Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars32
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2002
A collection of the three final Peter Wimsey tales, 'Striding Folly' contains the title story, a work which revolves around a curious death during a game of chess, seemingly foretold in a dream, and 'The Haunted Policeman', which takes place on the eve of the birth of Peter and Harriet's first child, and revolves around a policeman accused of drunkeness by his Sergeant, despite the fact that he was completely sober. The final tale, 'Talboys', is a lightly amusing and whimsical account of a mysterious theft of peaches belonging to Mr Puffett (whom we have previously seen clearing a chimney, and in other capacities, in 'Busman's Honeymoon'), in which we have a brief meeting with the Wimseys en famille, now with three sons, Bredon, Roger, and Paul. Bunter and a snake called Cuthbert also appear to round out this delightful tale, the last of the Wimsey canon (bar 'Thrones, Dominations', should you wish to count it). Personally, I find 'Talboys' to be one of the most deft pieces of humour that I have ever had the pleasure to read, although it may not appeal to those who are devoted to stories of pure detection.
Prefaced by an essay by Janet Hitchman, 'Lord Peter Wimsey and His Creator', this volume may not be the ideal introduction to Wimsey - for that, it would be best to begin at the proverbial beginning, with 'Whose Body?'. However, for the initiated, it is indispensible, and wins five stars on the individual strengths of each story alone.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This CD contains three short stories.
The first one (Striding Folly) is about an unusual chessplayer and his almost supernatural death. Slightly creepy - I recommend you listen to this in a stormy night, preferably at candlelight. It would also make a good halloween story.

Story #2 (The Haunted Policeman) is about a murder that never happened in a house that never existed - or does it? The only eye witness is puzzled (as is the listener). The solution of this mystery is unexpected, to put it mildly.

The last story (Talboys) is my favourite as it gives us a little insight in the Wimsey's family life. We meet again with Mr Puffett (the chimney sweeper from "Busman's Honeymoon") who finds all his peaches gone, only one day before the annual peach competition. His Lordship solves the case and - with the help of his oldest son Bredon, assisted by Cuthbert the snake - manages to teach a highly annoying guest a lesson.
In this story we learn about a very different side of Lord Peter Wimsey: he appears to have completely recovered from shellshock, is relaxed, humorous and even a little mischieveous.

Presumably, these three stories were just a little experiment by Mrs Sayers, but in my opinion a very successful one. Hardcore Sayers fans will propably frown at her breach of style and pattern but for everyone who is curious about Mrs Sayers' literary bandwith this collection will be a little gem.

As usual, Ian Carmichael reads simply perfect. In his voice, the characters truely come to life.
His clear pronounciation makes this audiobook a lovely gift not only for "native speakers" but also for foreigners like myself.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2002
Dorothy L Sayers full length mystery novels are very good - beautifully written and strong on character, detail, humour and with ingenious plots. Her short stories are however disappointing, and this collection of three particularly so. Each of them is slight, with the middle one, The Haunted Policeman, being the best of a poor bunch. The attempt at a different style in first story is misguided, and the final story is almost non-existent, centring on life in the Wimsey household. If readers are wanting to try her short stories, the collection of ten in Lord Peter Views The Body is much stronger, though variable. In this, written at the beginning of her career, there is the sense that she is feeling her way into the genre; the mysteries are too weak to sustain a full novel, but some stories have interesting twists. In Striding Folly, the sense is much more of her running out of ideas or perhaps energy. One cautionary note for readers: the introduction gives away the plot of some Sayers other novels. For those interested in trying Sayers' work for the first time, I strongly recommend choosing a full length novel - Have His Carcass, Murder Must Advertise and Gaudy Night are all excellent.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
I give way to no-one in my admiration of DLS. But this book is a cynical rip-off by the publishers, New English Library. It's a slim book - 176 pages; of those, 50 are given over to prelims, an Introduction, and an introductory essay. Setting aside blank pages, section titles, and some very ordinary and unhelpful illustrations, which one suspects have been stuffed in simply to pad the book out, there are just 91 pages of text in this book.

Let me repeat that - there are 9i pages of actual Sayers in this book. For this, NEL have the gall to charge £6.99.

Buy this book second-hand.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Striding Folly D L Sayers

|Not the best Dorothy Sayers but still much better than most of the pulp churned out by the score today!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I find the full length books more enjoyable, but even at her second- best, Dorothy L Sayers still excels. Three good stories and an interesting introduction.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I don't ususally go for short stories but I enjoyed these. They were amusing follow-ons from Busman's honeymoon and I'm glad I bought the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
What a disappointment and to be honest, a bit of a rip-off. £6.00 for three very thin stories (the first one being especially poor. It had me turning the page and actually saying out loud "That can't be the end????" Also padded out with a very old introduction/essay written in the 70s and coming over as very stuffy and not intellectually rigorous. The novels are wonderful, in my opinion, but I would certainly give this collection a miss unless you want to read everything Sayers ever wrote.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This is the usual excellently written work of Dorothy L Sayers. Many modern "authors" would do well to follow her example.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
A series of three short stories, well written and, given the difficulties of a short story, the plots are well developed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse