Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the oldest and best desert wine in the world!, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
Commandaria is world reknown for its (sweet) taste. It is produced only in Cyprus and KEO Commandaria is considered as the best of all known bottled & commercially available Commandarias.

The first to import it in Britain was King Richard the Lionheard when he visited the island, on his way with the Crusaders to liberate the Holy Land. He fall in love with the wine and he was the first to import it commercially in Britain. The king married in Limassol Berengaria of Navarre.

Commandaria is considered as a holy wine, used by many religions for ceremonial purposes.

I enjoy Commandaria round the year but especially in winter. You can drink it solo at ambient temperate, or cold. It is popular with ice, crushed or in cubes.

Although you can enjoy Commandaria throughout the day, most people sip Commandaria in the evenings, after a meal.

Higly recommneded as a gift to beloved ones and not only.

Cheers!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
Great speedy service, arrived next day always meeting expectations. Very good quality wine that we used for many years. My only comment and I always mention this in my review is that it is a red wine not white as advertised... in all very good service, great packaging. Thank you, will always recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good now as it was in 1927!, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Brian R. J. Glover (Dartford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
When I first discovered CommandERIE St John in the 1970s I loved its fruity full-bodied raisin flavour. It was made from two grape varieties unique to Cyprus which were sun dried prior to the fermenting process. This made it a very unique, very sweet, red dessert wine.

Unfortunately Keo are no longer able to make their wine this way and now use, I believe, the Muscat grape instead. But they make the wine in exactly the same way as the original and this means that this new incarnation - called CommandERIA St John - is every bit as good as its 1927 original.

Bottles of original CommandERIE St John are still available - from specialist collectors and auction houses - but expect to pay £90 plus a bottle. CommandERIA St John at £11 a bottle is good value for a great wine. It makes an excellent aperitif which can be drunk at room temperature or slightly chilled and is particularly good as an after-dinner drink with hot or cold desserts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Described, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
Being Cypriot, this is a very popular drink in our house but can be difficult to get hold of when you live outside of London. It is exactly as described, came in good time and I'm so glad I can get hold of some more at the click of a button!

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great wine, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
a every good desert wine, I would recommend it to anyone
first drank it on holiday in Paphos in Cyprus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History in a glass, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
Essence of Cyprus in a bottle. Not usually a fan of sweet wines (with the exception of Hungarian Tokaji) This historic wine has to be tasted to be believed. Sunshine and fruit with a relatively high alcohol content (15%) Keo also make a most eminently quaffable brandy from Cyprus. Buying more already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This stuff is highly recommended, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
Was given a bottle of this on my honeymoon in Cyprus - if you like real sherry you will love this its wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars commandaria wine, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
I first tasted this wine, produce of Cyprus ,when there on holiday when we were given a small complimentary glass after a meal.
The taste was very enjoyable and it became one of my favourite wines. Served in small liqueur glasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Commandria, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
Bought some in Cyprus and really enjoyed it, so bought some more here which brought back memories of our Cyprus holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Try this drink,, 17 Jan 2014
By 
K. L. Bain (Blandford Forum; Dorset: U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keo - Keo St John Commandaria - Cyprus - 14%
Love the product. This is a sweet dessert wine which can also be enjoyed with ice and soda on a hot summer day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews