Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story behind the legendary tape...
It's not often I feel the need to write an in depth review on such a basic simple item, but it's easy to overlook the usefulness of this product in many application

As expected from the brand leader the usual quality is here in leaps and bounds, the smooth top coating with the slightly golden tone which shimmers gently in the light. Adhesion is both impressive...
Published 1 month ago by Mr Baz

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT SELLOTAPE
This product was not official sellotape branded, as suggested in the picture and title! Instead it was PRIMA, which is not up to the expected standard.
Published 9 months ago by Amelia Dearman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story behind the legendary tape..., 26 Nov 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
It's not often I feel the need to write an in depth review on such a basic simple item, but it's easy to overlook the usefulness of this product in many application

As expected from the brand leader the usual quality is here in leaps and bounds, the smooth top coating with the slightly golden tone which shimmers gently in the light. Adhesion is both impressive and durable managing to last quite some time even on old book pages stuck together.

I've been using this as my "go to first choice" for packing and posting for years now. Though there are cheaper alternatives around, this really is a cut above many cheaper makers.

But to fully appreciate the appeal of what is such as well known brand of adhesive tape, it's necessary to delve somewhat deeper into the origins of this amazing product.

The word "Sellotape" is derived from the word Cellophane and the wording changed slightly to make a trademark (you can't trademark a material as such)
In 1937 Sellotape arrived, a British brand through and through it saw active service in sealing supplies and ammunition boxes during WWII.

At this time Colin Kininmonth and George Gray coated Cellophane film with a natural rubber resin and thus the legend we know today was born. In a person's lifetime it's estimated we use around 20,000 feet of tape per person.

The applications and uses of this adhesive tape are quite numerous: Christmas and Birthday presents, posting and packing, repairing books and joining paper.
I should point out though, that whilst a temporary solution for book repairs or torn pages, you should avoid using it on book that are important. Eventually the tape will come from the adhesive and it does leave a residue on the book pages (which is darker and can be removed with care) so it's really not recommended for a permanent fix for important books or documents.

Best used though for wrapping presents and any temporary items such as that. I have seen people attempt to repair their car with the tape, and also extensive use on the front of kitchen fridges, to sheds and even just putting up items on a wall like a poster. One friend successfully silenced his nagging wife with a few carefully placed strips of this great product. It's also very widely used for removing pet hair and fluff from clothes.
It's hard to imagine life without this wonder tape which we often take for granted.

Sellotape has been owned since 2002 by Henkel Consumer Adhesives, but this popular brand of adhesive tape lives on to this very day. It is probably one of the most under appreciated/taken for granted inventions ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job - and is well-behaved! (mostly), 6 Sep 2014
By 
Lost John (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
My five stars aren't because I am wildly excited about my new roll of Sellotape, but there is absolutely nothing wrong with it, so why not?

It came from the Amazon Marketplace Seller san direct, and is certainly the real thing, packaged and presented exactly as pictured. I installed it on a desk-top dispenser last night in the midst of a big mail-out job - well, big for a non-commercial, front room table-top job. The tape of the new roll seemed thinner than the generic competitor that had just run out. Being a micron or two thinner may be a part of the cost of there being a useful 50 metres all on one roll - that's enough to secure about 400 reluctant 'self-seal' envelopes. However, the tape played none of the tricks that a roll of self-adhesive tape can - such as peeling-off to the side, leaving a long, pointed spear of tape to be coaxed off with a finger nail and discarded before work can recommence (only for it to happen again ... and again!). Neither was the roll impossibly tight on the spindle of the dispenser, making it hard to get on and off, as some are.

Being thinner than the tape I had become used to, it was inclined to curl on itself and self-adhere (resulting in wastage of time and tape), but with attention to technique in handling that can largely be avoided.

The tape adhered faultlessly and the job was soon done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sticky!, 29 Sep 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
There are a lot of sellotape imitations of there and none of them that I have found actually stick anywhere near as well as the original product.

I use it for all sorts of things but mainly making things with the children and for making sure that packages and parcels that I send in the post are safely sealed.

Useful stuff that I take for granted but use every week!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy duty good quality cellotape, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
Good delivery time, arrived early and quickly. It was inside its original box. The cellotape is heavy and very good quality. It was tough and easy to cut. And its easy to find the end. Also its better than the local naff you buy from the local shops. Plus this roll was £6.99 in the local store. I would recommend this product to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality tape., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
Sellotape is by far a superior product to other cheap tape on the market. It appears to be thicker and has superior sticking ability.
Granted the cheaper versions are ok for certain jobs but this is quality when quality is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality for the price., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
This item looks identical to what you would normally buy in a stationary shop, although I haven't actually used it yet!! It was delivered on time and packaged up well. I am unable to comment on the effectiveness of the product until I start using it but it looks good so far and time will tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fit for purpose, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
It wouldn't exactly stick me to the side of a rock if I was climbing Mount Everest and needed some strong support to stop me falling off, but it is fine for sticking 2 pieces of paper together or whatever else sellotape is needed for.

..... It's ONLY sellotape :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sticks to cats well, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
Its tape, what more can I say, it sticks to most stuff, including my cats who I am using this tape to stop them from walking on the kitchen tops. Put it upside down over night and find it in the morning, peppered with cat hair on the floor in a ball. Me: 1, Cats: 0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its sticky, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
The stuff is the dogs nuts or to paraphrase Black Adder - I don't think I've seen anything this sticky since Sticky the Stick Insect got stuck on a sticky bun.
Oh and it was delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sellotape, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sellotape 1629135 24mm x 50m Original Golden Tape (Office Product)
This is a good product made by a well known make but I wasn't keen on the plastic dispenser that was supplied with every roll. An unnecessary thing when most people use proper dispensers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews