Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value replacement
This is useful for replacing an existing chainguard where you still have the bracket that fits around the bottom bracket as this bracket is not included. You may need to drill an extra hole or two to get a good fit but it does the job. It would not work if your bike has a front mech/derailleur.
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by Tim

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not universal!
This does not fit my Trek T30 bike, which is a very widely available bike. The screw holes are in the wrong place (probably sortable by drilling very carefully) but (not solvable) it is too small to fit round the gear changing mechanism. Calling this "universal" is just false. Amazon should stop selling it, or stop calling it "universal" and instead...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. N. D. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value replacement, 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
This is useful for replacing an existing chainguard where you still have the bracket that fits around the bottom bracket as this bracket is not included. You may need to drill an extra hole or two to get a good fit but it does the job. It would not work if your bike has a front mech/derailleur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not universal!, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. N. D. White "magichats" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
This does not fit my Trek T30 bike, which is a very widely available bike. The screw holes are in the wrong place (probably sortable by drilling very carefully) but (not solvable) it is too small to fit round the gear changing mechanism. Calling this "universal" is just false. Amazon should stop selling it, or stop calling it "universal" and instead give the measurements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent replacement, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
Just the job, it was easy to fit with a little minor mod. Very pleased with the product. Excellent chain guard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not universal, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
This did not fit on my bicycle at all, when. I also called a bike shop, who informed me that 'universal' chain/gear guards rarely actually fit. Stay well clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for the price, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
None of the local cycle shops stocked a cheap and cheerful replacement chain guard so the Amazon Profex just fits the bill. I bought this to replace my old broken chain guard so my bike already has fitting brackets above and below the crank. The Profex does not come with a bracket for the crank. It has a small bracket at the rear which is helpful. Some dimensions: inner hole diameter 12.9 cm; outer diameter 22.5 cm; inner diameter 21.8 cm. Distance from top bracket hole to rear bracket is 33 cm. So the distance between top an bottom hole is 21.8 cm and this should fit the crank bracket. Most likely is that the crank bracket is a different size and then a bit of DIY is required. In my case the bracket was smaller by 4 cm so I cut some 8 mm pipe to size 2x 2 cm to function as a thick washers. In the bracket I taped the hole to M5 and used a pair of ~30 mm long M5 bolts to attach the guard to the bracket. On the rear I had to cut the guard to size. The rear bracket fitted perfectly. I hope this explanation makes sense. If you are willing and able to put in the DIY work then fitting it is a lovely little job
The Profex chain guard is made in Germany and the plastic seems sturdy. All in all a very good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars didnt serve purpose, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
The item doesnt come with screws or bolt to attach by the pedal area.The rear part is not standard to conform with bicycles.I got it laying in store.Please be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plastic replacement chain guard, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
Bought this to replace a previous guard.
Like most others reviewers I I had to drill one hole into the plastic for it fit the existing mount.
Easy to fit, works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Makes the job, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
Not as universal al claimed, since every bike is different and the mountings could not be the same.

However, with a little bit of DIY I managed no fit it in a 700 wheels hybrid bike and it worked fine. I had to make a couple of holes in the plastic but nothing major.

All in all, an acceptable chain guard that makes the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Chain guard, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
Very disappointed would not fit took me two hours to make new brackets to make it fit. universal my Foot!! Tony Nightingale. Isles of Sclly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good quality tricky big size, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Profex Universal Chain Guard (Sports)
This genuine German made chain guard is a high quality product, but probably does not fit every 28 inch bike; exactly as it happen with me.
This is because not all bikes have the same dimensions even if they have the same size labelled.

I tried to manipulate something to let this guard fit and however it is not well fit as it should be. But again, for other bikes may be.
Note: it has a bigger diameter than the original one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Profex Universal Chain Guard
£8.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews