Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars17
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.29

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2000
Having been disappointed by recent studio albums, I am pleased to say this is a really good reminder of how good a live act Rush are. Even the newer songs benefit from the live conditions, breathing life into them, and making them sound suprisingly good next to the older classics. I played this something like ten times after buying before listening to anything else - I recommend it!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The fourth live album from rush is a triple.Although early info suggested it would contain songs taken from gigs throughout their career,the bulk of CD 1 & 2 is taken from the Test For Echo tour,only 3 tracks are taken from the Counterparts tour.However to offset that, we are treated to a full version of 2112.CD 3 is taken from a gig at the Hammersmith Odeon in 1978. Geddy Lee states on the sleeve notes that they had over 60 shows to choose from,which leaves me wondering just how much stuff did they leave off. However,this is a fantastic album which is well worth buying.If you were only going to buy one Rush Album,this is the one to go for.Bass and drums in perfect rhythm,Alex Lifeson guitars searing through.The ultimate live act from the ultimate band
11 comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
This is a great album for those who do not yet know whether their heart lies in the seventies Rush, or their later stuff. The three CDs in the set represent live material from across the career of a brilliant rock band who have withstood the test of time with huge credit and dignity. With Neil Peart being arguably the best drummer in the history of rock (no really), great sci-fi imagery in the lyrics, and one hell of a sound for only a three man outfit, this is worth having in your collection, even if you already have all the studio albums that spawned these songs. Also, a full length version of 2112 is very welcome. My wife says this album is the most awful cacophany she has ever heard so it must be good.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 September 2010
With the band on hold,another live album was issued,and what an album 3 discs of quality Rush,Discs 1/2 comprised 19 tracks from the T4E tour and 3 tracks from the Counterparts tour,Disc 3 the bonus, a live show from london 1978,recorded by the BBC i believe but not broadcast.Boasting an outstanding sound this really is a stunning release.

Disc 1 highlights a full version of 2112,quality acoustic performances of 'Nobodys Hero' & 'The Trees',a peerless version of 'Closer To The Heart'

Disc 2 Highlights include a superb version of 'Test For Echo',a rare outing for 'Analog Kid',stunning imstrumentals 'Leave That Thing Alone'/'YYZ',classics such as 'Freewill','Spirit Of The Radio' & 'Tom Sawyer',while another long lost classic 'Natural Science' is performed brilliantly.

Disc 3 while being much rawer,almost official bootleg sound quality,is a glimpse into the past,with classics such as 'By Tor & The Snow Dog/Xanadu along side early live favourites such as 'Anthem/Bastille Day/Working Man.The cream however is rare live versions of 'Farewell To Kings/Cygnus X-1 & 'Cinderella Man'.

I have often lauded 'All The Worlds A Stage' as the best Rush live disc,i truly believe it is,this however is its equal if im being honest,a stunning place to start
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2007
Rush live are an incredible experience - and this album gives you three discs on which they demonstrate that they are without doubt the Masters of their respective instruments. This live album is the best because it has such a good track listing culled, as the title suggests, from different stages in their illustrious career and has good production to boot!! And I, like Mr Andy Cooper, have a wife whose disdain for my albums is proportionally inverse to how good the album actually is ie she hates this, so it has to be one hell of an album!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2006
I got this album for a fiver at a record fair a few years ago, but it's pure gold. The band are on top form, performing a whole range of material from their whole career and they sound awesome. I think this is Rush's best live album of all, and the inclusion of the 1978 concert is a gem, these live versions of the 70's stuff brings them to life and are very listenable now. You won't be disappointed this is definitely worth whatever you pay for it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
To any one who doesn't know, Rush have now got eight live albums / DVDs out there. The reason for this is that they are the best live bands out there. Ok there are bands out there which have bigger stage shows but they seem to lose that personal touch. Also there are band with more on stage energy but if you are at the back of the gig then all that will be lost to you.
That is where Rush get the balance just right they have great stage shows and great stage presence so where ever you sit/stand or jump about in the audience the whole conert feels personal.
This is their 4th live album and as time goes on their live albums have got better and better, and this is up their with the best of them. So a must buy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
Different Stages is a live album recorded at 3 different points in time: the 1994 Counterparts tour, the 1997 Test for Echo tour and the A Farewell to Kings tour in 1978. Its therefore a souvenir of the career of this outstanding Canadian prog metal band. Alex Lifeson, Geddy Lee and Neil Peart are individually mega talented multi-instrumentalists. As Rush they achieve the status of Power Trio. Live they are in their element. All the key tracks are here, so for fun I will compose my perfect Rush set by way of a review. "Dreamline", "Anthem", "The Analog Kid", "Roll the Bones", "Show Don't Tell", "Limelight", "YYZ", "Xanadu", "Working Man", "The Spirit of Radio", "Tom Sawyer", "The Trees", "Closer to the Heart" &"2112" in its entirety. With this Cd you can do that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
A fantastic acquisition for lifelong followers of arguably the best Rock Trio ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
great triple live set thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)