Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly special tribute to Buddy Holly.
I first saw this film when I was little and was very touched by it, so it seemed obvious to buy it when it came out on DVD. After having studied the life of Buddy Holly I found this film to be very true to life.
Gary Busey made an excellent Buddy Holly and is very talented with regards to music as well as acting since none of the origional scores were used in the...
Published on 17 Jan 2005 by Gem

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray bummer
Admirers of this superior biopic should not waste their money on this abysmal Blu ray transfer.
The print is dirty, chapters are badly planned, and worst of all, the image is fuzzy and with bleached-out colour.
I'm viewing via an HD projector on a 120-inch screen, so any faults are magnified. On my system, my old Region 1 DVD looks way better -- colours have...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by Anthony Clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic viewing!!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its really Brilliant!! its well written & makes u feel u were back in the fifties!!!I've watched it over & over!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great bi-opic, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best biographic films ever made. Gary Busey really becomes Buddy, warts and all. The music hasn't dated at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gary Busey's performance is stunning and of course the story of Holly is worth recalling. One of the fathers of modern rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great film top rock &, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
top film great story about rock & roll's greatest, well acted, good plot, great music, even if we all know how the story ends!
Recommend it to anyone great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buddy holly dvd, 9 Jun 2012
By 
A. Cernera - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great arrived super fast.the service was briiliant.wanted to show my daugher a great true story .we all enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valenzuela, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Peter E. Bradley (Newcastle, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good depiction of the era, as it was. Well acted and excellent music. An item well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Buddy Holly Story, 26 July 2011
LOVE IT. Music in it is fantastic. Sing all the way through it. I love Amazon. You can find everything from this website. For people who haven't ordered through them, please do. Their service is prompt, reasonably priced and in very good condition. I'm recommending them to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buddy holly, 25 July 2011
By 
went to see the live show and bought the video on the strength of it it didnt disappoint. i am a 60 s child and this took me right back to my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Buddy Holly Story, 12 July 2011
By 
Mr. R. A. Loades "Robert Loades" (Canada/England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best biopic of a performer (any performer), that I have seen.
It can be watched time and time again just to see the stages performances alone, Gary Busey will soon have you believing that you're are actually watching a real Buddy Holly performance. As Buddy Holly and the Crickets Rock their way through 12 of their greatest hits, this of course includes, "That'll be the day" and "Peggy Sue."
The story tells how Buddy Holly and the Crickets got their name, overcame the prejudice in the mainly redneck town of Lubbock, Texas and went on to conquer the world, through their music.
It also shows the attitudes of 1950's America and how music was changing those attitudes.
I highly recommend this film for anyone who loves early Rock & Roll, is interested in social American history, and likes a feel good story, although I wish that the ending was could be better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to get a Wide Screen version of this film, 23 Jan 2012
By 
chuckju (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Buddy Holly Story [Blu-ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
But your European Blu Rays are much lower in quality compared to U.S. Blu Rays.
Of the 4 Blu Rays from Europe I purchased, this was the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Buddy Holly Story [Blu-ray] [1978]
The Buddy Holly Story [Blu-ray] [1978] by Steve Rash (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews