Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abosolutely a flash bible
I've been to Guy's web site and like the contents and decided to buy his book. Some of Guy's web site articles are old (but mostly still relevant to general photography) and refering to film photography era. However, this book's content is well up to date. It contains theory, history, equipments and techniques and combines with good photo examples (some are very...
Published on 27 May 2010 by Mr. Tommy Wong

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title
Slightly odd and very frustrating, as the book is good, in parts, and clearly the result of a lot of effort on the authors part, but could have been so, so much better. Encyclopaedic (400+ pages) on almost every bit of 'strobist' equipment and gadget available-much of which is generic and the volume is 'master CANON flash'. Its a great book if you can't find the...
Published on 27 July 2010 by R. Baston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abosolutely a flash bible, 27 May 2010
By 
Mr. Tommy Wong (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been to Guy's web site and like the contents and decided to buy his book. Some of Guy's web site articles are old (but mostly still relevant to general photography) and refering to film photography era. However, this book's content is well up to date. It contains theory, history, equipments and techniques and combines with good photo examples (some are very inspirational) for mostly everything. A small part is reserved for Canon flash technology (ETTL and wireless ETTL), the rest is applicable to general flash photography. Guy really put effort in to make it as throughful as possible and he has achieved that. A bible for beginner and intermediate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book on flash photography, 23 July 2010
I recently upgraded my camera from a Canon 400d to a Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR Camera - Body Only. I also upgraded my flash from a 420 to a Canon Speedlite 430EX II Flash Unit and a 550ex, so I needed some guidance as to how to use all the new flash technology I had just bought. I saw a review in Amateur Photography magazine for this book, which said it was the best book on flash photography for the Canon user. I agree, but would also say it is the best book on flash photography regardless of the camera you use. The first part of the book is taken up with looking at the various patrs of the Canonn flash system, but it is the technique section of the book that is the best.
As well as diagrams showing the setup for each shot, the photos used are excellent and really show the different ways of lighting a subject, using just flash or a mixture of flash and ambient light. The last part of the book is fantastic, with lots of brilliant photos showing the more creative side of flash photography.
The book is worth the price just for this section alone, no matter what make of camera system you own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eureka !!, 4 Aug 2010
This book is absolutely superb.

Like the author I've struggled for a number of years with the poor info available from Canon for using a 580 Flashgun with a 1D MKII DSLR and have only achieved good results through a trial and error process.

The book contains a wealth of technical information as well as clear guidance as to how to put that to practical use with really good use of images to illustrate points.

Whilst especially useful to Canon owners there is lots for other users to benefit from on the use of artificial lighting be it flash or studio lights.

Buy, read and go get better images !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible book on flash photography, 6 Jun 2010
Before I got this book, I never had any idea of what to really use flash for. "The built-in flash only makes stuff worse," I thought, "what would a 'real' flash do differently?"

And now I know. Buying the book triggered the purchase of a flash after skimming the technique chapters, and I've been using it to take photos of miniatures and flowers that are head and shoulders above everything I've been able to do so far.

A real eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, indept and detailed information, 19 July 2010
By 
W. Boon (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great book but you should be aware that this is not one with a few simple pages that get straight to the point. It is easy enough to ready but this is more a detailed book that the author has spend many years - probably - building up. If you're looking for quick information to help you use your flash this may not be the book for you. However, if want concise info on flash and lighting you couldn't ask for more. I'm almost finished the book and I know it will be a great reference book for me for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon EOS Flash Photography, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delvered quickly - excellent book good to dip into rather than read all the way through in one go - surpisingly up to date with all the flash features of the Canon 7D well covered - good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to master flash photography, 2 Feb 2011
By 
L. Simpson "Pickle maker" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read many photography books and know how they can vary and have found it difficult to establish what type of person some books are aimed at. I struggled to find books that bridged the amateur with the professional photographer and having been to flash photography workshops, but wanted something which would back up what I had learnt. This book contains everything you need to know, its in depth and down to earth. Its very readable and I found I could not put it down.It is specific to canon, but generic enough to apply to any flash photography, but the chapter on equipment obviously only relates to Canon flashes. It makes you want to pick up your camera and try out what you have learnt.The book really does cover all the advantages in mastering flash and you realise how it can improve your outdoor photography as well as indoor photography. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for beginner or someone wanting to learn a little bit more., 21 Jan 2011
This is a fantastic book for anyone wanting to learn something new or more about flash photography. It's very detailed. For those of you who love the technical stuff, this book is definitely something to read. From the history of the technology to how it works, it's all there.

He also explains the hands on techniques to get different effects using flash gun/s. From a single flash to multiple, it's all explained with diagrams & photos of the end result.

Brilliant book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive guide to EOS flash, 16 Nov 2010
If you're looking for an authoritative guide to using flash with Canon's EOS system cameras, then look no further.

I'd previously discovered NKGUY's flash guides on the internet, a number of years ago. This book takes the best from those guides, adds more and brings everything up to date.

I'd thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, 27 July 2010
By 
R. Baston (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Slightly odd and very frustrating, as the book is good, in parts, and clearly the result of a lot of effort on the authors part, but could have been so, so much better. Encyclopaedic (400+ pages) on almost every bit of 'strobist' equipment and gadget available-much of which is generic and the volume is 'master CANON flash'. Its a great book if you can't find the instruction manuals for a range of canon flash guns and accessories. Its biggest failing, in my opinion, is that a book such as this with the title it has is surely crying out to be a 'situation and solution' guide. With much better and inspiring examples of what can be achieved with the equipment and how it was done step by step. Even, giving 'exercises' and learning tasks, which is what one has to do to MASTER something. An, albeit, poor analogy would be a book on 'mastering' the piano that says much about pianos and a lot less about the music ones plays on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews