Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars638
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2016
I want to begin by saying that the cinematography of this film is absolutely gorgeous - no complaints there at all. However, sadly, that's where the positives end for me. The dumbed-down language used throughout the film was infuriating to listen to, not to mention completely out of character in places. Keira Knightly's portrayal of Elizabeth Bennett was way too giggly and immature, and many characters from the book were either excluded entirely or poorly developed - Lydia, for example, had almost zero screen time leading up to her involvement with Mr. Wickham. Furthermore, Mr. Bennett was supposed to be the proprietor of a small estate with a steady income of around £2000 - there absolutely would not have been chickens and pigs running around in his backyard! In fact, the entire Bennett family were portrayed more as pig farmers than the middle class gentry they were supposed to be. But the absolute worst thing about this film? The horrible Hollywood-style ending.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Ive seen the Colin Firth film, read the book and also watched this version. The book is captivating, the Colin Firth film is probably the best re-telling available and an absolute classic for those who love period dramas, but this version has its own place. At 2 hours, it skims many plots and only touches on others, yet there's something about it and that leaves the viewer satisfied and feeling good. The piano scores that pop up throughout are fantastic, as are the stunning birdsong dawns and views across the pond. Keira Knightley plays the part of Elizabeth wonderfully well; her varied expressions, girle giggles and stubbornness of character bring the story to life. Yet there's something else too, just little things such as the servant ambling her way through the film singing to herself, the stark setting on the moor in Derbyshire, the vigor of the ball, the stuffiness of the Bennett house..... There's just something that makes this film feel as though you are watching through a looking glass rather than a tv screen.

Very funny, lavish and stunning to the eye. This is well worth 2 hours of anyone's life.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2006
Those who really love Jane Austen's book should be a little cautious if they think this adaption is going to be faithful to it. However, those with an open mind for visual adaptions and a love for romantic period dramas will love it. For me, this was a beautful adaption of the central theme of Pride and Predjudice, with all the sub plots neatly trimmed to fit into 2 hours. I loved the more earthy and less refined way it was filmed, allowing us to see more passion than the 1995 television adaption allowed. There will inevitably be comparisons to the 1995 adaption - but there shouldn't be. This was obviously filmed by a director with a very different perception of the novel and I for one, preferred his vision of it. The only drawbacks to this film are that some of the scenes do feel very rushed - almost as if the actors have been told to say their lines really fast; this does mean that some scenes that us true romantics love most of all, can leave the viewer feeling as if the scenes lack a bit of emotional depth sometimes. For example, the scene where Mr Darcy proposes to Lizzy in the rain - a wonderfully set scene, beautifully located in the rain with simmering passion in abundance, but the lines seem hurried rather than passionate and the viewer (who will always read reality between the lines of romance) will wonder whether Mr Darcy took to chasing lizzy through forests and hills before startling her in the palladian arch!
All in all, my only real concern with this film is how the director could have understood the book so well, but could have failed to realise why it is read so widely. I draw this opinion from the final scene, or lack of it. Where is it Joe? (and those of you who are looking forward to seeing the extra US scene where they kiss - prepare for a cheesy dissapointment, not a classy romantic conclusion which conveys the sublimity of such a moment). It has to be said, the 1995 version got the end right. It's all in the conclusion!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 July 2013
I guess I am spoiled by the Colin Firth version or presentation. This presentation they plow through, talk fast and spend more time making faces. However the wide long shots of the country side are impressive (especially in Blu-ray). I have seen some to the houses in a TV production on "Great Houses of Britain". However Donald Sutherland is a good contributor as Mr. Benet.

Oh Great Scott, forget about what I said in the first paragraph as the presentation finally picks up as everyone gets over the initial deceptions. So do not give up on this movie too early. Finally we get the highs and lows that we planned on.

It is not the easiest thing to tell the story as by the time you view this presentation you should already be familiar with Jane Austen. If not we do not eat to give too many things away. To say that the Bennet family of all daughters will lose their meager estate at the passing of the father. Only a male can inherit property.

So it is time to marry off the daughters. As the story unfolds you will understand the title of the story. The main focus is on the banter between Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy surrounded by others that are also posturing. Is there opportunity that all well be well in the end or will the whole thing unravel?

For people not acquainted with Jane Austin you will see that she is not an obscure writer of only a hand full of novels but someone that was taken from us too soon.

Screenplay by Deborah Moggach. We have not heard the last from her yet.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Too Hollywoodised version of the great Jane Austen classic. England was made to look like medieval Low Countries, Kiera Knightley grinned like a monkey, and her father sounded as awful as Dick van Dyke in Mary Poppins, altogether not even tolerable enough to watch all the way through! Hollywood should leave classic novels well alone!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In order to have this movie in High Definition, I've had the HD-DVD format of it for a few years now - but it's an America issue and has the awful US ending. Now at last it arrives on BLU RAY in the UK (May 2010) and it's just as gorgeous a transfer. It uses exactly the same elements that the HD-DVD did - even the same menus - and the extras from the DVD are all intact also (with the US ending tagged on as an Alternate).

The improvement in picture quality is immense over the rather blurred DVD experience. As it opens with a misty dawn and the twitter of birds, we see the young and feisty Elizabeth Bennet (played with a magical touch and staggering assurance by Kiera Knightly) walking with a book. But it's not until she crosses the courtyard of her home that the real quality kicks in - and it's a wow. The picture takes you aback - it wasn't this good in the cinema I can tell you...

It isn't perfect throughout by any means though. Because they were going for authenticity, a lot of the early evening and dark night sequences are shot in candlelit rooms (as they would have lived), so you get fuzziness in the definition... But once you get out into the countryside or inside one of the great halls of stately homes - where proper lighting prevailed - the picture quality is beautiful. There is one famous dream sequence where only Kiera's closed eyes fill the screen - she is dreaming of standing on the cliff edge - the clarity is gobsmacking. You also notice the weave of the clothing, the dirt on the hemlines, the ever so slightly unkempt hair - the attention to detail is great.

Directed by Joe Wright and released in late 2005, the film version was living in the shadow of the legendary 6-part BBC production from 1995 - so the movie had a lot on its shoulders and admirably rose to the task. Another trump card was Dario Marianelli's lush piano score (Oscar nominated) swirling around the scenes like a graceful swan.

In the cinema, it was a delight to look and experience - but sitting at home and watching it in real definition is a far more rewarding and illuminating experience. The acting chops on display is right across the board and apart from a slightly jarring ending, it had the hallmarks of a shoot that was fun and supremely confident in its delivery. I know others will cite the BBC production as definitive - but I think there's more than enough room on my shelf for both.

Matthew MacFadyen, Brenda Blethyn, Rosamund Pike, Carey Mulligan, Judy Dench, Tom Hollander - they were a cleverly chosen cast - and Rupert Friend won the heart of the lovely Kiera (which might explain the ethereal beauty of her performance). But it's the stunning adaptation of Jane Austen's novel by DEBORAH MOGGACH that is the real hero of the day. There is a sequence when Elizabeth and Darcy finally face off against each other in the rain - the dialogue is to die for - and should have been Oscar rewarded. As a dabbler in screenplays myself, I can't stress enough just how good the work here is - dazzling stuff.

It's under a tenner, the extras are substantial, the picture quality is much improved and in some cases unbelievably so - and it's eminently re-watchable.

To sum up - if you're a fan of the film, Jane Austen or both - then you must own "Pride & Prejudice" on this format. A Blu Ray gem and highly recommended.

BLU RAY Credits:
VIDEO: 1080p High-Definition Widescreen 2.35:1 aspect
AUDIO: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, Italian, Spanish, French, German and Japanese DTS Surround 5.1
SUBTITLES: English SDH, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish, Japanese, Traditional Mandarin, Korean and Cantonese

BONUS Material:
Commentary with Director Joe Wright
Conversation With The Cast
Jane Austen, Ahead Of Her Time
A Bennet Family Portrait
Pride & Prejudice: A Classic In The Making
The Politics Of Dating
Alternate US Ending
The Stately Homes Of Pride & Prejudice
22 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
I believe this is the definitive film of P&P, far better than the BBC production made famous by Mr Darcy emerging clothed but soaking from his lake. Keira Nightly is adorable as Elizabeth is simply adorable, beautiful, quiet, smouldering, the thinker in the family of airhead mother and four sisters. Poor Mr Bennet, long suffering and exasperated by the frothy femininity around him. Darcy also smoulders with contempt for the empty headed in society, trying to guide his friend away from frivolous people, but his love for Jane cannot be stayed. Darcy is above all a realist, seeing people for what they are and is prepared to treat accordingly. I love him, but I also love Elizabeth and would have wished to be such a creature.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
A few good castings (a better Wickham and Charlotte Lucas than the BBC series and Judy Dench as Lady Catherine) but very fast paced and disjointed, far from the text and so many bits chopped out that the script doesn't always makes sense, as with Elizabeth saying she has heard so many different accounts of Darcy as to puzzle her exceedingly, when at that point in this version she had heard nothing good about him. Darcy is fine for a change and it's still a good watch, but nothing on the Firth/Ehle combo. Keira Knightley plays Elizabeth close to the flippancy and impropriety of Lydia and Kitty at times, and Matthew MacFadyen seems shy and lost and has nothing of Mr. Darcy's usual strength of character.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2007
I suppose if you were watching the film first time, it's good, but if you've read the romantic novel and watched the BBC 1995 adaption (Colin Firth, Jennifer Ehle) you'd be surprised what you are missing. A lot of lines which are in my opinion just make P & P what it is are missing wheras the 1995 had all those crucial lines and perfect acting to match. The characters in my opinion were wooden dummies showing no feeling, emotion of expression at all. The film gives P & P a new meaning, which is a bad thing....

Pride and Prejudice is one of my favourite novels, but this film is almost like making the most gorgeous cake but then leaving it in the oven too long so it burns....1995 all the way!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Beautifully produced, with lavish costumes and sets, but unfortunately the film is a let down, simply because of it's short screen length, and its inability to coherently explore the fundamentally important plots surrounding Mr Wickham and other principal characters.

If one is going to produce a film on one of the English Languages finest classics, at least adhere strictly to the plot and narrative.

Where is Mary Bennet, what of the possible calamity on the whole Bennet family after Lydias elopement with Mr Wickham, they simple are not mentioned or explored in the film.

Its unfortunate this version is compared with the magnificent 1995 BBC Colin Firth, production.

Compared to that adaptation, this Keira Knightly production is a travesty, with a considerable amount of the novel not touched upon, simply because, to do that, it would have been far too long for the cinema audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)