Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Monkey Ball 3D
It's hard to write a review for this game. This game wowed me initially. The 3D effects are stunning. The graphics are excellent and the game is pretty good fun. Gameplay is great, and really starts to pull you in...at world seven...there are seven worlds. This is the game's downfall. I have completed this game in just 3 hours. Within that 3 hours I would say I have spent...
Published on 27 Mar. 2011 by Vheissu

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in content
Super Monkey Ball 3D is fun initially, but ends way too soon. The main portion of the game is the Challenge mode, where you must guide your monkey to the goal by tilting the playing field. The total amount of levels is 80, which sounds high enough, but is not. The Challenge mode is ruined by being way too easy and offers hardly any challenge to the average player. In...
Published on 19 April 2011 by kharing


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Monkey Ball 3D, 27 Mar. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
It's hard to write a review for this game. This game wowed me initially. The 3D effects are stunning. The graphics are excellent and the game is pretty good fun. Gameplay is great, and really starts to pull you in...at world seven...there are seven worlds. This is the game's downfall. I have completed this game in just 3 hours. Within that 3 hours I would say I have spent half an hour trying the mini games, fighting and racing (neither are much good when compared to mario kart ds or super smash bros.) I would rather they had ditched these games and add more levels to an otherwise great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 3 Aug. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Purchased for 8 year old daughter. She says it is fun and enjoys playing on it. The 3D works on it but it makes it a little harder but when battling, she puts 3d on as it makes it more exciting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 5 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Personally, I love this game. The story mode is a little on the short (and easy) side but with friends, this game comes to life. There is also racing and fighting minigames there to keep you occupied. A game to consider in months to come when the prices have dropped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in content, 19 April 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Super Monkey Ball 3D is fun initially, but ends way too soon. The main portion of the game is the Challenge mode, where you must guide your monkey to the goal by tilting the playing field. The total amount of levels is 80, which sounds high enough, but is not. The Challenge mode is ruined by being way too easy and offers hardly any challenge to the average player. In addition, the game is completed in a few hours.

Sega has attempted to provide longevity to the game by including two other game modes, Monkey Race and Monkey Fight. Unfortunately, they are little more than a curiosity and suffer from unresponsive controls. The home console versions have had way more minigames and it is a shame that the 3DS version falls short in this department. Just by including Monkey Target minigame, Super Monkey Ball 3D would have easier time living up to its price tag.

I bought this game mainly to have something to demonstrate the 3D display of 3DS. In this sense, Super Monkey Ball 3D manages quite well. The depth in levels is impressive at moments and overall the visuals are clean.

Among the worse games in the Monkey Ball series, Super Monkey Ball 3D is a title that was rushed to be completed in time for the 3DS launch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dead franchise, 30 Aug. 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Oh dear, oh dear. What have Sega done to the monkey ball franchise. The monkey ball game on the DS was by far the worst in the franchise when it first came out, which was a huge disappointment for me. So naturally, I figured that Sega would have learnt their lesson in the 3DS version. But how wrong I was. So what did I like about the game? It is much easier to start with what I do like about it. The graphics are nice, but nothing spectacular. That is it, that is the only shinning point that this game has going for it. The two mini games are both awful clones of Mario kart and super smash bros. And as for the main campaign, I completed it in 1 hour and 10 mins. That is it. It is extremely easy, no matter which control scheme you choose to use.

The courses are simplistic, and this is another huge Sega mis-hit and disappointment. Avoid this game unless you are a massive fan of the franchise and even so, get it only if you can find it for about £5 or less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but no way challenging enough, 3 April 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I love super monkey ball. Its a fun game and for the first time, the 3D effects really add to the visuals. This version of the game has 8 worlds and 80 levels in total. There are also two bonus games, monkey race and monkey fight. Monkey race is quite good and a lot of fun, but monkey fight is disappointing. The problem with the game is its no where challenging enough. The levels are fairly easy to complete even in world 7 and world 8. More levels are also needed. Its too short and I completed the game in 3-4 hours. If the game had been twice in terms of number of levels and more challenging to complete, then I would have given this 5 stars as the graphics and gameplay are excellent but its just way too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, 28 April 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I loved this game on the wii and so i bought this one for the 3ds.
I loved tjhe controls on the wii. they tried to do the same on the 3ds so you can move the ball by inclining the 3ds.
The problem is when you incline the 3ds the angle between the screen and your eyes and you cannot see well the 3D effect....
The other thing... the ball game is short only 8 worlds whit 10 levels each. it's a 4-5 hours game.
We have to say that there are the fighting and the driving game in it too.
The racing game is similar to mario kart, but no online :-(
the fighting is similar to Smash Bros Brawl...
I don't like this two very much...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars super monkeyball 3d, 28 Jan. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
fast delivery,condition as described....my daughter loves this game,shes 8yr old.its keeping her entertained as well as other family members lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't make the mistake of comparing it to the Gamecube classics, 1 July 2012
By 
S. Heap - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I bought this game, mainly because I didn't like the 3DS launch lineup but also because the Gamecube Super Monkey Balls were really good arcade fun. This game is nothing like them. It is very short, never gets even remotely difficult and the extra games feel like there was not much effort put in to them, being uninspired rip-offs of Smash Bros and Mario Kart, that aren't much fun to play.

Maybe very young children might enjoy this game, but other than that, avoid it at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It is ok., 25 July 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I only got it as it was cheap and I thought it would show off the 3d to good effect. In all honestly, the game is a bit too simple and a bit too fast to appreciate the 3d. You are always going round corners and changing direction which makes it a bit hard on the eyes. The two other mini games are ok but not as good as the games they try to emulate.

One to avoid. Unless of course you are the age it is aimed at, in which case it is probably great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Monkey Ball 3D (Nintendo 3DS)
£9.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews