Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few gems left over in the Emerson, Lake & Palmer vaults
The title is something of a misnomer, because there was not a Volume 3 of "Works"; what we have instead are live versions of three of the songs from Volume 2 tacked on as bonus tracks. This album is essentially a collection of eclectic leftovers by Emerson Lake & Palmer, especially when compared to "Works, Volume 1." You are not going to find anything as grand as...
Published on 17 Jun 2003 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best
I was lucky enough to see ELP on a number of occasions in the 70's and always enjoyed their albums, mainly because they were so very different to pretty much everyone else and in Keith Emerson they had a keyboard player who was always innovative as well as great to watch). I had found 'Works Vol 1' superb in places but there were one or two areas where they sounded a...
Published on 16 Jan 2008 by N. Mason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, 16 Jan 2008
By 
N. Mason (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Works Volume 2 (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see ELP on a number of occasions in the 70's and always enjoyed their albums, mainly because they were so very different to pretty much everyone else and in Keith Emerson they had a keyboard player who was always innovative as well as great to watch). I had found 'Works Vol 1' superb in places but there were one or two areas where they sounded a touch tired so I was a little apprehensive when I first bought this back in 76.

How right I was - this seemed (and still does) as if they had to get an album out and so they threw together a few bits and pieces which hadn't been good enough to make Vol 1 as well as a few new tracks hurriedly put together. There is lots of Emersons excellent piano playing and some superb songs from Lake but the balance is missing - there is not one powerful composition on the whole album and it therefore compares badly to all that had gone before. 'Love Beach' was a little bit better but it was no surprise when they called it a day not long after.

They returned with the superb 'Black Moon in the 90's but one of the great bands of all time now seem to have gone forever. If you want to hear them at their best don't buy this album - go for the early stuff (ELP / Tarkus / Trilogy / Brain Salad Surgery) or 'Black Moon'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ELP for the fans, 18 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Works Volume 2 (Audio CD)
This is the second collection of out-takes, solo material and B-sides from Keith, Greg and Carl, originally released in 1978. As with the first volume, the overall quality is a bit iffy but there are a few gems.
Whereas the first one was a double (vinyl) album with each member having a side each plus a side of ELP together, this is more of a mixed bunch on one CD and originally one LP.
Good points include the Keith Emerson piano boogie woogie Barrelhouse Shakedown and Honky Tonk Train Blues. Also worth listening to is Brain Salad Surgery, which was never released on the album of the same name but I originally possessed on a flexi disc given away with a magazine to promote the album.
The version of Greg Lake's I Believe in Father Christmas unfortunately is not the same as that released on the single and doesn't have such a claimactic ending. The track entitled "When the Apple Blossoms Bloom in the Windmills of your Mind, I'll Be Your Valentine" is not, as you would expect a medley of old standards but an instrumental track (probably released as a work in progress) which originally appeared on the B side of the Jerusalem single.
The rest of the album is really just filler and is only really of interest to die hard fans of the group. For a more representative collection of ELP's work, the live double CD (from a triple album) "Welcome Back My Friends" is probably a better bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few gems left over in the Emerson, Lake & Palmer vaults, 17 Jun 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Works Vol.2 (Audio CD)
The title is something of a misnomer, because there was not a Volume 3 of "Works"; what we have instead are live versions of three of the songs from Volume 2 tacked on as bonus tracks. This album is essentially a collection of eclectic leftovers by Emerson Lake & Palmer, especially when compared to "Works, Volume 1." You are not going to find anything as grand as "Pirates" on this disc, but then the primary reason for picking up this album has always been to have a copy of "I Believe in Father Christmas," the perennial ELP Yule-time rock classic. Keith Emerson's overdubbed keyboard work on "Maple Leaf Rag" is a treat, although his interest on this album is more Honky-Tonk and Ragtime than Classical in origin. Carl Palmer's percussion driven "Bullfrog" is one of his better showcase pieces, although "Close But Not Touching" is in the same ballpark. But the best "new" track on the album is clearly Greg Lake's "Watching Over You" (co-written with frequent collaborator Peter Sinfield), a nice acoustic song with harmonica accompaniment instead of synthesizer. The album concludes with "Show Me The Way To Go Home," which is an ironic if not apt choice. Still, this collection of odds and ends is worth the price just to have "I Believe in Father Christmas," one of those songs, like Jethro Tull's "Christmas Song," that you just need to hear in December each year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars works for me, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Works Volume 2 (Audio CD)
once again emerson ,lake and palmer have produced an album worth listening to with an excellent mix of musical genres
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A neglected gem, 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Works Volume 2 (Audio CD)
I thought that Works Vol 1 was a real let down. The only tracks I listen to now are "Pirates" and "Fanfare for the Common Man". The rest I cant be bothered with. Works Vol2 has been unfairly dismissed. To me it is more interest and worthy of more repeated listens, then the awful "Bootleg series" everyone (well the reviews on here anyway" raves about. All the tracks are interesting including unreleased album tracks and singles. Think of it as akin to "Past Masters" by the Beatles or "Anthology". It serves the same purpose and fulfills the same niche. Probably ELP were crumbling at this point originally and so found it hard to shift albums. Don't be put off this is worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars legends, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. R. C. Judge "Robertgalaxy" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Works Volume 2 (Audio CD)
Just like all there other albums, fantastic. It's just a shame that there are no groups around today with three class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars elp vol2, 5 Jun 2007
By 
A. kennedy "dogs of war" (dublin ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Works Volume 2 (Audio CD)
almost make a 5 star, except the totally non elp tracks,honky tonk(bore)maple st rag!!??? what ya do'n guy's!???(shock) and show me the way home!!! for what sake!!:))i believe in farther xmas, fab! now thats elp. so is tiger.the rest not bad,vol one's better overall.but! just get the first album or tarkus if your buy.n for the first time,masterpices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No, 18 May 2010
By 
J. Bruce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Works Volume 2 (Audio CD)
When I listen to this, I squirm with embarrassment. When I read the uber-serious reviews by the prog community, I lose any sympathy I once had with this much-maligned crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Works Volume 2
Works Volume 2 by Emerson, Lake & Palmer (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews