Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinect Based Review
What Child of Eden does well is show how well Kinect can work when incorporated correctly. I've read some reviewers saying the gamepad (controller) ultimately still rules, but I set out playing it on Kinect and to judge the game purely from that point of view. Just like playing any Call of Duty game on Wii you are restricted in viewing, but again, it opens up other...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by JP

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 good levels - too much singing.
If you haven't played Rez HD, download the demo from XBLA and it'll give you a good idea of what this game is like - this is a sequel to Rez in all but name.

For those who have played Rez - this is also a game of 5 short levels, with slightly improved gameplay (2 weapons and a score multiplayer for playing in time to the beat of the music - which works...
Published on 29 July 2011 by NP


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinect Based Review, 26 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What Child of Eden does well is show how well Kinect can work when incorporated correctly. I've read some reviewers saying the gamepad (controller) ultimately still rules, but I set out playing it on Kinect and to judge the game purely from that point of view. Just like playing any Call of Duty game on Wii you are restricted in viewing, but again, it opens up other avenues that are in turn restricted by traditional controllers. (BTW, I own Wii, PS3 and Xbox so I'm not console fanboy - I purely play a game for what its worth: the game and not the console.)

This is definitely my first "kinect" title I feel like keeping forever. All the others, including Kinect Sports (that I really enjoy), won't have a long shelf live, purely on how quickly they wear thin and how often the publishers will bring out new titles. But with Child of Eden, it's a jewel I want to keep - though I have to add as stated all over these reviews: it's short.

The sense I got from playing the game was a little nostalgia back to the 80's when colourful lines running criss-cross across a computer screen was seen as a huge advancement in technology. That excitement of experiencing something you knew were amazing was somehow rekindled while playing Child of Eden. It's not "breathtaking" in the sense that you have super realistic looking landscapes or LA Noire-like cutscenes, but it's captivating in the method of sound and light/colour combination. I do wonder how younger generations would react to this kind of title, as I do not see kids "getting it".

The gameplay is simple enough enough that your right hand can select many targets through waving over them, and then with a flick of the hand shoot simultaneously, and with the left hand you can fire a quicker laser (but weaker.) Left has to be used for pink objects that if they were to reach the front of the TV screen will deplete your health. Each chapter sends you down and up a voyage of colour and sound with no real goal in mind, except to enjoy the presentation. This is where I found Kinect to excel as you really do not get that feeling of competitiveness as one would with the controller - it's purely a ride of ecstasy.

I can't truly classify Child of Eden and I really don't know whom to recommend this game to. What I did find is that the game is more enjoyable if you play it intermittently, a chapter a day for example, instead of sitting down and rushing it through in one go (which can easily be done in the timeframe of one afternoon).

As long as publishers keep the pricing down on games like these (short ones and more indie-style), I would like to see more efforts from developers in the future in this direction. It's a nice break from the genres we've come to know to dominate the last decade or so, and a fresh injection into creativity, especially showcasing the strengths of Kinect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gaming experience like no other, 17 Jun 2011
By 
William Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This wonderfully simplistic game provides you with a gaming experience like no other you have experienced before. After having spent a lot of money purchasing an Xbox Kinect, and up until now having relatively few games to play on it, this game makes purchasing a Kinect all worthwhile.

The story is not really relevant but throughout the game you are trying to save a girl and the internet. The game is essentially a first-person shooter but instead of killing people you are destroying corrupt data.

The Kinect incorporation is excellent and makes the game experience an embracing one. For example, with a simple flick of the wrist corrupt data can be exterminated. Kinect definitely makes navigating and exploring Eden's databases easier than using a standard controller due to its intuitive nature. Also, you can adjust the control schemes for both a regular controller and Kinect to find the style that suits you most. However, for those who do not own Kinect I wouldn't worry as this game is still fabulous whilst using a standard controller.

This game has a unique overall calming effect on the gamer that I have not experienced with any other game. The colourful sights and sounds work together to place you in a happy trance - I know this sounds strange but you cannot understand without experiencing the game for yourself. The techno soundtrack is simply stunning and accompanies vibrant and colourful visuals perfectly making it impossible for you not to become absorbed as the game is designed to make you part of it.

The only downside of this game is that it is over long before you would like it to be as only takes approximately 2-3 hours to complete. However, there are lots of unlockables and leaderboards to keep people's interest once the campaign is over. Also, I can definitely imagine myself picking this game off the shelf in a few months time and doing it all again.

Overall, this game offers something totally different from most modern day games in the sense that it has the ability to make the gamer feel very happy. I believe that everyone should experience this game, even if they are initially sceptical, as I bet they will end up enjoying it. A revolutionary game that will go down in gaming history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is what kinect is all about, 20 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Looks beautiful, sounds great and a unique gameplay experience with Kinect.

As other people have said - this game feels a bit short, but you could also argue that a game of chess is short. Would you trade in your chess board after a couple of games? Don't get me wrong, I'm not comparing Child of Eden to a game of Chess, but Eden is more about "mastering the art" rather than blasting your way to the end of the level. Maybe we should be comparing Child of Eden to Guitar Hero or another music game where you want to get note perfect and make it sound awesome.

There are nuances in this game you miss the first time through a level. For example, you don't have to keep in time with the beat, but if you do you are rewarded. Its all a beautiful trancy learning curve!

If all you've been able to use your Kinect for is Kinect Adventures, Child of Eden sure is one giant leap forward into a motion controlled future of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamepad Based Review, 18 Jun 2011
By 
W. Broom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok so i don't have kinect, this review is based on the gamepad experience. As i understand it the game tunes the reticule size and difficulty slightly between pad and kinect, and i am pleased to say that the experience when playing with a gamepad is fantastic. The movement speed of the cursor is spot on, and the game mechanics are a nice step up from Rez, this games forebear. Rez had a 3rd person character but it was just visual, you couldn't dodge incoming fire by moving, you had to shoot the bullets down. C of E works the same, but uses a firstperson view, the other good mechanical change is an indicator of the direction of incoming purple enemy bullets should one be coming in from the sides of the screen, removing any random damage. What's I am very pleased to report is that the game is just as intense as Rez and also has a really well judged difficulty, I was concerned that with a pad the game would be too easy but it's just right...there's plenty to shoot and plenty of incoming fire to deal with, also the levels are great on repeat play, you get better and better, and it's not a case of being able to master them after a couple of goes...just like Rez you will have 85% shot down and 75% items collected on a stage and will want to up the %ages.

Also of note aside from the main stages is Hope mode, a challenge mode of sorts, this in itself is better than most of the games i own.

It's very hard to describe the experience of this game beyond it being a musical shooter, where the music and visuals combine in an almost kaleidoscopic way. The visuals are incredibly beautiful and...playing this is like having a night out, it's so different to the videogame norm and wonderful for it. We're lucky that there are a few game makers out there that are true artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best kinect game ever, 1 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Another Game from the famous game designer who made Rez HD, Child of eden is more than a game expecially if played with Kinect, This is a sensorial travel that will bring you into new strange words inside your chip. Awesome and inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It can go on as long as you want it to . . ., 1 July 2011
By 
Michael Doyle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been playing this game with Kinect on Xbox 360.

I won't repeat what many others have said: it's a great game.

What I will comment on, however, it its perceived longevity.
Some people are suggesting this game is too short. I think they misunderstand it.

If you think you've finished this game by simply completing each stage, go and check your position on the online leaderboard. I'm sure you'll find people who are higher up the board than you because they have refined how they play the game and have basically done it more elegantly than you. They've gained extra points from all kinds of things including clearing each infection at first hit, using powerups effectively, to firing in time with the beat of the music (yes, that adds to your score too).

Players keep honing their score which makes the leaderboard dynamic and constantly challenging. I suggest that if you're not in the top fifty on the leaderboard, you cannot say you have mastered this amazing game.

For me, this is the best game for Kinect so far by miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 good levels - too much singing., 29 July 2011
By 
NP (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you haven't played Rez HD, download the demo from XBLA and it'll give you a good idea of what this game is like - this is a sequel to Rez in all but name.

For those who have played Rez - this is also a game of 5 short levels, with slightly improved gameplay (2 weapons and a score multiplayer for playing in time to the beat of the music - which works beautifully)

The graphics are considerably better than Rez, the music, in places is excellent, but in other places is weak, with far far too much singing of bland New Age vocals rather than the mostly instrumental trance of Rez - the overall tone of the soundtrack feels quite watered down from Rez, and aimed at mass-market appeal for what the makers (I'm guessing) see as some "casual Kinect gamer" type demographic.

Like Rez, this is intended to be an experience rather than a game, and one that you will enjoy replaying many times.

The biggest problem is that of the 5 levels (making it a short game to start with) - there are only 2 really good levels - 2 are teetering around the middle, and 1 (the final) is just dull and devoid of any interesting ideas.

If, by the time you read this, the price has gotten very cheap - then pick it up and enjoy a short but truly beautiful ride - the bits where it works, are a rare emotionally uplifting artistically beautiful experience unlike any other game (except Rez of course).

If you're not familiar with the length of Rez - I'd estimate that both games are maybe 10% of the length you'd expect of a full price game - but designed as an experience to be relived - but unlike Rez, only about 2/5ths of it's length really stand out as good.

And inspite of what it proudly claims on the box, IMO (and the opinion of everyone else I know who has tried it) - it DOESN'T play better with Kinect - quite the reverse - the easier levels are ok - but the harder levels demand precision and speed that Kinect cannot keep up with - and being forced to stand 8 feet from the screen for what is meant to be a hypnotic audio/visual experience, pulls you right out of it.

If that all sounds negative - and you're wondering why I've still given it 3 stars - it's because even 2 beautiful levels are a fantastic experience, and such a thing of heartwarming beauty in a world of FPS's etc - it's a very beautiful place to let your Xbox take you - even if it's only for such a short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best kinect game to date!, 21 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Graphics are similar to Rez the arcade game, fun to play & very accurate unkind some other kinect titles :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best Kinect game on the market!, 18 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game seems made with Kinect in mind as it marries wonderfully with this interface!
You will find yourself immersed in a world of beauty and music invading your senses.
This is the demonstration that there is still plenty to invent and re-invent in video games industry and that you don't necessarily need to revert to violence and horror to make an excellent and appealing game, even if it's, fundamentally, a shooter.
Cute, witty, surprising, inspirational.

Still by far the best game for Kinect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinect actually does work then!, 19 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is as close as you're going to get to a showcase for Kinect. I was initially skeptical about the Kinect support for this game, but it works - with very little lag. In fact Kinect is really the only way to play this (even though you do get the option to play with a pad too).

From the same studio as legendary shoot 'em up Rez, Child of Eden is a surreal beautiful interactive firework show of a game. It might not be the longest game in existence (in fact many people might feel a bit ripped off that it's a full price game that feels as short as an Xbox Live Arcade title) but it's longevity is provided by the constant urge to one-up your friends scores, and the constant challenge of actually completing each level using Kinect.

A breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale summer release schedule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Child of Eden - Kinect Compatible (Xbox 360)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews