Customer Reviews


342 Reviews
5 star:
 (288)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 250+ Hours and still playing!
Okay, okay... I'm a a huge Mario Kart fan! Give me a break! But I'm here to discuss the features of this slick racing game with you.

SINGLE PLAYER MODE

Grand Prix - Race in various cups, consisting of four different courses. There are 8 cups in total which means (if you do the maths) there are 32 tracks in total to play. The good thing about Grand...
Published on 3 April 2012 by Ollie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mariokart 7
The overall game is very good but is too easy to complete as i got it and completed it in 3 days without playing nonstop. Also, it is very similar to the last game only it's in 3D. Apart from all this, when you play online versus and before you complete it, it is good.
Published 18 months ago by e123s


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 250+ Hours and still playing!, 3 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Okay, okay... I'm a a huge Mario Kart fan! Give me a break! But I'm here to discuss the features of this slick racing game with you.

SINGLE PLAYER MODE

Grand Prix - Race in various cups, consisting of four different courses. There are 8 cups in total which means (if you do the maths) there are 32 tracks in total to play. The good thing about Grand Prix is that it's basically a tournament, competing in an attempt to grasp that 1st place position with that grand total of 40 points (10 for each win) we all crave so much!

Time Trials - Choose your best Kart, Wheel and Glider combination to perform a record-breaking 3-lap wonder which you can share with your friends via Streetpass and Online rivals via Spotpass. This is also a brilliant way to master those courses that you always seem to crumble on in Online races against those dreaded Japanese racers!

Balloon Battle - This was first introduced on Mario Kart 64, I believe. The aim of balloon battle is to hit your opponents with as many items as possible. Each item which successfully hits your opponent will remove a balloon from their collection of three. Your only opponents available in single player are the CPU players.

Coin Battle - Collect as many coins as possible and protect yourself from enemy attacks but also sneakily fire items at your opponents to steal their coins. Once they're hit, coins will jump out of their kart (given that they have some)

LOCAL MULTIPLAYER

Local multiplayer is available for 2-8 players simultaneously. From this mode you select 'Create a Group' and wait for your friends to join your group. Once your friends have arrived, you're ready to go! You should then choose your kart combination, then be given the option to play Grand Prix, Single Race, Balloon Battle or Coin Battle. The same rules apply in single race to grand prix, except the choice of the courses are entirely based on a roulette of the tracks each player has selected. The winner is decided once four races are complete.

ONLINE MULTIPLAYER

This mode utilizes the Nintendo Network. Options within this category are:

Worldwide - Race against up to 7 others random racers online within your skill level. Your skill level is based on your 'VR' which I believe stands for 'Virtual Rating', which initially starts at 1,000. But, don't worry about decreasing in VR, when you win you gain approximately 10-20 VR and if you finish in 8th position you'll only lose a maximum of 5 VR. So fear not! Also, if you join a game which happens to be full, you will enter 'Spectator Mode' in which you can watch a participant of the race from various angles.

Friends/Opponents - This feature is new to the handheld Mario Kart series, and is Semi-New to the series as a whole. This feature allows you to join a friend's current game as long as you have their friend code added to your 3DS. Also, here comes the best part... Let's say you race in a Worldwide game against a really fast opponent, and you're really determined to beat him/her, but you no longer have the time, so you have to come offline... Well, you can race that opponent again because they get saved to the 'Opponent' list, and when they're online, you can feel free to race them.

Communities - This feature can be used for Online friend-only games, Clan matches or Friendly Community races, for example IGN, the popular game resource site, to access their community, just enter the follow code: '60-2240-3145-6926' you will probably find that there are always people playing in this group, so if you haven't joined a community already, this could be your first one! Exciting, huh?

MARIO KART CHANNEL

This feature mainly uses Streetpass and Spotpass to communicate with friends and people who you pass by. It allows you to create your own Mario Kart 7 profile, and share your favourite kart combination, your favourite courses in the form of a Grand Prix, your time trial records and you can even share a message with people you Streetpass! Also, using Spotpass, you will receive recommended communities and Ghosts for each course, used in time trial mode.

Time for the pros and cons:

PROS

- Hours of fun (I've already played over 250 hours).
- 8 Player Local Multiplayer and Online Multiplayer
- Music provides a nostalgic feel as well and a fresh one
- A stable online network
- Addictive online multiplayer and ranking system, I currently have over 25,000 VR
- Option to use your Mii as a playable character (has to be unlocked)
- Several unlockables, including characters and kart parts give you many reasons to continue playing for a while
- The addition of travelling through water and air
- Brand new items, Fire Flower, Super Leaf and Lucky Seven.
- The CPU players are intelligent enough to take shortcuts
- Endless fun with friends

CONS

- There are a few glitches that let the game down a bit. I'll warn you before you play. 'Wuhu Mountain Loop' and 'Wuhu Island Loop' both have shortcut glitches in which the characters jump into the water at a certain part of the race and end up 30 seconds in front of everybody else.
- No option to do single race on single player
- No Waluigi as a playable character.

I'd honestly recommend this game to anybody. Nintendo never fail to keep me entertained. They've done well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Kart 7 is awesome., 10 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Not only does Mario Kart 7 stay true to form with it's awesome gameplay, it innovates with new kart design, new terrain and a new way to play. The 3D adds to the game using minimal but effective use of 3D, creating awesome atmosphere and depth. A must have for 3DS owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saviour to the 3DS!, 3 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I've had the 3DS since release and after much waiting, have finally received this game! Mario Kart 7 and Super Mario 3D Land have brought the 3DS to life instead of those not so good 3rd party games.

Mario Kart 7 is an AMAZING game, it's bright, vibrant and will have your mouth wide open when you race on your first course. The graphics aren't as good as the Wii's but the 3DS produces quality lighting and shading effects which make it look much better than on Mario Kart Wii.

The glider is a nice way to cruise through the course and you'll feel like a fan boy remembering all the GameCube, Wii, N64 and SNES courses. The music on this game is also very appealing, has me turning my volume way up.

With every game like this though, I believe that playing with other people (friends and online) is what pushes the game to it's peak. With a Mario game you never know when a blue shell will come and hit you right at the finish line or a lightning bolt striking you down from your glider at the worst possible moment and this adds to the excitement... As well as frustration when you know victory was in your almighty grasp!

The only downside I'd say is that there's a lack of characters. I'd of loved to see the baby characters, Dry Bones, Toadette, Diddy Kong etc. But it makes up for it in a sense with new characters and your own Mii Character which looks far better than the Mii racer on Mario Kart Wii, so treat yourself, siblings or children for Christmas.

Get gliding, diving and screaming; enjoy all the courses, new and old, but for those that fear Rainbow Road beware, there are two Rainbow Roads in this game - MWUHAHAHAHA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Mario Kart Yet!, 13 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This game really does all the other Mario Kart games justice, and the 3D function works really well and looks lovely! Although one downside is that when using the gyro feature it makes 3D gameplay quite hard to see as you need to be straight on, but that's really nothing at all as the 3D feature can easily be switched off!

The new levels stick to the typical Mario Karts style, there are also some new weapons along with the old ones.

The online feature is also great to race other people!

I would advise anybody to also buy the 3DS wheel to use with this game Mario Kart 7 Wheel (Nintendo 3DS)

All in all another great game from nintendo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late comer to Mario Kart, 19 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is the first of the Mario Kart games that I have ever played, and I'm beginning to wonder why it's taken me this long! The controls and objectives of the game are very simple so it is easy to pick up and get straight into. Even for a complete beginner like myself!

The 3D effects are wonderful and the colours very rich and bright.

So far I've competed in lots of Grand Prix's, updated my Go Kart and completed in a couple of online races...of which I came firmly last!

All in all one of the best games I've played on the 3DS, or any console for that fact! Due to it being very fun and easy to get into it will be one of those games I always come back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Mario Kart game on any hand held console yet and this game is also the main reason why my family wanted a 3ds too!, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My six year old daughter loves this game so much that every time she sees me playing it I get kicked off because she wants to play instead of me. Anyway Mario Kart 7 brings back the coins that were used in the very first Mario Kart game on SNES which is now 20 years ago! By collecting the coins your cart goes faster and another intresting fact is the first eight racers are the same ones from Super Mario Kart on the SNES too which are Mario, Luigi, Peach, Donkey Kong, Toad, Bowser, Koopa Troopa and Yoshi. Later on you can play as your Mii and the super cool Metal Mario at long last. The 3D effect in Mario Kart 7 is excellent and I love the new hang glider sections and the underwater parts of the tracks are pretty cool too. You can use the L or X buttons to fire the weapons and we have got the fire flower at last! The other two new items are the Super Leaf which gives you a tail and you can attack the other drivers with it and the very rare Lucky Seven which equips you with seven different items simultaneously.
You can steer your kart two different ways by using the stick or if you switch the game into cockfit view point by pressing the d-pad button upwards, you are able to steer when tilting your 3DS like Mario Kart on the Wii for intense racing fun. The new tracks are some of the best yet and I get to race the Kalimari Desert track from the classic N64 Mario Kart game at long last again. Another good reason for collecting the coins as you race around the different tracks by the way is that the more coins you have enables you to unlock new kart parts.
Playing Mario Kart 7 is even more fun online or against a friend whom has the game on their 3DS too. Only Nintendo seem to be able to make games that are just as fun 20 years ago again and again, and that really shows how their games stand the test of time unlike many other games over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome game!!, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This game is so much better than the last one. The graphics are so much more better, the carts are better and though some of the courses are the same from the last one the new couses are incredible! I love the game, it is so addictive and hard to put down. The idea of them putting the coins in can be slightly frustrating, as when you get hit you loose so many coins and you have to collect more to unlock new carts, objects to help you race (hand gliders parachutes etc) and also different tyres that can speed up your car, or help with handling, etc. Though that part is frustrating the game is incredible, and I love it. I can see why it was difficult to get the game, it was worth the money. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys racing, likes the mario characters and likes to have a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and enjoyable iteration, 28 Jan. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Personally speaking it's been a long time since I've played a Mario Kart game (since the N64), I thought it had become quite stale and dull (Honestly speaking not a big fan of the series, Mario and games like that) but this game is actually enjoyable.
Firstly it offers 16 playable characters, 8 of which are available to you from the start (First game in the series, I believe that features a playable Lakitu) and of course the characters are divided into weight classes. There are 32 tracks, 16 new and 16 classic aka slightly remade tracks from previous games. You can now customise your cars which are mostly unlocked by winning the different series. The customisable parts are of different weights and have different bonuses for your ride. There are gyroscope controls which honestly speaking I'm not super fond of, there are ramps from where you can hang-glide and get ahead of the competition. It has spotpass and streetpass activities, in streetpass you can set your racing challenge for others and try to win their cup while in spotpass you can compete with others globally or try a series and beat the best ghost times of players from across the world. I believe it's the first game where you can drive underwater.

One of the better features is the 'communities' feature. Here you can make small groups akin to steam groups so you can play with people you know. You can join multiple communities afaik and compete with friends or people you've just met and it's far less annoying than the whole friendcode hogwash.

It's definitely a game I can recommend. However I must say that it's still Mario Kart, for those who're looking for a massive leap into a different kind of kart racer, they're going to be disappointed. I've rated it 5 because while I've had fun others in my family have definitely had more fun and it is enjoyable to play with people you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Mario Kart game, 25 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Before I write this review, I am new to the whole Mario Kart thing so I may not get the exact terms and things like that down perfectly but regardless.

I found this racing game to be very good, basically you start by racing in the various cups in the game, eventually progressing to harder, more advanced tracks and along the way, unlocking new characters, accessories and tracks. The point of unlocking the tracks to me would be the multiplayer aspect, if you're playing with friends online it helps to have a decent choice of tracks to choose from.

Online the game has a diverse population, I personally have been in all Japanese games(besides me) random Americans, some UK people, generally speaking if you're looking to play with people from around the world literally, this is perfect.

Although my main character in the game is Princess Peach, I have found that generally speaking your placement in races solely depends on how well you can ultilize the powerups and shortcuts, to me it seems less about skill as one can easily fall from 1st to 7th or 8th quickly enough and recover said position with a few well timed powerups.

Regardless at the moment I think this game is amazing, there is a huge selection of tracks, lots of routes and methods to learn in said tracks, and of course the battle modes, such as collecting coins, popping balloons etc.

Something here for every one in my opinion, and I think this is the best 3DS game on the market at the moment, the 3D effect really amazed me in places, such as gliding with my character accross a pretty big distance with someone behind me, their glider wings kinda popped out the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Game!, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
E. Crane (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Any 90's kid can remember the mario kart games on the SNES and how popular they were and how loved they were and still to this day, people, including me still love mario kart, its a game that never gets old and is always fun and now technology and the advancement in gameplay, playing online with people around the world is really fun and entertaining.

Even if you generally dislike racing games, you'll enjoy this. Its a game where you can just relax and have fun. Plenty of characters to choose from and easily unlock others by collecting coins on the race tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS)
Mario Kart 7 (Nintendo 3DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
£29.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews