Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STAR CRAZY
There's a lot to like about DARK STAR. If you're up on 70s science-fiction films, you'll know this is where JOHN CARPENTER and DAN O' BANNON cut their teeth. Subsequently falling out, one went on to direct THE THING, the other to write the original screenplay for ALIEN. But without the experience gained on this, effectively an upgraded 'college project', neither would...
Published on 19 Nov. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Anamorphic
Having been waiting for a decent edition of this movie on DVD since the format was launched, I was pleased to see this package with "anamorphic widescreen' plastered across the front, so I picked it up straight off.

Unfortunately, it's a port of the original US edition. Pretty good in and of itself - 2 versions of the film, a handful of extras - but NOT...
Published on 14 Jun. 2007 by Mr. M. S. Mckinnon


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just too slow and clunky to be funny, 7 April 2014
By 
Dr. Jim Endersby (University of Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Star (Blu-ray)
The special effects are crude (1970s Dr Who is like state of the art CGI by comparison) and the acting is so blank as to be unwatchable. Perhaps this is all intentional (the guys have been in space so long that they have lost it), but I had great difficulty staying awake. Why this has a cult following, is utterly beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but Sad, 5 Dec. 2010
Imagine being trapped in a building for 3-years, the same people, the same food with minimal communication with the outside world.

Dark Star follows the lives of four crew members suffering from social isolation onboard a starship, although highly advanced the craft is in a state of disrepair as the crew suffer depression and boredom they choose to Ignore various faults with the ship rather than try to fix it. Choosing instead to entertain themselves with trivial activities they barely talk to each other, the only time the crew get together is to perform their intended mission, to drop a bomb on an unstable Sun destroying it before it turns super nova.

This film has been described as a black comedy, with a menacing soundtrack and various panic scenes the humour is a little difficult to interpret, I enjoyed it more the second time. The Picture and sound quality is unusually poor and disappointing. However as a fan I was just grateful to have a widescreen version. Features are also disappointing, however the CGI menus were good and I particularly liked the fold-out Box it came in.

I am a little biased as I love this film, I like its originality and Sad, climatic ending, I like the fact that I can't compare the plot to another film and I hope they never re-make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Star is a low budget, cult Sci-Fi classic!, 27 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
John Capenter made Dark Star for less then 30,000 dollars which is pretty amazing. What a wacky story it is about a group of men who are destroying unstable planets around the universe. There are some little funny scenes like the bit with the rubber chicken. Even bits that aren't ment to be funny are like the orange ball monster because of the low budget. Dark Star is so bizarre and different that one does'nt care that the special effects are a bit naff. For me being a Sci-Fi lover this is John Carpenter's second best film after The Thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
v gid value for ££££££££££$£££££££
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor quality picture, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Star [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
picture not great, in fact poor with streaks and grainy
i later bought the blue ray version which as two versions and vastly
better picture and sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there won't be another press, 26 April 2008
By 
ethereel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Hilarious and incredibly creative, Dark Star made me a huge O'bannon fan. This was supposed to be a space comedy but it flopped miserably, so O'bannon came back with "Alien" to make every one scream! Apparently, he was so overwhelmed by the response to Alien that while he was watching the premier he cried. Back to Dark Star--this *is* a student film and the sound *is* crappy. Not, I repeat, not unintelligible. However, there's no way to tidy it up, so either get it or forget it, because there won't be another press of the actual film. I'm evangelical about Dark Star, by buying it for friends and family and also using it to separate the world into two categories of "Those Who Get It" and "Those Who Don't"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The bomb, talk to the bomb. Still has some retro value. Bit dated. Funny in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little known scifi classic, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Star [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Great little film if you watch with the time when it was filmed in mind. I never realised till I read another review that the story is a spoof of another famous scifi movie though !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A1, Cult classic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A low-budget classic, 10 April 2007
This review is from: Dark Star [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Student film projects are invariably rubbish, with a few exceptions - Man Bites Dog for example - another one being the classic Dark Star, which launched the careers of both John Carpenter and Dan O Bannon. The film has an awesome mix of sci-fi and comedy - comedy which is both actually funny and also funny in a way which quite neatly allows a science-fiction film to work on an ultra-low-budget. This is inventive genre movie and a deserving cult hit with some comedic performances, an amazing beach ball alien, an philosophical bomb and a classic ending. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1013 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Star HyperDrive Edition [1974] [DVD]
Dark Star HyperDrive Edition [1974] [DVD] by Brian Narelle (DVD - 2011)
£8.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews