Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEXX - THE COMPLETE SERIES.
in my opinion this is one of the best sci-fi tv series ever made. maybe not every bodys taste given how weird it is. but thats the biggest part of it's charm and apeal with it's quirky and weird sense of humor. i remembered watching it when it was aired on the sci-fi channel and i always looked forward to seeing it each week. now i have the boxset i can see it whenever i...
Published on 7 April 2012 by alpha

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lexx
More Barbarella than Stargate, but quite entertaining.
The disks which were new in original packaging would not all load,(as mentioned by others) they had a film of something on the surface.I washed them in warm water and they all played fine.
Published 15 months ago by Martin Rowe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars In Heaven!, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This has to be the best Sci-Fi ever made!
Cool characters, very crazy story and events, a lot of humor but still very exciting.
Picture and sound ok, but you don't notice things like this after a couple a minutes - this story will eat you alive :)
Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lexx The Series, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I have always Liked Lexx and when I bought Lexx the complete series I was not dissappointed what so ever and I still Love it if you Love sci-fi's you will Love this I swear this complete series of Lexx is a must buy believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lexxellent!, 30 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The complete Lexx series 1-4 and loads of extras on 19 DVDs :D

I've not watched them all yet but am really looking forward to seeing the episodes I missed because of crazy schedulers constantly moving it when it was broadcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all sing - wee aw way aw brunengie!!!, 30 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Well i have fond memories of watching some episodes of this back in the day and being blown away by its quirkyness, rudeness, special effects and interesing charecters...oh and the plots come thick and fast to aswell. I found this on amazon a couple of weeks back and inbetween doing my nursing im watching this. Ive just gone through farscape before this and that was awesome but this is just plain funny as hell. The story is interesting and here are no spoilers. Stanly tweedle is a security guard level 4 (low rank) on the cluster which is planet that rules other planets. His devine shadow runs it (all powerful). Stan is late for work and is sentanced to death (a bit o.tt.)He goes on the run with zevv a cross between a lizard creature and a love slave (dont ask), a robot head called 790 who got zevs love slave brain download (told you not to ask) and kai who is a dead assasin who was controlled by his shadow (long history there).They escape in his shadows new living ship the lexx which can blow up planets. Crazy eh? Im nearing the end of season 2 which was a cracker...point being i would recommend this just for season 2 lol. If you want something alittle naughty, a little quirky, dare i say sci fi sexy then this is ideal. Howmany sci fi shows have got two foreign models in it? this does.
buy buy buy
Also if you adore sci fi get farscape, babylon 5.....these 2 series with lexx show the very best of sci fi and how out of this world it can be.
update - finished all 4 seasons and i miss the lexx crew already. Season 3 and 4 were great...not as good as 2 but still so good. My best episode was 791 and there was a musical episode where kai and crew sang the fate of the brunengie...so good. In truth this series is more sci fi'y then most others...season 3 melted my brain with prince...i mean what was that all about.All becomes revealed and then season 4 just takes the series home...litterally.I really miss the lexx and its crew and when the credits ran i remembered that they had been a big part of my life over the past few months while i watched their escape from his shadow and planet hopping adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lexx Box Set, 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Superb! I watched the entire 4 seasons in two weeks. Weird, funny, dark and sexy. It has it all! Also, the product description states this is in 4:3 format. I watched it on a 40" Sony Bravia and it is in wide screen. Fabulous.
There are cameo appearances by Tim Curry, Craig Charles and Hattie Hayridge, Britt Ekland and more. Great fun.
Be aware, there is a slight full frontal nudity shot for a couple of seconds and some short topless scenes, so not for the younger children. If you like sci-fi you will love this Canadian/German/English collaboration. It is in English.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great series, no subtitles, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I bought this box to fill in the gaps in my watching the series on TV. Much to my dismay the box content is without any subtitles whatsoever and as the audio is not all that good to begin with, it makes following the dialogue very hard at times.
I'd say it is a total failure as there is a good possibility I will let the box gather dust instead of watching it because of this, if I can not find separate subtitles on the web and "re-engineer" the DVD's. Paying customers should not have to be forced to such measures in order to use a product they paid good money for.
Amazon, please, please include subtitle information in the product information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lexx - review (complete series), 24 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. Evans "Pablo" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is the most quirkiest SciFi box selection i have. Its so sensual erotic with out too much pornographic context and a dark story about good versus evil.
Scifi at its best with a twist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Hollywood Product, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I have enjoyed all four feature-length and 57 normal-length episodes of "Lexx", the many cast and crew interviews, the image gallery and the wrap reel.

"Lexx" is SF that is funny, sexy and deranged. It has a different type of humour and is far funnier than "Red Dwarf". It is even funnier than "Star Trek" or any other space saga. "Lexx" is a Canadian-German (Series 1-3) and Canadian-UK (Series 4) co-production, so stands in contrast to te usual Hollywood product.

Lexx is an enormous dragonfly/spaceship, built for His Divine Shadow, evil ruler of an evil space empire. It is the most powerful and destructive weapon in the two universes. There are no right angles on the Lexx and its internal colours and shapes are odd, as befits an enormous insect. It is badly designed, with the bridge on the edge of a huge drop, over which several characters plunge to their doom on various occasions.

Lexx is inadvertently stolen by inept security guard Stanly Tweedle, female love slave, Xev, dead assassin Kai, and robot head 790.

Stanley Tweedle represents the ordinary man, if the ordinary man is relatively old and ugly, cowardly, lustful and selfish. In a bizarre and chaotic industrial accident, Xev becomes part cluster lizard, which does not change her appearance, but makes her formidable. 790 receives some of her programming. Kai is dead in the sense that he has been decarbonised, so that he walks and talks like a living person, but is almost impossible to destroy.

Stanley lusts after Xev, who is not interested. She yearns for Kai, who is not interested because he is dead. 790 is insanely in love with Xev, though he is accidentally reprogrammed in one of the later episodes. The original ice maidenish Xev is replaced by stunning actress Xenia Seeberg after Series 1.

There is some brief female nudity in a few episodes and a tremendous amount of violence when you think about it, but the violence is not often depicted and is not graphic. Cannibalism is a major theme, as well as being eaten by sentient plants. Special effects are good for their time, around 2000.

There are overarching conflicts in each series, but many episodes stand alone, outside the main plots. For example, "A Midsummer's Nightmare" depicts the most hilariously grotesque Titania ever displayed on screen.

"Lexx" is a treat, especially if you first saw it after staggering in from the pub on pre-digital Channel 5 on British TV, through a snowstorm of bad reception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheap packaging, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
would have liked this boxset to have looked better really as it is quite expensive. It is a dvd box cover and 3 dvd boxes. Sleeves get easily damaged over time. a christmas present so hope they like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars runs out of steam, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The beginning of the series, with Eva Haberman, is some of the best science fiction ever. You get a real feel for the wonder of what science fiction can be. Then they swap the female lead to someone who is not as good as Eva in any way. The main section of the planets fire and water is the best part of the series, funny and awe inspiring, despite Eva not being in it. Bit the series really runs out of steam towards the end, with everything being based on the earth. There is really too much killing in the series as well, gratuitous killing off of the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997]
Lexx - The Complete Series [DVD] [1997] by Christoph Schrewe (DVD - 2011)
41.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews