy, and watched the movie with the eyes of a skeptic. Now, I am impressed.

Jamie Foxx has a new fan. I hope he gets roles that allow him to shine like he does in "Ray."

The DVD for "Ray" adds to the movie. Normally, a DVD brings little extra that is interesting, but watching Jamie Foxx and Ray Charles interact was touching, as was hearing Foxx describe his experience in learning the role. We learn Foxx not only can play piano, but is trained at a high level. Those are his hands on the keys, and not movie magic. He respected Charles and the difficulty of playing an icon, and earned Charles' respect in the process.

Anthony Trendl
editor, HungarianBookstore.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a life-long masterpiece, 14 July 2005
By 
Ms. Y. P. Liu "8p1ng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ray [VHS] [2004] (VHS Tape)
Ray Charles had an extraordinary life, very worthy of a biographical film such as this.
We follow his incredible journey from a blind boy just looking to find his way in life, to a musician joining his first band, then to becoming a music artist of his on right, gradually developing into a worldwide superstar. We are first introduced to Ray as a grown man, a blind pianist in search of some work; he is quick to be discriminated against but shows a self-respecting stubbornness which gets him by. He astounds people with his musical talent and is welcomed into a classical ensemble, he moves on to a soul and RnB group, continuing to earn money but little respect.
Ray finally breaks free of the restraints of being in the group and seeks out a record deal. All the while bringing up flashbacks of his youth, revealing guilt at the loss of his sister, courage at dealing with his blindness and the inspiration given by his mother. With this small but significant contract under his belt, he is able to entertain crowds at bars and clubs with his piano and singing as well as release a couple of successful hits.
He finds love and subsequently the joy of marriage. He also catches the eye of a larger record label, leading him to a bigger and better deal where he is in full control. But it is here when he is drawn into the world of cheating on the road as his pregnant wife stays home. Plus the drugs that he took before to ease the solitude begin to take toll. He is at a temporary high in the company of women and drugs and his career proceeds to flourish. He even has the nerve to rebel against the laws of a state, resulting in banishment.
It is at this time, when he is in theory on top of the world that he has in reality dug a hole for himself that he must clamber out of. Then follows a tough drug recovery and a psychological shift that will change his perspective on life and lead him on the road to stardom.
A riveting, wonderful story that is well acted and portrayed. A rollercoaster of emotions outlining Ray Charles' remarkable life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ray Charles' Complex Life Matched by Superb Jamie Foxx, 25 Feb 2005
I like "Ray." The music is strong, using Ray Charles' own tracks for both background and performance shots. The storyline is complex, flashing back to Charles' youth as he reflected on the loss of his eyesight and the death of his brother.
From his days as a child in a poor rural community, through his early days as an unknown musician struggling to get a fair deal, to his mid-career with management problems, affairs, hits, and drugs, and then, finally, as a one of our national heroes, we see Ray Charles in full color.
We learn how he manipulated women, cheated on his wife, became addicted to heroin, found his sound, got his name, and learned to work aggressively as his own musician. He deals with racism at first by avoiding it, and then quickly, takes a harsh stand, shaming the bigots and segregationists. Now, it a state where he was once banned from playing, his work, "Georgia on My Mind" is now the state song.
Biopics of celebrities are difficult to describe because of the chronology required to produce the movies. People don't live out plots written by screenwriters, but lives that have events that do not always make sense. Ray Charles' life didn't always make sense, but he lived it.
We have two views of Ray Charles. One is as a fighter, working hard against adversity to become the musician we now know. The other is as a womanizing addict who used his charm, position and trust of his wife to diminish all that was good about him. He eventually beats the drugs, holds onto his marriage, but these failures brought down my respect of him.
Jamie Foxx never impressed me before this. I found his comedy more off-color than I prefer, and expected that his version of Ray Charles would be mediocre. I heard the hype that his performance was Oscar-worthy, and watched the movie with the eyes of a skeptic. Now, I am impressed.
Jamie Foxx has a new fan. I hope he gets roles that allow him to shine like he does in "Ray."
The DVD for "Ray" adds to the movie. Normally, a DVD brings little extra that is interesting, but watching Jamie Foxx and Ray Charles interact was touching, as was hearing Foxx describe his experience in learning the role. We learn Foxx not only can play piano, but is trained at a high level. Those are his hands on the keys, and not movie magic. He respected Charles and the difficulty of playing an icon, and earned Charles' respect in the process.
Anthony Trendl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jamie Foxx channels the late, great Ray Charles, 7 Feb 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
After watching the Golden Globes and the Screen Actors Guild Awards I was thinking that Jamie Foxx is going to win the Best Actor Oscar for "Ray" because everybody is going to want to hear him do another acceptance speech (he has to be saving the best for last). Of course, after watching "Ray" it becomes obvious the members of the Academy have an even better reason for honoring the performance, even if Foxx is not having a year in which his career has reached the high water mark with another Oscar nomination for his "Supporting Role" in "Collateral and his SAG nomination for his performance in "Redemption: The Stan Tookie Williams Story" on television. True, Foxx does not do his own singing in "Ray," but he does play the piano and why would you want to hear anybody other than Ray Charles sing? In 20th century American popular music in terms of signers there is Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley and Ray Charles. I keep trying to come up with one more for the thumb, but Woody Guthrie or Bob Dylan are more songwriters than singers and everybody else you can name as singers are just not in that league.
The film by director Taylor Hackford and screenwriter James L. White basically tells the story of how Ray Charles came to two pivotal moments in his life. The first is when he took the emerging sound of Rhythm & Blues and added gospel powered vocals to basically create soul music when "I Got a Woman" was released in 1955. Everything he sings before that point is pretty good, such as "Baby, Let Me Hold Your Hand," but it is not great and it all sounds more like Nat "King" Cole or Charles Brown that the authentic Ray Charles. So the first part of the movie has to do with Ray Charles finding his voice. The rest of "Ray" is the load road to the second pivotal point, where Charles kicks his heroin habit.
Except for a choice moment of person redemption from the Georgia State Legislature, the story of Ray Charles is over at that point. We can then turn from the DVD to CDs of Ray Charles singing all of the songs we heard him sing in the movie from "Night Time is the Right Time" (a.k.a. the number from "The Cosby Show" for the younger generations) and "What I'd Say" to "Georgia" and "Hit the Road Jack." But the great irony is that after Charles kicked his drug habit he was never as great. He was still very, very good, making any song he sang his own, as when he covered "Yesterday," "Eleanor Rigby," "Look What They've Done to My Song, Ma," "Living for the City" and "America." But the creative fire was gone. That is why this film ends where it does. You would not say that the career of Ray Charles was ever in descent, but clearly the glory days of ascension had ended.
"Ray" is a reminder of the greatness of Ray Charles as a singer. It is sad that the singer died shortly after the film was shot because he should be deservedly basking in the glory along with Foxx. But then there is no doubt that Ray Charles knew he was an American institution. Still, I wonder if he had to do it over again if Ray Charles would have avoided doing drugs. In the context of this 2004 biopic Ray's motivation for doing drugs is his feelings of guilt over the accidental death of his younger brother when they were children (and before Charles went blind). His ability to kick heroin is tied to his coming to terms with that personal tragedy, so the argument is that it was not the drugs that fueled the way he played the piano and sang, but rather guilt. If you took away that guilt would that destroy his passion? If you took away the drugs would that passion have simply destroyed him? Today we live in a world with Ray Charles, but this film suggests the possibility of a world where we never would have known he was alive and convinces us that would have been even worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About the best..., 16 Jun 2013
Music bio-pic you'll ever see. Stunning portrayal of one of the all-time greats but its so much more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man and the Music, 17 Aug 2005
This review is from: Ray (2 Disc Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The fabulous music, and a performance by Jamie Foxx that captures the essence of the complex character that was Ray Charles, overrides the flaws that may be found in this film. Ray's roots were in the abject poverty of his youth in Greenville, Florida, where he witnesses the drowning of his younger brother, and shortly afterward starts to go blind at the age of 5. Many of the events from his childhood are told in flashbacks, and there is a magical scene where he learns to use his ears to replace his eyes, as his mother watches in silence. His life on the road, his many women, and his battle with heroin addiction are depicted, but it's the music that drove his life. Ray was a musical genius who also had an astute instinct for business, and for what songs to add to his repertoire, which often broke new ground and went against the advice of the record industry experts.
Every bit of praise and every award (including the Best Actor Oscar) for Jamie Foxx is justified. Though the soundtrack uses the original recordings dating as far back as the 1953 "Mess Around," Foxx is obviously an accomplished pianist; the actor and his role are like a marriage made in heaven, and this film biography will surely become a classic. The others in the cast that surround him are excellent, with Sharon Warren as his mother, Regina King as Margie Hendricks, and Curtis Armstrong as Ahmet Ertegun among the standouts.
Director Taylor Hackwood blends the flashbacks and nightmares from the past into the thread of the story in a cohesive manner, and one is never lost in the sequences, as can easily happen with that style of storytelling. The flaws in the film would be mainly in some of the stereotypical characterizations, but they fade into the background quickly as the power of Ray the genius and Jamie the actor rivet out attention to the screen. "Ray" also received an Oscar for Best Sound, and nominations for Best Picture, Director, Editing, and Costume Design. The songs include: "Mess Around," "I Got a Woman," "Night Time is the Right Time," "What'd I Say," "Georgia on My Mind," "Hit the Road, Jack," "Unchain My Heart," "I Can't Stop Loving You," "Born to Lose," and much more. Total running time is 153 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Subtitles & Specs, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ray [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
MAIN FEATURE:
VIDEO: 1080p High Definition Widescreen 1.85:1

AUDIO:
DTS-HD Master Audio: English 5.1
English Audio Description Track 2.0
DTS Surround: French 5.1, Italian 5.1, German 5.1, Spanish 5.1, Japanese 5.1
Dolby Digital: Brazilian Portuguese 5.1, Latin American Spanish 5.1, Russian 5.1

SUBTITLES: English SDH, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, Cantonese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Korean, Latin American Spanish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish, Traditional Mandarin, Russian (Bonus)

SPECIAL FEATURES:
480i/p Standard Definition
English Dolby Digital 2.0

- Feature commentary with director Taylor Hackford
- Deleted scenes with optional commentary
- Extended musical scenes
- Intros by Jamie Foxx
- Stepping into the part
- Ray remembered
- The women of Ray
- The filmmaker's journey
- Ray: An american story
- A look inside Ray
- Theatrical trailer

EAN: 5050582823127
ASIN: B004JRQ10I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ray [Blu-ray]
Ray [Blu-ray] by Jamie Foxx (Blu-ray - 2011)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews