Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES
You may well say that the world needs another John Lennon collection about as much as it needs another Neil Diamond collection, yet unlike all the ones that have gone before, this, (with the exception of GIMME SOME TRUTH) is exclusively a collection of John's singles. Now you may also say that Lennon as a solo artist cannot be defined by his single releases because some...
Published on 4 Oct. 2010 by J. A. Harvey

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Give Us The Truth.
Between 1969 and now, there were 19 singles issued bearing the name of John Lennon. Fourteen of those are on this `Hits' CD. But why only 14? That's a question I'd like answered. Of the five missing singles, `Nobody Told Me' was a sizeable hit whilst `Love' and `Borrowed Time' were minor ones but each is noticeable by their absence. (The other two didn't trouble the...
Published on 8 Oct. 2010 by Quiverbow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Give Us The Truth., 8 Oct. 2010
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Between 1969 and now, there were 19 singles issued bearing the name of John Lennon. Fourteen of those are on this `Hits' CD. But why only 14? That's a question I'd like answered. Of the five missing singles, `Nobody Told Me' was a sizeable hit whilst `Love' and `Borrowed Time' were minor ones but each is noticeable by their absence. (The other two didn't trouble the charts.) Why aren't they included here? That isn't the only question, however. `Gimme Some Truth', though only a B-side, might be the `catch-all' title for this reissue campaign but anyone looking for a Lennon collection will neither know that nor care. It might be a good tune and warrant inclusion, but so do many others.

What I find strange is that no other reviewer of this has mentioned the flaw on the sleeve. Whatever the photos show and whatever you may see or read elsewhere, `Cold Turkey' is NOT a live version. This most obvious error isn't on the two disc version. However this got past quality control is a disgrace and whoever is responsible should be reprimanded. Another thing, why doesn't this have the booklet that accompanies the double disc version instead of the fold-our sheet? It's a bit of a shambles all round.

So, the title could be thought of as a bit of a misnomer, and that could be an accusation thrown at any `best of' compilation, but what is the music like and is it worth getting. To be brutal, though the sound is good (it has been remastered after all) and many of the tracks are worth having, there are better Lennon collections available. Fifteen songs is a bit mean by anyone's standards, especially when there's space available to extend it to include those three mysteriously absent singles. Everything on here can be found on `Working Class Hero', a 38 track double, as they can on the four CD `Gimme Some Truth', which represents good value. Get those instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great remastering, 16 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. Martin Lee (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say that I was somewhat disappointed with this compilation. Good selection of songs, but what happened to the quality of the sound? My advice to any Lennon fan looking for a compilation would be to buy Working Class Hero: The Definitive Lennon. Although a little more expensive, you get a lot more music for your money. In addition to this, it sounds a lot better. More dynamic, altogether much more satisfying. In comparison, much of Power to the People - the Hits sounds dull and lifeless. You have been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
J. A. Harvey (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You may well say that the world needs another John Lennon collection about as much as it needs another Neil Diamond collection, yet unlike all the ones that have gone before, this, (with the exception of GIMME SOME TRUTH) is exclusively a collection of John's singles. Now you may also say that Lennon as a solo artist cannot be defined by his single releases because some of his best songs, like WORKING CLASS HERO and GOD, were not released as singles. Yet like most of the other inclusions in this remastering project, at nine quid this is certainly not overpriced as other recent remastering packages have been, and it's got to be worth buying if only to sample the quality of the remastering process that has been applied. If it's an improvement on the previous sound of the Lennon songs, I for one will take a closer look at the other albums Yoko has had remastered, and I may say yes to those also.

For those young enough to be relatively new to the music of the great man, this has three of his best songs in GIMME SOME TRUTH, WATCHING THE WHEELS and JEALOUS GUY, and a whole lot of popular classics like IMAGINE and HAPPY CHRISTMAS WAR IS OVER, and though every person on earth over 50 has them on previous compilations, and some of us have the original albums, this will still sell by the truckload, and rightly so for the reasons I have expressed.

UPDATE: I've heard it now, and to say I'm impressed is an understatement. Most remastering procedures include cranking up the recorded loudness, giving the impression you're actually hearing more of the music, when in reality you're hearing a 'clipped' version of the music. (See YouTube) This is what spoilt 2007's Led Zeppelin remasters and I would strongly suggest Jimmy Page consults Yoko's team. No such problem with this though, Lennon's songs have been treated with great love and respect. The sound has been cleaned but not sanitised, putting space around the voclas and instruments; the bass in particular now has much better definition without sounding boomy. My only slight reservation is that in some cases, like WATCHING THE WHEELS, there has been some tinkering with the recording itself, and although this has been done to mask distortion in the original recording, it does take something away. Nevertheless, a triumph, and I will now buy the remastered albums individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The collection, 7 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really sure why I bought this, I think I had a Lennon song in my head at the time, but I am glad I did. Covers all the hits I am aware of and is one of those albums you will play over and over.

It does make you wonder what Lennon would be singing about these days if he was still alive, in a world so different from the days when these songs where written, would he have still been idealistic, would those ideals still apply or would he have fallen into churning out love songs?

If you are looking for an ideal introduction to Lennon, or simply a collection of great songs, this is the album you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Power to the People, 14 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always admired John Lennon and this one record I didn't have. I was not let down by the quality nor the speed of delivery once I had ordered it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dear oh Dear !, 7 Oct. 2010
By 
I was critical last year of the cardboard packaging of the Beatles remasters but this one takes the biscuit!!

More like like a CD wrapped in paper in this case !

I guess we all understand the paradox at work here, a private equity firm wishing to max out short term profits, and on the other hand the estate of John (Imagine there's no possessions) Lennon insisting on maintaining the high royalty rate !!

I know the industry is desperately trying to kill off the CD format but why mess with the crown jewels !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new chance to enjoy John's music, 26 Sept. 2014
I guess it may sound strange to say but I do believe all of John's Best Of compilations released so far are precious items to buy and treasure, not only for the undisputable quality of his musical opus but also for the chance to analyze all the ways his work has been treated through the years in terms of compiling, remastering, marketing and celebration. And this one is just another example of fine output I truly recommend to all lovers of top class music and songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic ex Beatle, 28 Mar. 2014
By 
pete sands (EAstbourne; United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power To The People - The Hits (MP3 Download)
I'm a big fan of anything by the Beatles in or out of the group ,that's GROUP not boy band how can u be a band and play no instruments and my Favorite has always been John Lennon ,Rock on ,I'd recommend this to any one of a certain age ,brillant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, poor sound quality tho, 4 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD, poor sound quality tho!! Probably down to EMI destroying the master tapes of the early Lennon singles. Good tunes that stand up to today's manufactured s***e!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Power To The People., 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An album of brilliant hits of John Lennon and Yoko. Including the xmas song three number ones as a tribute and pleasurable to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews