Shop now Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

87
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 29 January 2012
First off, I have only played four episodes so far, (5 hours 11 minutes to be precise), although I have played enough games in the series, and video games in general to hopefully make an effective commentary. I have a penchant for this style of game and was looking forward to this.

The graphics really are excellent, definitely the best I have seen on the 3DS, and the 3D is great. Although I could not handle the very strong 3D setting, I used the next one down. There are a couple of frame rate issues mainly when doors opening are disguising loading times or when there are a lot of enemies on screen, but nothing that ruins the experience.

I personally think the only way to play this is in solitude when it is dark, lights off, and with headphones. It adds to the atmosphere enormously, and the sound is superb. The tension building music and effects are really nerve racking and complement the on screen action.

The controls are fine, I have the circle pad pro, but it isn't necessary to enjoy the game at all. Although when I tried it I couldn't assign different functions to different buttons/circle pads, it seems to just give you one unalterable default method. But if you have played Resident Evil before, the controls are more akin to the older games (1-3) then number four. Initially I thought the Genesis (the scanner item) was going to be a bug bear, but as you are always in need of ammo and get items for scanning monsters, it really does help. It also creates a dilemma of going into a potentially dangerous room equipped with the threat less scanner, or the firepower of a shotgun.

The splitting of the story into episodes has garnered some criticism from reviews. But I think it is great. I like the tense nervousness of the ship being supplemented by the more Assault on Precinct 13 style action settings, where the action is more frantic and great fun. The cheesiness of the voice acting and phrases is great: it reminds you that this is a zombie (I know they aren't zombies in the game) movie scenario and not everyone is a serious character in this situation.

The presentation is excellent and the recaps at the beginning of each play are very copasetic, adding to the movie like feel you get when playing the game.

I haven't even tried the online style raid sections, but from what I have read, they appear to be a game within themselves, a deeper and better experience than mercenaries.

Overall if you like the horror genre and playing in such a survival scenario, coupled with B-Move style humorous dialogue infused sections, and want to be scared, this is 100% recommended.

Great showcase for the 3DS; it has really raised the bar for first and third party efforts on the system.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 7 January 2013
A pretty solid hybrid of the RE4/5 action game style, and the earlier survival horror style - and possibly the most technically advanced 3DS game yet.

The level design is mostly excellent, the aboard ship levels in particular are superb.
The controls work very well, with or without a circle pad pro.

But some flaws do drag it down significantly.

The story and dialogue are awful - the cheesy B-movie feel of the early games, wore off long ago, and nowadays the quality of writing just comes across as insultingly bad - I don't know whether it's deliberate, or a problem of translation - but it just annoys rather than amuses now.

Having a sidekick with you, detracts from the scary atmosphere, a lesson that wasn't learned from RE5.

You have to complete the single player game to unlock the multiplayer mode - that's just a really stupid decision - can you imagine a AAA Cod or Battlefield title being released that doesn't allow access to multiplayer out of the box?

The mutant creatures are quite well designed - but they do act as bullet sponges, which feels a step back from zombies reacting to shots hitting different areas.

And the enemies, really do lack the same primal fear factor of human zombies.

Minor point perhaps - but really annoyed me - the rifle uses a 3D telescopic sight - did nobody in development stop and think about that?
Telescopic sights can't work properly in 3D - the reason a telescopic sight works on a real gun, is that you look through it with ONE EYE - and therefore see a clear 2D view of the target with a targeting dot/crosshair on it.
In 3D - it means you either have to focus your eyes on the target, and have 2 blurry foreground dots, which you line up either side of what you want to hit - or you focus on the dot, and have a blurry double image of your target in the background and have to get them either side of the dot.
Really basic stuff, with the developers seeming not to understand how 3D works.

Faults aside - it's a fun game, and one of the best 3DS titles, and certainly a vastly better game then RE5 or 6, but not in the same league as the classics like 1,2 and 4.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 28 January 2012
I've been playing the game for more than an hour and so far I am very impressed. I haven't played a Resident Evil game before so I didn't know what to expect. The first thing you will notice is that this game has the best graphics on the 3ds so far. Actually, it probably has the best graphics on a handheld device.
The 3d effect is very good in my opinion, although I have read criticism on some forums. It has 3 levels of intensity: normal, strong and very strong. I prefer the highest setting.
The music in the game is also of high quality. Coupled with the graphics, cutscenes and voice acting, unpredictable scenes, the perfect horror-movie atmosphere is created. Yes, the game is very scary, you might want to play it with the lights on.
Overall the gameplay seems good, the story quite captivating and the difficulty probably above average. For those new to Resident Evil, it doesn't involve only monster shooting and surviving, but also some puzzle solving. For those who have played Silent Hill, it seems quite similar.
The only thing which I didn't like that much was the control. I can't say whether the controls are good or bad, but it took me a while to get used to them. I have the Circle Pad Pro, but I haven't tried it yet.
Anyway, these are just my first impressions so take this review with a pinch of salt. I would recommend this game, but maybe you should consider waiting for more opinions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 7 June 2014
Great game, just be aware that the copy supplied is for Australia / New Zealand. This is no problem for using the game in a European 3DS as it is exactly the same, but does mean that you can't register the Star Points with Club-Nintendo in the UK. Perhaps this should be made clear in the description!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 8 January 2015
Already owned this game on Wii U and thought it was great.
Playing it on 3DS XL however, takes things to a whole new level!
The 3D effect is fabulous and really adds to the survival horror experience.
I'd say you really must have the Circle Pro attachment though, or you'll struggle.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
They always said that they couldn't put games like 'Resident Evil' onto DS but they were wrong. This was excellent and fulfilling. The game is long and exciting and the characters all likeable. The sound is superb especially with headphones and the graphics are life like.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2012
Capcom have made the best looking game for the 3ds so far it looks amazing. I been playing Resident Evil: Revelatons on the edge of my seat late at night and at times I have nearly jumped out my skin. This is the most creepy game I have played since Silent Hill 2 on the PS2. The story is very gripping and atmospheric. You get to play as Jill Valentine and Chris Redfied during different stages of the game. Along your way you will have either Parker Luciani or the very hot looking Jessica Sherwat helping you out, depending on who you are playing as with each mission.
The monsters in this game are very nasty looking and if you don't mind spending a bit more money for better controls then I highly recommend the Circle Pad Pro (Nintendo 3DS). Overall Resident Evil: Revelatons is a must have game for the 3ds especially if you are a big fan of Resident Evil 4 like myself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 23 March 2013
Im going to keep this plain and simple. Got this game with my 3ds Xl 8 months ago. Im still playing it.

Campaign mode - Brilliant!

Raid Mode - Brilliant!

Online Raid Mode - Brilliant!

Graphics - Best I have seen on a 3ds thus far.

Sound - Very good, adds to the scariness of the game.

Controls - Never really had a problem with only one analogue pad, they work quite well.

OVERALL - This game is a must buy for any 3ds owner, DEFINITELY one of the best games on the system with plenty of re-play value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 28 February 2012
As the title suggests if you don't like horror, or being scared isn't your idea of fun, then turn away. I found in the first few minutes that I had already jumped on multiple occasions and even though the story lasted about 6hrs there is still Raid mode to play which is extremely fun and extends the games replay ability a lot. Finally if you really want a challenge try the story on Hell mode, you may get to keep your weapons from playing through the story before but will find your running out of ammo much faster against more powerful enemies, it takes a master to beat this (such as me :D).This is a great addition to the Resident Evil series and one that truly returns to its horror roots, a must buy for the 3DS!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 5 February 2012
Forgive me if I sound somewhat behind the times while presenting this review. While the PSone Resident Evils do have a fond place in my heart, the last "new" game I bought in the highly popular survival horror series (prior to this one) was RE Code: Veronica X on the PS2, and that was about a decade ago. After that...we just drifted apart, like two friends going their separate ways after their time at school is finished. But as the saying goes "You can't keep a top dog down" and I decided to try and catch up on the RE scare-a-minute business with Resident Evil Revelations, kind of like those two old school friends meeting up for the first time in years and catching up on their lives over a cup of tea in a local café.

Resident Evil Revelations takes place sometime around 2005, after the events of Resident Evil 4. RE icons Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine now work for BSAA - Bioterrorism Security Assessment Alliance, a company trying to stop terrorist groups from spreading monster viruses all over towns and cities. Basically their motto is "If it's got tentacles coming out of its mouth, it has to be shot." Anyway the game starts with Chris apparently going AWOL , and Jill and BSAA partner Parker Luciani searching a mysterious ship out at sea that's believed to be run by a terrorist group. The story as a whole is trademark RE horror mixed with politics, all with a couple sprinklings of twists. To try and explain it all to you now would be like trying to play snooker with a drinks can; virtually impossible. Instead I'm just gonna say "sit back and enjoy the ride."

RER is a beautifully presented game. The Campaign mode is the main place to go. The whole story is split into episodes, meaning you can play the game in small bite-sized chunks (game saves are automatic) before taking a break. But if you want to you can still be hardcore and try and complete the game in one sitting. Furthermore every time you start a new episode you're shown a brief "Previously on..." segment showing brief clips of what happened in the previous episode, making it feel more like a typical US drama and earning extra marks in the presentation department.

The gameplay consists of classic RE components such as finding keys to unlock doors, green herbs for healing, and hunting down better weapons to boost your chances of survival. But it's combined with a more modern convenient gaming feel. First off, the camera sits behind the shoulder of the playable character and follows them everywhere they go, and admittedly it does feel more convenient and flexible than the PSone games. Meanwhile damage is indicated by bloodstains around the top screen. The more damage you've taken, the more bloodstained the screen. But a simple tap of the A button will heal you back to normal, providing of course you have some green herbs. Meanwhile the map and inventory are displayed neatly on the touch screen, meaning that pausing the game should be at a minimum, even when that vindaloo you had for tea forces you to dash for the bathroom!

The control setup is very good for the 3DS. Movements are made with the analogue stick, while weapons options (switching, reloading, etc.) are assigned to the D-pad. It took me a bit of time to get used to the D-pad controls (a lot of times I would accidently switch weapons when I only wanted to reload my current one) but after a while they felt comfortable. Aiming can be done by holding down the R shoulder button and using the analogue stick, and then pressing the Y button to fire. It feels so easy; so flexible; so smooth. Lovely.

Interesting use is made of the touch screen. Most of the time it displays maps of areas, but at certain points you'll need to whip out your stylus and use the screen to complete mini puzzles, such as completing circuits in order to open certain doors. The puzzles are quite clever, but they can get a little bit repetitive. I would've liked to have seen a little more variation in the number of different types of puzzles you come across.

The graphics for the most part are great. They run smoothly both in the game and during cutscenes; the characters' mouth movements and facial expressions are quite neat; and there's plenty of impressive detail, particularly in the designs of the monsters. It's especially gruesome how some of the earlier monsters can grab you and start trying to munch away at your face. It's like Futurama's Dr.Zoidberg trying to give you a French kiss. There is however some pretty bad slowdown in certain doorways as the game loads up new rooms. They're not frequent, but they may annoy those who are looking to complete the game in the fastest time possible.

The atmosphere and the monsters that create that atmosphere are simply terrifying, and not just because they're trying to eat you. These monsters were once human beings, and some of them may still have a human conscience. The next bit is something of a story SPOILER, so skip to the next paragraph if you don't like that sort of thing...!...Still here? OK, listen up. One of the monsters you come across is called Rachel who was once a human being and an agent who came onto the ship to complete a mission. You have to floor Rachel in order to grab a key off of her so you can access other areas on a ship. But as you shoot her, if you listen carefully you can hear her distorted voice screaming "It hurts!...IT HURTS!!!!" It's very disturbing I must say.

When you're done with your Campaign, or you're simply taking a break from it, you can then check out the Raid Mode where so much gameplay depth can be found. Here you play through a series of stages in a sort of arcade styled game, shooting enemies before reaching the goal. Your performance is then graded between S and C. Rewards include new weapons, weapon upgrades and BP currency to buy new stuff from the store. It can be a case of "Decisions, decisions" at times regarding the upgrades. Should you go for more power? (duh!) Or what about a better fire rate? (shotguns can be slow firing sometimes) Or perhaps a bigger load capacity? (that and your machine gun would make great bed fellows) In any case it all provides welcome depth to the game.

The stages can be played either on your own or with a partner. The 2-Player game can be played either by Local Play or you can go online and search for a fellow horror survivor to help you get through the stages. I myself managed to find a couple of players willing to try a spot of teamwork with me. The end results? A little untidy in places, but we got the job done and I got the required grades. The latter stages in Raid Mode can be very difficult. So much so that a 2-Player game is pretty much essential to completing all the stages and with S rankings.

There are no "major" faults with RER. It has a great story; enjoyable gameplay; a scary atmosphere; and some really ugly monsters. But there's just a little part of me that misses the old classic zombies. Sure fights with tall knight-like enemies with lances and shields are nerve wracking; but in terms of scare factor nothing beats a large group of undead brainless people with rotting flesh, still wearing shirts and jeans, moaning for the fresh succulent taste of human brains.

As far as the RE series is concerned nothing will ever beat the PSone games, at least in my opinion. But Resident Evil Revelations is a gut wrenching, vomit inducing, outstanding game in its own right and it's great to see Chris and Jill back in the saddle once again. It's a more-than-worthy 3DS purchase, but a word of warning: This is NOT for the weak of heart.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate (Nintendo 3DS)
Batman: Arkham Origins Blackgate (Nintendo 3DS) by Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment (Nintendo 3DS)
£6.69
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.