Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written, entertaining read!
The other reviews tell you about the story, so I'm just going to limit myself to praising the writing, which is a delight to read, and the storyline - which keeps you turning the pages from beginning to end. The heroine is nicely un-perfect and the hero is adorable! Brilliant!
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Marketlady

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Deadwood
Deadwood is a good title. A disappointing effort by Ann Charles, whom I generally enjoy reading. Except for the steamy sex scene at the very end (heavy sigh) it was 'deadwood'.
Published 7 months ago by Katie M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written, entertaining read!, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The other reviews tell you about the story, so I'm just going to limit myself to praising the writing, which is a delight to read, and the storyline - which keeps you turning the pages from beginning to end. The heroine is nicely un-perfect and the hero is adorable! Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deadwood, open for business., 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I picked up Nearly Departed in Deadwood via a promotion as the murder mystery genre is not one I normally lean towards but I'm always going to give an author I'm new to a chance if they make the effort and I'm pleased I did. The setting of Deadwood seems ideal with it's historical context intact and small time America works well (from these English eyes) and the central characters were a nice mix which is required when the author is leading the reader down a path and trying not to give anything away.
I am delighted to say the story kept me guessing with the usual mix of red herrings and suspicious behaviour by the majority of the residents of the town who surrounded Violet Parker and her two kids and the supernatural element and at times the more mature content fitted well, looking forward to reading the next two books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first of what I believe will be an outstanding series., 19 Jan 2011
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Hoping for a fresh start, single mom, Violet Lynn Parker has moved to Deadwood, South Dakota, and is currently staying with Aunt Zoe. Violet has been working at Calamity Jane Realty for two months and has yet to sell a house. As the story opens, Violet has three weeks to sell a house before she loses her job to Ray Underhill's nephew. Mona Hollister, Violet's coworker, is wonderful and would do anything to help her make a sell. However, chauvinistic Ray continuously puts Violet down to her face, while stealing her clients behind her back.

At home, Violet is doing her best to raise young fraternal twins. Her son, Layne, is showing signs of someday becoming an archaeologist. Aunt Zoe is eager to see what the boy digs up and reassembles from her yard next. Violet's daughter, Adelynn "Addy", has two goals in life. She plans to become a veterinarian and to find her mom a husband. (Not in that order.) When Addy is not rescuing stray animals, she is selling homemade crafts on the sidewalk and using her earnings to place singles ads for her mom in the local newspaper.

Within the last year, three little girls, resembling Addy, have disappeared from the area. Fearing for the safety of her daughter, Violet begins using her (rare) spare time to do some research on the kidnapper. It soon becomes obvious that the villain is still in the area and Violet believes that the father of Addy's new best friend may be involved somehow.

Yet keeping a job must come first. Therefore, Violet is thrilled when Wolfgang Hessler asks her to sell his mother's house which sits in the historic presidential neighborhood. Even better, Wolfgang is very successful jeweler, very handsome, and very attracted to Violet. Then there is Dane "Doc" Nyce, who has Violet showing him several houses. Problem is that Doc hordes his words as if they were made of gold. It is near impossible for Violet to get a straight answer from the man, especially as to what type of house he is searching for. Doc simply enters a house, sniffs around like a bloodhound, and then wants Violet to show him another. Before long, Violet has committed herself to selling a deteriorating haunted house, romantically interested in two male clients, trying to stay sane while raising twins, and cajoled into having a weekly meal with Old Man Harvey. Could her life possibly get any crazier?

***** FIVE STARS! This gem has a bit of everything. I found mystery, romance, comedy, suspense, and even a bit of the paranormal. My synopsis only mentions a couple of the various subplots that the author keeps running in the background. They add flavor and a bit of intrigue to the Deadwood area setting. (This, to me, is already an interesting setting since the surrounding Black Hills are riddled with abandoned mining tunnels.) But it is the unusual cast of characters that really grabs and holds my attention. We have the gossiping old man, the cryptic house hunter, the humorous best friend who is on sabbatical from men, a secret admirer who sends daisies along with creepy poems, a sleazy coworker, and many more.

The main character of Violet is one that women can easily identify with, especially single mothers. Ann Charles has done a terrific job showing how difficult it is for a single woman to juggle life at work and home, while still having a bit of time to date. I found it to be well done and believable. Yet at the same time, the author has added the mystery and suspense that her readers crave. I am happy to state that this title is the first of a series. I cannot wait to see what the future holds for Violet and the eccentric residents of Deadwood. Ann Charles has a winner in Violet Parker. I have a new favorite author in the mystery genre! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable Read, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm English, I know of Deadwood from cowboy movies, Wild Bill, Calamity Jane, "Oklahoma" etc, but where is it? The marvels of modern technology takes me there in an instant with Google Earth. I dropped into Deadwood on 'Street View' in the middle of some kind of motorcycle rally. Lead, Spearfish, Central City, Rapid City can all be seen in the same way.
Ms Charles uses these place as a backdrop for her novels in quite explicit terms and creates the world of Violet Parker and all her associates in most beleivable and realistic way. The plots of her novels can at the least be said to be climatic, leaving you satisfied and satiated.
Recommended Great Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 April 2012
By 
Tina & Sid (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this book although I found it a bit slow to start with hence the 4 stars. I persevered and the book began to take shape. I would recommend this freebie and will read the others by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deadwood has stories to tell, 1 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Nearly Departed in Deadwood by Ann Charles tells the story of Violet Parker, a single mother of twins living with her aunt in Deadwood. Violet is struggling to raise her twin children and get her life on track. She has a job at a Realtor's office and is in desperate need of sale to keep her job. While she has that to worry about she learns that the small town of Deadwood may have a serial kidnapper that chooses victims that are very similar to her daughter. She also meets a couple of men who are looking to buy/sell houses from her and begins to see both of them as potential dating options.

Most of the characters were very well done in this book. The dirty old man who appoints himself as Violet's protector is great for some comic relief. The mysterious home buyer adds a good level of intrigue to the story. The rich man looking to sell his house has money, is handsome, and seems interested in Violet. Her coworkers add depth to the story as well. She has her supportive friend and the chauvinistic jerk who ticked me off every time he was involved in anything.

The story telling kept me in the dark as to what was really happening and I changed my mind several times as the story progressed. If you are interested in mystery/thrillers with a bit of a romantic angle (which I usually am not) this series is something you should definitely check out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Miss K. Frost "Kathy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this light-hearted read - didn't want to put it down. Probably not the most memorable mystery/resolution but I loved the characters, enjoyed learning more about them as the story unfolded and am really pleased that I have this Deadwood series 2 & 3 already lined up on my kindle.
A small problem for me and no doubt other UK readers was some of the Americanisms. Just what exactly is a "birdie"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am in love, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow! This is a really good series to get your teeth into. A racey read, with a good dose of humour to release the tension and suspense. The characters are vivid, and as you are pulled into the plot you can not put it down. Once I had finished it the rest of the series was quickly downloaded and devoured. Violet as the heroine is a girl after my own heart. Go girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nearly departed in deadwood, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed it very much just the easy read to take on holiday ,I enjoyed the humor but also it was a good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Deadwood, 19 May 2014
By 
Katie M "Katie Murphy" (Pembrokeshire Wales UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearly Departed in Deadwood (Deadwood Humorous Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Deadwood is a good title. A disappointing effort by Ann Charles, whom I generally enjoy reading. Except for the steamy sex scene at the very end (heavy sigh) it was 'deadwood'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews