Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top three tv shows of all time, utterly untouchable
There are certain shows which come along with a regular premise, but make it their own. "The Shield" is one of these shows. You follow the protagonist "Vic Mackey", a police officer heading up a special unit known as the "Strike team". Their way of protecting and maintaining the peace, is to essentially skirt, and occasionally go well over the boundaries of justice...
Published on 8 Jun. 2010 by D. Gallacher

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
245 of 248 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THIS CONTAINS THE EDITED EDITIONS OF SEASON 5 AND 6!
The Shield is one of best cop shows of all time and this boxset is quite satisfactory. BUT the feature length season finales of Seasons 5 and 6 have been cut. It shouldn't come as a surprise, the Region 2 individual boxsets were edited in the same way, hence all the irate reviews here on Amazon. The Region 1 boxsets were intact. For all the diehard Shield fans who...
Published on 10 Sept. 2009 by Mr. Patrick Keaney

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

245 of 248 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THIS CONTAINS THE EDITED EDITIONS OF SEASON 5 AND 6!, 10 Sept. 2009
The Shield is one of best cop shows of all time and this boxset is quite satisfactory. BUT the feature length season finales of Seasons 5 and 6 have been cut. It shouldn't come as a surprise, the Region 2 individual boxsets were edited in the same way, hence all the irate reviews here on Amazon. The Region 1 boxsets were intact. For all the diehard Shield fans who love watching the show in sequence, watching this one may cause confusion.
Eg in Season 5 not all of Kavanagh's exchange with Corrine is displayed, plus Danny doesn't confront her baby's father. Yet in Season 6 Danny and father's identity is common knowledge. These issues aside, why pay for dvds with edited episodes when they were broadcast in full on TV.
If you want the full package you're better off buy the individual boxsets. For such an eagerly awaited arrival, it is such as a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Heavily Edited.., 16 Oct. 2011
By 
D. Cooney (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bought this boxset in the hopes that it would have the complete unedited episodes... but unfortunately this is just a repackage of the already released Region 2 discs, meaning that the Season 5 finale still has that huge 20 minute chunk taken out of it, which actually leads to some relatively confusing scenes later in Season 6.

Don't get me wrong, this show is awesome... and I can't recommend it enough to anyone who hasn't seen it. but it's a shame that they didn't use this re release as a chance to include the episodes as they originally aired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top three tv shows of all time, utterly untouchable, 8 Jun. 2010
By 
D. Gallacher "Goat" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are certain shows which come along with a regular premise, but make it their own. "The Shield" is one of these shows. You follow the protagonist "Vic Mackey", a police officer heading up a special unit known as the "Strike team". Their way of protecting and maintaining the peace, is to essentially skirt, and occasionally go well over the boundaries of justice. This means planting drugs on people they know are guilty, taking bribes or withholding evidence to be used again later. It is a scary, and yet highly plausible concept, based upon the real life "Rampart" scandal in Los Angeles (where the show is also based).

I won't ruin any of the storylines, but you can imagine where all of this corruption leads the squad of exceptionally memorable characters. I literally cannot think of a single actor in the entire 7 season run who did any less than a stellar job. Every character evolves, and in some cases it is not for the better. I can honestly say there are less than a handful of shows that have ever shocked me, or hit me with something so powerful I've actually had to stop the enjoyment of watching and sit slack jawed for a while. This show is one of that handful. The drama, the power, the story, they are so strong in the entire run that this show is absolutely a must have. Understand, it is not easy watching. There are some of the most uncomfortable scenes ever written, but I'll be damned if they aren't also some of the most powerful.

The box set itself is also fantastic, great design (it is a collection of case files, holding the series discs within) and the discs themselves house a lot of fantastic content. The extras are great, and will give you plenty to watch besides the show itself. I cannot recommend this show highly enough, it will blow you away. Buy it, earlier than now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Edited!, 17 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Shield is a great program, brilliant writing and some shocking twists. This would be a five star product, except this edition has been edited. Having seen the episodes before I was waiting for certain scenes and knew what happened. If you hadn't seen it before some of the scenes get covered in the re-caps at the start of the episodes which you haven't seen. Very irritating.

Over all if you've not seen The Shield, this is a cracking show and I would highly recommened it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Key moments from the series edited out!, 24 May 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew Murray "AMurray" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
One of the worst designed DVD packages I've seen, but that wouldn't matter if key moments from the show weren't cut from this. Season 5 has a major plotline that is mentioned throughout, and if you select the final episode of the season you get a still image from said plotline. When I watched it, I was seriously confused to find no resolution, or mention of what happened. I Googled to discover a key moment - which affects the show going forward is cut for some reason. All mentions of the plot have been removed for whatever reason. This is doing the viewing public a disservice. There's probably some cost-saving reason, but it's an absolutely shocking decision, and the kind of thing that puts people off buying box-sets. Having said that, the show is great. I'm just disappointed fans would be treated in such a shoddy way. It's not minor filler that's cut, it's the conclusion to a who-dunnit plotline. Terrible stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 1 July 2011
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
To me, this is pretty much The Wire with action and rogue cops, which made it much more exciting and rivetting. Despite it being 7 series long, there's an over-arching storyline which takes you right from the beginning of Season 1 to the end of Season 7, along with countless plots and sub-plots along the way.

You can't help but like and admire Vic, the main cop, for his methods in cleaning up the street, even if they're somewhat unconventional. The 3 other members of his Strike Team are crazy Shane, big softy Lem and quiet and loyal Ronnie, each of whom you come to like in their own way, although Shane soon became the loosest of cannons.

I'm not sure if such strike teams exist in the US, as they basically seem like a bunch of good ole boys who love kicking in doors and shooting at the slightest opportunity, despite highly-trained Swat teams being available and who would surely use proper tactics. Having said that, it was heck of a good fun watching Vic and the boys in action.

The ending is truly tragic in so many ways, which had us really feeling the pain of the characters, but that's evidence of what a well-written and compelling show this is.

If you like The Wire, NCIS, Sopranos, Sons of Anarchy etc, you'll surely like this a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top notch, 29 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Shield: Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This excellent demonstration of the administration of justice by the cops in America, and I suspect elsewhere also, clearly showing the impossibility of the impartial and truthful dispensation of judgement, especially, when I find myself emotionally batting for those who have obviously played a corrupt hand! The truth is a strange concept!! Mix these dynamics with high octane action, cruelty and dire poverty and injustice coloured with social inequalities, and the corrupting power of politics, and there is a mixing bowl full of unimaginable highly emotional colour, flavour and spice.

I have never seen such an enjoyable, hard hitting cop program ever. It puts the others to shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your average crime drama (Spoiler free), 18 April 2014
If you are a fan of crime drama and have never seen this series I cannot recommend it enough. It has it's quirks, some of which may annoy you or some of which you may not even notice, such as an almost hand-held camera feel intended to give a greater sense of immersion and actually being there.

Essentially it follows the Strike team; an anti-gang task force of 4 in the fiction Farmington district of L.A. Loosely they are based on the notorious RAMPART division, whom were found to have been responsible for all manner of crimes from extortion and protection to underworld figures, even drug dealing, murder and armed robbery.

The acting and writing is superb, throughout the entire run of 7 seasons. The show never feels forced, dragged out for the sake of milking it's success. Each series has a loose over-riding theme, and the evolution (or devolution) of the central characters over the entire run is masterful. Like HBO's "The Wire" this show explores the moral grey areas in society with criminals and the police both being shown to have codes they work to and varying ethics. In many cases, the police are bigger monsters than the criminals they are out to stop.

If I have a criticism, it's only in the finale of the pilot episode; I understand it's necessity to make gripping television and help ensure the first season actually got made, but I feel it is out of character for the Strike team to act as they did.

Overall, if you like crime drama, even drama in general and don't mind some of the gritty, mature content that comes with the territory, then watch this show!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational!, 21 Nov. 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Without doubt one of the finest cop shows to come out of the U.S.A.
I have seen every episode of the Shield and watched this series through twice and will watch again.
The premise of the Shield is very different, the main characters are bad, violent corrupt cops whose lives gradually fall apart
as the Police and F.B.I catch up with them.
There is a linear story line from the first episode to the last with diversions along the way.
The acting is brilliant, this show is very gritty and extremely brutal in places. However the violence is never gratuitous.
The whole series has a beginning, a middle and a very brilliant end, the final episode is one of the best final episodes i have ever seen to a series.
I won't include spoilers, this show is far too good for that, just buy every episode and enjoy.
You will not be disappointed but be aware, bad language and gruesome violence are quite graphic.
The Shield is in my all time top ten of all shows ever. Sensational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this series and would give 10 stars if I could, 26 July 2010
By 
FLB (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had heard about this series from my husband who saw a couple of episodes years ago. I bought it as a gift, to give us something else to do instead of living a healthy, active life away from the TV.

Let me say one thing, I work in the Police, and Never, Ever watch Police type TV programmes, so was very sceptical about The Shield, but from Episode 1 I was hooked and we found ourselves watching 4 a night, staying up late, and singing the theme tune on our way to bed each night (too tired to do anything else in bed sadly).

Anyway, buy the series, you will love it, first class story lines, the acting is superb, stylishly done, Top actors (Glen Close, etc) Brilliant.

Very sad when it finished - had to resume normal night time activities then ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shield: Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] [2011]
The Shield: Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD] [2011] by Michael Chiklis (DVD - 2011)
£34.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003]
The Shield - Season 1 [DVD] [2003] by Michael Chiklis (DVD - 2003)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (113)   
Buy new£8.99
In stock

The Shield : Series 2 [DVD] [2004]
The Shield : Series 2 [DVD] [2004] by Michael Chiklis (DVD - 2004)
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (49)   
Buy new£15.28
In stock

The Shield - Season 4 [DVD] [2007]
The Shield - Season 4 [DVD] [2007] by Michael Chiklis (DVD - 2007)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (49)   
Buy new£5.50
In stock