Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
I saw this film when it came out on video because a friend of mine highly recommended it and justly so! It was something I was not expecting especially from Clooney and Lopez. The story moves between comdey, romance and action beautifully leaving you a little confused as to which catergory of movies you would place it in. The dirctor is superb as he skips around time...
Published on 10 July 2000

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor video quality probably influenced my enjoyment of this dvd.
I was a bit disappointed with this movie. Perhaps the generally good reviews unreasonably raised my expectations too high. I had difficulty getting into the story and in my opinion the film was a little slow and boring. Of course the competition is very high with so many crime capers to choose from. For me, this was an 'also ran' and in due course it may be consigned...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Nigel Mc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I saw this film when it came out on video because a friend of mine highly recommended it and justly so! It was something I was not expecting especially from Clooney and Lopez. The story moves between comdey, romance and action beautifully leaving you a little confused as to which catergory of movies you would place it in. The dirctor is superb as he skips around time periods but yet never confusing you as to what is going on. The actors performances truly complement eachother and you can see that Miss Lopez actually doea have some talent. I would definitely advise anyone to rent this whether you are looking for a comedy, love story or a thriller because it really doesn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most enjoyable, underrated flicks of the 90s, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I believe Out of Sight was savagely ignored by the critics and that this Soderbergh flick was a sign of things to come (erin brokovich and traffic). Jennifer Lopez is sensational in her first bigshot film, but she does not overplay her role at all, she is subtle, sophisticated and sexy like her usual Latino self. George Clooney plays the convoluted criminal to perfection and is really establishing his position with the all-time greats after the woeful Batman and Robin. But it wasnt the leads that totally won me over, the supporting roles and cameos really put this film into another class: Don Cheadle played the sinister criminal with a professional edge while Steve Zahn was incredibly funny as the goofy nobody. Then there was the invincible Ving Rhames, Jack Foley's sidekick and all-round badass! Thats right, the story, the twists, the execution, characterisation, romance and tension were all world class.
A beautifully sophisticated indie flick from the up-and-coming indie director himself, Steven Soderbergh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box Office flop, 30 April 2009
This review is from: Out of Sight [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For some bizarre reason this 1997 movie was a flop at the box office. Apparetnly it pulled the cash in after its release on video and dvd; and rightly so. George Clooney finally gets a decent movie role here, in this successful adaptation of an Elmore Leonard novel(Get Shorty). Instead of playing yet another comic book character as he did in From Dusk Till Dawn and Batman & Robin, Clooney plays one of those small-time criminals who is savvy enough to reach behind and grab the arm of someone with a gun while he is sitting in a bathtub with his eyes closed but is still incompetent enough to botch a bank robbery by flooding the engine of his car.

Anyhoo, the joys of this film include a wide array of mostly streetwise characters, refreshingly smart dialogue, and a certain chemistry between Clooney and Jennifer Lopez, who discuss cinema (the movie Network) and other topics while locked in the trunk of a car.

The director is Steven Soderbergh, who cashes in on the promise he showed a decade ago with his legendary debut, Sex, Lies, and Videotape. The soundtrack by David Holmes is brilliant. The editing is masterful. Wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** FIVE STAR SEXUAL CHEMISTRY *****, 17 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
George Clooney stars with Jennifer Lopez in this excellent and entertaining romantic heist movie, unfortunately much overlooked and poorly promoted on its theatrical release. Based on the novel by Elmore Leonard and superbly and subtly directed by Steven Soderbergh. George Clooney (as bank robber Jack Foley) and Jennifer Lopez (as Federal Marshall Karen Sisco) light up the screen with previously unparalleled sexual chemistry in the movie that finally launched their big screen careers to the A list, after previous false starts (such as The Peacemaker and The Money Train respectively). Also boasting a very impressive supporting cast that includes Ving Rhames, Don Cheadle, Steve Zahn, Albert Brooks, Dennis Farina (as Jennifer Lopez father) and great cameos from Michael Keaton and Samuel L. Jackson, movies really don't get much better than this.
Principally this is the story of serial bank robber Jack Foley and Federal Marshall Karen Sisco, on opposite sides of the law but inescapably attracted to each other. When Jack escapes from prison aided by his friend Buddy (Rhames) he ends up in the trunk of a car with the kidnapped Karen Sisco (Lopez) after she nearly foils the prison break. However, thanks to their inept friend Glenn Michaels (Zahn), Karen escapes and Jack and Buddy have to go on the run. Meanwhile, Karen Sisco is hot on Jack's trail in more ways than one in this brilliantly played, beautifully written, excellently directed movie. This has everything I love about movies, a great story, great cast and great style. Truly unmissable and well worthy of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not out of mind, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This gets five stars from me, Great combination of characters and a good plot line. In my opinion the best film Jeylo has made, and who doesn't like a bit if George Clooney! Right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chemistry, 18 Oct 2011
By 
S. Wilson "qpr-rtid" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
A fun film based on a very good Elmore Leonard novel. The chemistry between Clooney and Lopez adds nicely to the action and makes for an enjoyable couple of hours viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most under -rated films of the nineties, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
great genre flick, slick script, sharp and witty dialogue, fast moving pace and the acting.. aah where to start? The now famous chat up scene in the bar alone is worth the re run... again and again. I was never a Clooney fan but after his " can I buy you a drink" line in the bar I am addicted. As for Jenifer Lopez - cool, sexy and smart. great entertainment with brain , humour and sexy charm - perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK Plot, Good Performances, 23 May 2007
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
What really made this cool though was the fractured chemistry between Lopez and Clooney. They were a good on-screen duo. What made it good was the he was an escaped con, while she was a U.S. Marshall, I guess the forbidden relationship made it cool. The acting was good, I think George Clooney is a good actor, but I don't care for Jennifer Lopez movies, though she did a good job in this and Selena.

There was also the way the cities were shot, how Lompoc was a yellow shade, Miami was a reddish shade, and Detroit was in blue, I thought that was cool, much like in Traffic. So in conclusion, the acting was good, the plot was o-kay, the setting was good, and the chemistry between the characters was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I enjoyed it, I like clooney and Lopez as actors. Two good looking people acting well worth a watch a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of Sight [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
good film, good acting from all cast and good story line, would have liked a bit more action but quite funny in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6e1960c)

This product

Out of Sight [Blu-ray]
Out of Sight [Blu-ray] by Jennifer Lopez (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews