Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Original Jazz.
I was a big fan of Empirical's debut album, so I looked out for Kit Downes and bought Golden which has some great tunes and playing.

His trio's second album is different again - not least for the fact that it's no longer a trio and has additional musicians on most tracks, which add further colours to the music and create a different atmosphere. This is mostly a...
Published on 14 April 2011 by Bruce

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely horrendous
I bought this CD having read some wonderful reviews about what these guys were doing..What a disappointment , I cannot understand what they are trying to produce on this CD, it is certainly not free jazz - perhaps give-away jazz!
Kit can definitely play the piano as he shows on a couple of the tracks,but most of the tracks sound like amateur musicians tuning up and...
Published 16 months ago by MR. BARRY MORRISON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Original Jazz., 14 April 2011
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quiet Tiger (Audio CD)
I was a big fan of Empirical's debut album, so I looked out for Kit Downes and bought Golden which has some great tunes and playing.

His trio's second album is different again - not least for the fact that it's no longer a trio and has additional musicians on most tracks, which add further colours to the music and create a different atmosphere. This is mostly a gentle sound, with piano to the fore and reeds/cello providing what sounds like written accompanying parts - the exceptions being "Wooden Birds" and The Wizards" which provide interludes of "Free Jazz"!

Downes' compositions however are what define this album and where it stands and falls. I would say that there are some good tunes here - but nothing that really stands out - this gives most of the album a consistent mood and makes it feel like a statement, along the lines of Seb Rochford's Polar Bear before they started using electronics.

There is a wistful, haunting quality to many of the piano-lead melodies - which is peculiarly British or maybe European - this is a long way from US, Blues-based Jazz and has a sound of its own - more about the written compositions and moods created. Calum Gourlay and James Maddren are very sympathetic collaborators - the bass in particular, echoing the melancholy moods and providing several nice solos that fit the tunes well.

The sound is perfectly clear and in fact the only slight annoyance is when you hear Downes "singing" behind his solos in the manner of Keith Jarrett - this sometimes breaks the mood and detracts from the lovely piano sound, for example on "Skip James" the vocal sounds just don't fit in with the sustained mood created, by the instruments.

Overall though this is a worthy successor to Golden and you can see how there is a logical progression - leading on to future larger ensembles, possibly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent modern jazz trio, 3 Oct 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quiet Tiger (Audio CD)
For some ,Jazz is either a thing of the past, a quaint museum piece appreciated mostly by men in corduroy jackets and goatee beards to ponder over while drinking their real ale.For others it is a mutant creature that has moved on from its swinging verities to something that its forefathers and sisters would barely recognize. For me, Jazz is a work in progress. It is a music as Kit Downes and band prove on this CD that has broad enough roots to support just about any artistic expression and be successful on its own terms.

'Quiet Tiger' sounds very spontaneous yet very composed.In places this could almost be an ECM album-ethereal and pellucid , in others it sounds very robust, even muscular with the odd flirtation with atonalism. In no sense is 'Quiet Tiger' difficult, though it is certainly challenging -or should that be stimulating? Anyone enjoying Jazz in the Miles Davis 'ESP' / 'Seven Steps To Heaven' vien or the musings of Bill Evans,Keith Jarret or Chick Corea will want to give this album close inspection. Excellent stuff.

ps: Well recorded - notes could have been a little more expansive!

Quiet Tiger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kit Downes Trio - Quiet Tiger, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Ajarn Col (Colchester , North Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quiet Tiger (Audio CD)
Being no fan of the stuff that Empirical were doing, I was almost taken aback when I heard the first album, "Golden". Such was its accessibility and even delicacy when compared to the contemporary jazz that Kit Downes had previously been involved in creating. So I was very much looking forward to the release of this one. "Quiet Tiger" does have it's flowing and lyrical tracks , less so on others but interesting and engaging nevertheless. I could though do without a few other tracks, like the darker and even disturbing "Wooden Bird". Consequently. unlike their first album, if I were to download I'd be selective as to which tracks I'd choose. Nevertheless, I expect that this album will do nothing to diminish Kit Downes' growing reputation as both a pianist and as a composer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely horrendous, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Tiger (Audio CD)
I bought this CD having read some wonderful reviews about what these guys were doing..What a disappointment , I cannot understand what they are trying to produce on this CD, it is certainly not free jazz - perhaps give-away jazz!
Kit can definitely play the piano as he shows on a couple of the tracks,but most of the tracks sound like amateur musicians tuning up and practising in a remote Church hall.
The best aspect of this product is the fine artwork on the sleeve , so all jazz lovers or music lovers in general, do yourselves a favour and stay well clear of this.
My copy will be going to the nearest charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trio playing at its best, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Tiger (Audio CD)
would recomend it to all who enjoy modern jazz music, each player in the trio blends well while still showing there own talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kit Downes. Quiet Tiger CD, 20 Mar 2012
By 
P. W. Russell (North Shields, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Tiger (Audio CD)
Quiet Tiger

Kit Downes composes and plays cutting edge jazz music. Innovative, contemporary and highly original , this album is a must have for the contemporary jazz fan and will become a classic album in the future.

Buy this CD, play it a thousand times, treasure it and keep it forever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. Get it now and be part of the jazz revolution, 4 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Quiet Tiger (Audio CD)
I have followed these guys for a while now and they have already surpassed my expectations.
Kit Downes is rapidly becoming the most critically acclaimed pianist of his generation. Calum and James are also fantastic musicians and this trio have built a style that is second to none. I can listen to this album and their last 'Golden' in the car or at home in the sofa. Norwich awaits another visit from these men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quiet Tiger
Quiet Tiger by Kit Downes Trio (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews