Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Food and Cooking Reference Book
Larousse Gastronomique is a fantastic book beautifully written and beautifully produced. It has all the information that you would ever need to know about food and cooking. Come across a vegetable you have never heard of, then it is in there. Do you want to know where a spice comes from and what to do with it, its there. If you ever need ideas on what to cook with that...
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by Mr. M. Hodgson

versus
156 of 187 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better exterior, worse contents
Better exterior, worse contents

I have upgraded from The Concise Larousse Gastronomique (2003) to find out that this beautifully designed book has actually worse contents than its little cousin!
What's better?
1) The book is so beautifully designed that it's a great pleasure to look at it and to have it on the bookshelf.
2) A general index and a...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by reader from Encyclopedialand


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Food and Cooking Reference Book, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. M. Hodgson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
Larousse Gastronomique is a fantastic book beautifully written and beautifully produced. It has all the information that you would ever need to know about food and cooking. Come across a vegetable you have never heard of, then it is in there. Do you want to know where a spice comes from and what to do with it, its there. If you ever need ideas on what to cook with that fish, then Larousse Gastrononmique will tell you. It has pictures and descriptions of how to prepare and how to cook, with variations, everything you can cook from the mundane to the bizarre. It has recipes in it but it is not a recipe book. It is an incredible information source, a reference book. It is arranged simply alphabetically which makes it very easy to find the information you want. The pictures are of exceptional quality. The paper is of a very high quality and feels good to the touch. Lovers of quality book production will know what I mean. The whole book exudes brilliance and everlasting quality. A book to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dictionary of food, 23 Nov 2009
By 
kb (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
At first glance when I opened the "very large" book I was slightly disappointed that it was written in dictionary format - but after 2 mins I couldn't put the book down!
It has almost every recipe and basic methodologies for all those recipes and techniques that you hear about but don't quite understand. It has a wealth of info and you just need the time to sit down and pour through it.
The paper sheets are a bit on the thin side - so once you find the recipe that you are looking for it does mean that you have to write it up - as the book also is not something that you can easily prop up on your worktops whilst you work!
Overall a brilliant reference book for those that are really hooked into trying to cook like the experts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars every kitchen should have one, every cook should have one, 26 Dec 2009
By 
P. F. White "Paul" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
Overall a fantastic reference book. Full of useful information as well as information that whilst less useful is incredibly interesting to read. Contains a wealth of classic recipes. Gives lots of techniques and reference information about all kinds of food. The colour photos of ingredients is valid but i wonder what the point of the black and white shots of chefs at work is, other than for nostalgia. I cant deny that when I try to look something up I am inevitably distracted into reading a few other entries before remembering why I originally opened the book in the first place. Overall, a joy to have and essential reading for the rare breed of people who still actually like to cook, as opposed to taking some supermarket thing out of the freezer and sticking it in the oven for half an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a resource...even if you never cook anything!, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
I'd always wanted this encyclopaedia. I'm not a chef but love cooking and I am always fascinated by techniques that I know nothing about. This tome is huge and is fantastic for just leaving around so you can just pick it up and read random facts about anything of culinary significance - whether its some miniscule fact about what the Romans called cheese or butchery facts about cuts of meat you've never heard of! This book perfectly complements the aspirational dreamworld that wannabe chefs and kitchen geeks inhabit and, interspersed with episodes of "pan-porn" as my family have christened my drooling over casserole dishes and gleaming Maslin pans in shop windows, this book is a fabulous addition to anyone's kitchen bookshelf. If nothing else it is heavy enough and deep enough to provide you with a small step up to reach obscure ingredients that you rarely use from the topshelf of your cupboard! More importantly, this is a treasure of knowledge and inspiration that could turn a dilettante cook like me into something much more substantial and competent in the kitchen! The only misleading thing about the book was it's endorsement by Gordon Ramsay who said it was "The first recipe book I took seriously...a great resource throughout my career"...I didn't find a single swear word so that was a relief. A beautiful book and now one of my treasured possessions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 18 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
A wonderful all-embracing reference work. It's almost impossible to look up a single cuisine topic because your eye is caught by so many other interesting entries. Fortunately, it is too physically heavy to be "unputable down".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5stars, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
Best present that I got for my best friend. I would highly recommend the book to anyone. This is a the bible if cooking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larousse Gastronomique, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
This is the very best book for information you could possible read, anything you could every wish to know is in there as well as receipts and how to prepare
produce. Because of the excellent quality of the information I have recommended this book to several trainee chefs. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impresssive, 25 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
Well, it looks the part, the reviews seem to be on the front of box cover and the title on the back not sure why this is. lovely casing, beautiful writing. If you know what you buying then you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strictly for the gourmet, 2 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
As to be expected this is strictly for the gourmet. Everything you ever wanted to know about any type of food will be revealed here. I use it more as a reference guide when I am uncertain as to an ingredient that may be required with which I am unfamiliar. It's a fascinating tome of information. If there was one thing I would like to see added it's perhaps some small photographs to accompany the text. It would definitely make it a tad more appealing. That said, it's a plus for any serious cook's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larousse, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Larousse Gastronomique (Hardcover)
I have followed Larousse for quite a number of years and have editions dating back to 1969. As ever when I read the revised versions I am continually impressed by the ability of the editors in keeping it up to date with current trends, without compromising the original intentions. As a keen cook I find Larousse invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews