Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original "New Wave" as the Brazilians intended it!
This is a very nice compilation of Brazilian pop in the early 1960s, with the ever reliable Soul Jazz Records team picking up songs that were actually big in Brazil rather than the more well-known international hits. So you don't get an umpteenth version of 'The Girl From Ipanema' and other well-trodden tunes but sometimes rather obscure but always very good tracks...
Published on 22 Mar. 2011 by Stan FREDO

versus
3 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for me
This may be the authentic sound of actual Bossa Nova in Brazil during 1958-1964 but I'm afraid I was left very disappointed. After listening to all 34 tracks there wasn't a single one that I felt worth transferring to my iPod. I'm not an expert but to me a lot of the vocals were rather poor standard, like unpractised or amateur singers, some of it sounding like people...
Published on 8 May 2011 by drew_m


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original "New Wave" as the Brazilians intended it!, 22 Mar. 2011
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s (Audio CD)
This is a very nice compilation of Brazilian pop in the early 1960s, with the ever reliable Soul Jazz Records team picking up songs that were actually big in Brazil rather than the more well-known international hits. So you don't get an umpteenth version of 'The Girl From Ipanema' and other well-trodden tunes but sometimes rather obscure but always very good tracks instead. Anyway, most stars of said era are present and correct (Jorge Ben, Baden Powell among others). The accompanying booklet has to be praised at it gives all the essential facts about the genesis of Samba, Bossa Nova, Tropicalism and Música Popular Brasileira (MPB). The iconography is also very good. File between brazilica! and Nova Bossa: Red Hot on Verve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All good, 22 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s (Audio CD)
There has been a growing volume of bossa nova compilations in recent years and they are of variable quality but this one has some rare gems from the earliest days of Bossa Nova up to more recent years. While not quite up to the standard of the mighty Tropicalia compilation this is still an essential for anyone who loves early Bossa Nova
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 May 2014
By 
Simon Hollis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s (Audio CD)
Surely one of the finest bossa compilations out there - Soul Jazz Records have done exemplary work (as always) and the research into Elenco's archive has been particularly fruitful. Check out their second, 'hard' bossa jazz follow up comp too. A beautifully produced colour booklet comes with this, all about bossa in the context of 1960s Brazil, urbanisation, design and modernism. Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great vinyl, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great selection of Brazilian songs. Would definitely recommend to anyone who likes this type of music.
Item arrived quickly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little Bossa Nova Album, 14 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s (Audio CD)
This album is ok - but I would have expected more off such a well publicised album. It just repeats all the songs we have all heard before without giving that little bit extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DJ gift, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s (Audio CD)
A gift for a DJ friend who loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s (Audio CD)
This may be the authentic sound of actual Bossa Nova in Brazil during 1958-1964 but I'm afraid I was left very disappointed. After listening to all 34 tracks there wasn't a single one that I felt worth transferring to my iPod. I'm not an expert but to me a lot of the vocals were rather poor standard, like unpractised or amateur singers, some of it sounding like people moaning. The latter is I suppose a characteristic of the famous "fado" singing style in the Portuguese language. I'm afraid it's one of my occasional CD purchases that will be going straight to the charity shop next weekend. Hopefully someone more in tune with this sort of style will pick it up there and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s
Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s by Soul Jazz Records presents (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews