Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
With a plot line, yet again full of the familiar surprises and shocks of the other books in the series, Colossus of Rhodes is the best Roman Mystery yet!
Following the journey taken by the by now familiar four children, Lupus, Nubia, Jonathon and Flavia we find conspirisy, secrets and adventure lurking in every corner. Lupus is very much the focused character in...
Published on 22 Mar 2005 by roo_rules_da_school

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting...
Book 9 of the Roman Mysteries series is another good read, Caroline Lawrence takes us this time on a boat ride to Rhodes with a slave dealer taking innocent children away- will Flavia, Jonathon, Nubia and Lupus be able to save them? As always a good sequel to the series however possibly not the best book by Caroline Lawrence.
Published on 3 Feb 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Mar 2005
With a plot line, yet again full of the familiar surprises and shocks of the other books in the series, Colossus of Rhodes is the best Roman Mystery yet!
Following the journey taken by the by now familiar four children, Lupus, Nubia, Jonathon and Flavia we find conspirisy, secrets and adventure lurking in every corner. Lupus is very much the focused character in this book as it follows his emotions towards the others and to his quest to find his mother. Following on from the other Roman Mystery books doesnt bare a problem, as it is an independant story on its own but I would recommend reading Dolphins of Laurentum to fully appreciate this book. You are captivated by the characters, intrigued by the plot and left guessing till the end. This book is a definite 5 stars a perfect read that I enjoyed it from cover to cover and made me crave the next in the series! Absolutely Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!!!!!!!!, 19 July 2005
By 
Yusra "Yusra" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
The collosus of rhodes is a great book for all ages. Caroline Lawrence makes the plot very easy to understand just like JK Rowling's Harry Potter series! Before you read this book its best to read The dolphins of laurentum because it will help you understand the past of Lupus's life! This book's main focus is on Lupus and it mostly takes place in a ship! But while on the ship Flavia, Jonathan, Nubia, and Lupus discover that there is yet another mystery for them to be solved at where the Delphina is going! This book was awesome! Ever since I got it, I've been reading it over and over again! I have an older brother who just hates reading!! But when he read the first chapter of the collosus of rhodes, he wouldn't even let me read it!! He kept hiding it from me so only he could read it!!!!!!!!! Caroline Lawrence is great! i cant wait to read the next book in the series!!!!!!! The suspence is killing me!! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNMISSABLE, 19 Oct 2007
This is another brilliant, fast-paced story from the fabulous Roman Mysteries series. Hear of how the four friends - Flavia, Jonathan, Lupus and Nubia - embark on a terrifying journey from Ostia to Rhodes. Along the way they meet Lupus's Grandparents, Gaius Valerius Flaccus, Marcus Antonius Bato and many others. See if you can work out how to crack the slave-dealing ring.

Read this amazing book to find out why Flavia is reduced to tears over a ship's boy, Nubia is afraid of going below deck, Lupus finds himself on an exile island and Jonathan puts a dislocated arm back in place. Can the detectives solve this puzzle while Lupus has his own mystery to reveal?

You will not be able to put this book down until all of the elements of this mystery are resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome book in this amazingly gripping series!, 24 Oct 2005
By 
Mrs. Wendy A. D. Shepperson "wshepperson" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Roman Mysteries crew have taken to the seas!
The Colossus of Rhodes is the first Roman mysteries book to be set away from the land, but it has a surprising and varied plot like the sea itself.
I have enjoyed all of the roman mysteries so far and this is one of the best! It has the characteristic suspense that makes the stories so gripping and it features a return of all our favourite characters as well as some new ones.
As with all the books this one is centred around one of the four friends. It is Lupus turn. Lupus is a very interesting character and you can't help but want to know more about him. In this book we hear about his home island and about what has happened to his mother since she lost Lupus. The shame with some of the other books in the series is that they over look the other three friends and focus on the main character. Not in this one. Yes there is a lot of information on Lupus but all of the friends have a small story of their own; Flavia, Nubia and Jonathon (who's welcome return to the others makes this book as good as some of the earlier ones.) This book is also very enjoyable because all of the friends play a part in helping to solve the gripping mystery.
If you want to read this book then I suggest that you read the other books in the series so far as otherwise some of the information might be a bit confusing and the plot may not be as strong. But if you don't want to read the others then go ahead and read this book because it is FANTASTIC!! It has humour, suspense and best of all it's a Caroline Lawrence mystery.
Also these books are very good for accurate, historical information. I am a GCSE history student and some of the information I have learnt from these books has proved invaluable.
The next instalment in this great series is coming out soon and I understand that it is one of the best yet; I can't wait to get hold of it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Janet Lucas (Lisburn N.I) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The best books I've ever read!!! My favourite characters are Flavia and Jonathan they make a great pair and don't argue very often. I love the way the characters are described especially Miriam. I love Roman history and Greek myths the Roman Mysteries are perfect for that. I'd recommend these books to all history lovers!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good but obvious, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can work out who the villain is on board the boat quite quickly but it doesn`t matter as the rest of the story moves at a good pace and the fact that there is unresolved business at the end is good as it makes you want to keep reading the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This book is brilliant. I have read the others in the series that are already published and this one continues the great adventures. I love the books they are super!!!!!!!! :):)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!:), 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Colossus of Rhodes (THE ROMAN MYSTERIES Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
It is such a good book because you really get to know the characters and all of clues in the book all come together at the end. I would recommend this to all of my friends. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Mar 2005
With a plot line, yet again full of the familiar surprises and shocks of the other books in the series, Colossus of Rhodes is the best Roman Mystery yet! You are captivated by the characters, intrigued by the plot and left guessing till the end. This book is a definite 5 stars a perfect read that I enjoyed it from cover to cover and made me crave the next in the series! Absolutely Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting..., 3 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Book 9 of the Roman Mysteries series is another good read, Caroline Lawrence takes us this time on a boat ride to Rhodes with a slave dealer taking innocent children away- will Flavia, Jonathon, Nubia and Lupus be able to save them? As always a good sequel to the series however possibly not the best book by Caroline Lawrence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews