Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Make Beautiful Music Together, 14 April 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
"The Lyric," newest release of British tenor saxophone man Jim Tomlinson, advertises that it "features" his wife, Anglo-American jazz chanteuse Stacey Kent. However, she's surely more a co-star: we hear her lovely voice on all but two of the album's tracks.

Tomlinson has credited Stan Getz as a formative musical influence, and the album, although it draws heavily from the Great American songbook, and Broadway, to some degree also follows Getz down South America way. Furthermore, it's a reminder of the musical partnership of Getz and Astrud Gilberto -- the tenor sax is close to the human voice in its range; and the Tomlinson/Kent collaborations are almost mystically, mutually interwoven.

The album, which has won "Best Vocal Album" at Ronnie Scotts Jazz Awards, and 2006 "Album of the Year" at the prestigious British Broadcasting Company's Jazz Awards, is Tomlinson's first release on his own label, Token. It takes a fresh approach to its standards, even such familiar ones as Rogers and Hammerstein's "Surrey With The Fringe on Top," and Lerner and Loewe's "I've Grown Accustomed to His Face." We also get a selection of French tunes, delivered by Kent as though she'd been born in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower. Cole Porter's knowing "My Heart Belongs to Daddy," gets a clean rendition, no winks or nods. Kent has a modern, conversational, intimately whispering style well-suited to this repertory, and Tomlinson's sax always has a story to tell. The band consists of David Newton on piano, Dave Chamberlain on double bass, and Matt Skelton on drums.

I've been lucky enough to catch Kent and Tomlinson at New York's famous Algonquin Hotel. There's no question, they're working in the here and now. Still their collaborative style of music making is reminiscent of the great Lester Young and Billie Holiday, or even, to cite a contemporary, perhaps better known to Americans duo, John Pizzarelli and Jessica Molaskey. They make beautiful music together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums ever. Fantastic. I have bought it for many friends, most of them completely new to Stacey Kent/Jim Tomlinson, and it has been universally loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good easy listening mainstream dinner jazz!, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
Brilliant CD, especially good for laid back evening listening. Mellow and sweet, very relaxing. Its great that theres a younger generation of singers who are carrying on the tradition of good quality music. Jim Tomlinson's saxophone complements his wife's singing beautifully, and his solos are a joy to listen to in their own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SK & JT, 10 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (MP3 Download)
A friend introduced me to Stacey Kent and her other half, Jim Tomlinson, saying 'try it',try it! I bet you'll like it!' I did, and was much taken with their artistry. So much so, I now have nearly all their albums. These two performers are class acts creating cool jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Husband and Wife, 11 April 2014
By 
I. Macqueen "Iain Macqueen" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
Still enjoying the combination of vocal and saxophone and this pair clearly enjoy working together
Although Jim and Stacey don't seem to get the chance that often with differing projects.
They shuld do so more often if this is the product.
Also recomend many of Stacey's other cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great team, even though they are married!, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
I have other Stacey Kent albums, three or four, and this was an irresistible addition. Tomlinson is a brilliant musician an an even more brilliant arranger...he knows exactly what will work perfectly, and that's pretty much what this album is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALSO CHARMING, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
A BEAUTIFUL COMBINATION OF FINE SONGS, WONDERFUL SINGING AND SUBLIME INSTRUMENTALS. STACEY KENT HAS THE MOST AMAZING VOICE, BUT SHE IS AN EXPERT AT KNOWING HOW TO USE IT TO EFFECT AND FOR MAXIMUM ENJOYM,ENT TO THE LISTENER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music accompanied by a beautiful voice, 14 Jun 2014
By 
F. Hassan (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (MP3 Download)
This is a really beautiful album which, for me, evokes a fantastic night watching and listening to Stacey Kent, Jim Tomlinson, and the rest of the band, in concert at the Norwich Playhouse - during which they played a number of these tracks. I can't say it enough - simply beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any Stacey fan, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
Any fan of Stacey Kent needs this in their collection. The pure voice of this artiste is as good as ever on this cd. Jim Tomlinson is an expert in his field and together, this is just magic. If you get chance to see them in a live performance, do ! Great performers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars smooth dinner jazz at its best, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (MP3 Download)
This is a great evening cd Stacey Kent has a smooth soothing voice that never fails to hit the spot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lyric
The Lyric by Stacey Kent (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews