Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fabulous book in the Roman Mysteries series.
These books have been a revelation to my 10 year old son, whose favourite subject is History. When he started reading them he became hooked immediately, even though he hadn't been keen to start reading the first one, as he didn't like the description of them, especially the fact that there was a heroine rather then a hero! He had been a reluctant though competent reader...
Published on 18 April 2009 by busybee

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating spiritual turn
I have been a big fan of this series, and have ordered all of the books to both read myself and pass onto my students. This book shares many of the fantastic things I have loved about the other ones in the series, such as great descriptions of the settings and a good mystery to solve. But this one actually angered me when it came to the issue of early Christianity...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by Missa Marmalstein


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another fabulous book in the Roman Mysteries series., 18 April 2009
By 
busybee (Swansea, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books have been a revelation to my 10 year old son, whose favourite subject is History. When he started reading them he became hooked immediately, even though he hadn't been keen to start reading the first one, as he didn't like the description of them, especially the fact that there was a heroine rather then a hero! He had been a reluctant though competent reader and now he is an avid reader with a reading age of 15. The books are involving, exciting, and very educational(without appearing to be for the child) and teach a lot of mythology, history, classics and even Greek and Latin words. If my husband or I read a chapter to him at bedtime we are also hooked and end up reading on ourselves. The subject matter can be quite adult though, as in this book, and I would not recommend it for any younger than a mature 10 year old- it hints at dark subject matter like child abuse and deals with kidnapping and other crimes that could give a sensitive child nightmares, for instance in previous books there have been very gory descriptions of killings etc. However this of course is just the thing to hook boys like mine in, as they love reading gory things, and it does seem removed from real life as it is set such a long time ago. We hear that the next book will also be the last in the series and don't know what we will do! Any recommendations for the next book or series to read anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prophet, 3 Feb 2009
This new book from Caroline Lawrence is once again quite an accomplishment. It goes back to previous themes including the Colossus of Rhodes. The book charts the trek across Asia of Flavia Gemina and co to find missing children,taken by a not so evil slave dealer and his bodyguard, and along the way they encounter christianity in its early days. The flowing book is sown with intresting facts yet does not bore you. Will the children ever be the same again? find out by reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The prophet is the best yet, 23 Mar 2009
By 
M. Osullivan-day "M booky" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved ths book. It was a thriller and a page turner. I just wish that when I finished it I could read 110000 more books like this. But these series are unique!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Famous Five in Ancient Rome, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of the Roman Mysteries series, both in book form and TV adaption. These books take something of the concept of the Famous Five (four child detectives and a dog, tracking down criminals and solving mysteries) and sets it in the ancient Roman empire. This is a gritty and realistic ancient empire though, and as such it is highly educational, very exciting and a really good read.

In this book the children are far from home, travelling the ancient Roman province of asia minor, in pursuit of a slave dealer.

The story is first class, and brings together some threads of earlier novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Roman Mystery, 13 Jan 2010
By 
My daughter and I have been following Caroline Lawrence's Roman Mystery series since they were first published and feel that this is probably the best yet. Good plot, well-paced, kept us guessing right up to the end. Looking forward to reading the next title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Just Keep Getting Better, 14 April 2009
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. As always, Lawrence has seamlessly woven into her work a wealth of historical details, and in this particular book, biblical allusions. Instead of being intrusive, these details only add to the depth and fullness of the novel. Everything is very accurate, and even the most casual reader is sure to pick up some historical knowledge (though he or she may not realize it at the time!). The Prophet from Ephesus offers the reader an intriguing glimpse into early Christianity as well. Without being preachy or cheesy, Lawrence addresses issues of Jonathan's faith that have needed to be resolved.

A distinctive characteristic that sets her books apart from other historical fiction is her knack for describing settings. Lawrence does not simply rely on visual details--she paints a multisensory masterpiece of scent, sight, and sound that swiftly draws the reader into the novel. When reading her descriptions of places, one receives the impression that Lawrence has been there before (and she has). All of her books have this remarkable quality, but The Prophet from Ephesus is beyond exceptional in this regard.

As far as the plot goes, the series is clearly arcing towards an imminent climax. Romance, excitement and tension climb higher and higher, and at the end of the book, the reader is left hanging off a cliff. Personally, I am torn between longing for the next book to come out, and not wanting the series to ever end!

The Roman Mysteries may be children's books, but in no way does Caroline Lawrence dumb them down for her audience. C. S. Lewis once said, "A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest." By that criterion, The Prophet from Ephesus is a definite success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prophet From Ephesus, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Boudicca (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
The Prophet From Ephesus is the latest book in the Roman Mysteries series, and is the penultimate one. It is an outstanding read, full of wonder, suspense and surprise. The book is set in Halicarnassus, the Roman province of Asia, and the four friends are once again solving a mystery. Not only have hundreds of children been kidnapped, but Jonathan's nephew is also among the taken. They set out on a journey to find them, meeting mysterious characters on the way, including prophets and slave-dealers. With this main plot, there are many sub-plots cleverly woven in, and the book has a surprising ending. Altogether, this is an amazing book, and I am sad that there is only one more book to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost complete surprise, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Richard Campbell "RichSC" (Alexandria, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series evolves with the maturity of the four protagonists. Carolyn Lawrence is also maturing with her plots and themes, and this one is a leap up from the previous book in the challenges, experiences and decisions of the four friends. I was not expecting the plot and development twists in this one at all. While one may reasonably doubt that any set of children in the Roman era could ever have had so many experiences and lived to tell the tale, the settings and culture they pass through always ring very true. I would have liked for the friends to have spent more time in some of the places; Flavia would have been a natural in the library of Alexandria, for example; could she have become one of the great librarians? (maybe she'll travel back there in the future)
While these look like children's or young adults books I long ago recommended them to my friends also interested in Roman history and culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Roman mysteries, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prophet from Ephesus (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES Book 16) (Kindle Edition)
It is a really good book. I loved it. It is the best book ever and I can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prophet, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good series of books for boys who like history. I would recommend them for 9-11 year olds But watch out, once you start reading them there are a lot in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews