Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Good DVDs
These were very interesting and the history of the 5 circuits was very informing. Once again the commentator was very hard to hear above the noise of the cars even with the volume right up [No I am not hard of hearing!]
Published 16 months ago by Ellen Daubney

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars value for money but...
Lots of archive film (surprisingly little actually racing - just enough of a glimpse to let you know there is a vast amount of top quality footage waiting to be marketed!) from the earliest years up to the early 70's, not all of it quite what you'd expect - including as it does some Mille Miglia. As usual, trying to cover too much ground in too small a space. Only 3...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars value for money but..., 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of archive film (surprisingly little actually racing - just enough of a glimpse to let you know there is a vast amount of top quality footage waiting to be marketed!) from the earliest years up to the early 70's, not all of it quite what you'd expect - including as it does some Mille Miglia. As usual, trying to cover too much ground in too small a space. Only 3 circuits are covered, using original film. Surely there is a massive market for a more comprehensive coverage of Formula 1: the FIA approved seasonal discs are just pathetic (I just can't imagine Bernie Ecclestone having anything to do with it), and not worth buying, as you are lucky to see 10 minutes of each race. I cannot find anything on the market which provides a professionally produced (i.e. BBC standard)history of F1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Good DVDs, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
These were very interesting and the history of the 5 circuits was very informing. Once again the commentator was very hard to hear above the noise of the cars even with the volume right up [No I am not hard of hearing!]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull as ditch water, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a wee present for my 85 year old father who's watched F1 for many years.

I watched disc one with him. It's pretty dull, boring actually. Jumps all over the place, the commentator just rambles on in his monotone dulcet drone. And whoever did the sound dub should be shot, or perhaps it's a blessing that half the time you can't hear the astoundingly dull commentary.

I then borrowed disc 3 hoping the circuit history discs might be better. I went for disc three as I'm a big fan of Spa. To me amazingly no maps were shown of the two circuits covered in this disc, no intelligible explanation of how they have changed over the years. No 'on board' laps either. Two things that are surely essential in a film about racing circuits. Just the same commentator droning on about who got wiped out and who won year by year through F1 history.

I would give it one star, but I'll give it two, just, as if you are an F1 fan desperately searching for archive footage of the sport through the years there is quite a bit of good archive footage across the two discs I watched.

Though I am a bit of a petrol heid I'm not gonna bother boring myself silly with disc two.

Sadly this is one DVD collection best avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better., 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
The History of GP dvd i have reviewed separately (it's ok but imo the weakest of the set). The two other discs (circuits) are more focused and better 'chronogically' presented - yeah! However, there are still issues with the sound on Vol1, the soundtrack is too loud in parts and drowns out the narration. Vol 2 is much better.
The 'good' - old footage, you have to bear in mind this is goping to be limited compared to the extensive coverage since the 70s/80s. There are some clips that make you appreciate the lack of safety and driver skill.
The 'bad' - lack of post 1970s footage, i can only think it is because of copyright issues. Some of the sections/years are very short, i would have liked more on the evolution of F1 too, feels like a budget set.
There is some other non-F1 footage, some nice interviews with drivers.
Just worth 3-stars at 7 but I'm still looking for something that evokes memories like the recent BBC Racing Legends programmes (Moss/Stewart)...someone somewhere can put all this footage together...BBC PLEASE HELP?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grandish Prix, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
A triple pack of old footage showing the history of Grand Prix racing & some of the favourite tracks.The footage is not fantastic & the presentation is not that great but, considering the price, it is OK value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars F1 must, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Brought for an F1 fan and he loves it. Great value and interesting watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present, so have not watched it myself.
Have been told that it's quite good ! Recipient was quite happy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars -, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I'm happy to of got this so quick as it's a birthday present for my dad who's birthday it is on Saturday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice., 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
This collection was a gift for my granddad, which he really enjoyed and said it was a fantastic collection, showcasing history's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MICHAEL SCHUMACHER--THE BEST WORLD CHAMPION., 26 July 2014
By 
This review is from: History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I am looking forward in playing this DVD as i hope there will be good coverage on my favourite driver Michael Schumacher, this will go towards my other SCHUMI DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History of Grand Prix Triple Pack [DVD]
6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews