Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, and love the bonus 3d blu ray disc!
Very informative! I've enjoyed watching all of this. Particularly bought this because it included the bonus 3d blu ray disc of 7 wonders of the solar system. Why pay £10 for the 7 wonders of the solar system 3d blu ray when you can get it as a part of this package? Great value!
Published on 27 April 2012 by Warnz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another item from US TV
Although the graphics were excellent, the constant repeating of the same information was irritating. It seems US TV producers believe that their average audience has an attention span of milliseconds so after every commercial break, they have a reprise of what happened before the break. Barely tolerable when watching on TV but totally awful when watching once the...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another item from US TV, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the graphics were excellent, the constant repeating of the same information was irritating. It seems US TV producers believe that their average audience has an attention span of milliseconds so after every commercial break, they have a reprise of what happened before the break. Barely tolerable when watching on TV but totally awful when watching once the commercial breaks have been edited out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, and love the bonus 3d blu ray disc!, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative! I've enjoyed watching all of this. Particularly bought this because it included the bonus 3d blu ray disc of 7 wonders of the solar system. Why pay £10 for the 7 wonders of the solar system 3d blu ray when you can get it as a part of this package? Great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D bonus disc, 22 Mar 2011
By 
I just got the discs, and because this is nowhere explicitely stated so far: The bonus disc is "7 Wonders of the Solar System in 3D (Blu-ray 3D)" - a great addition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Universe Season 5, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Highland Lady (Burton-on-trent) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
3D bonus disc is only average but the other discs are very good would I recommend this product yes of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh...for a British voice in the commentary, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An American television program probably aimed at entertainment with a veiw to learning but was worth it for the 3d pictures of the sun......wow!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this series really enjoy the quality on Blu ray, If you like this sort of thing well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I expected more from the bonus disc, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This set could be a must have, thinking at the topics it touches.
My comments are only for the 3D bonus disc.
I bought it to feed my new gear and to experience 3D for the first time at home.
In comparison with other films, the 3D effects are based more on the depth, rather than on the pop-out.
The computer graphics are for my eyes a little childish (the spaceship looks fake in comparison with many other low budget movies). The Solar System offers so many subjects for very good stories. In my humble opinion "The Seven Wonders" are not very well chosen.
However, the total is positive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!, 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quality 3d!!! Worth every penny!! I cant watch 3d for too long but documentaries like this means I can enjoy 3d... Will defo be getting the wildlife 3d and others!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Universe is too loud, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Universe Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The contents of these DVDs is excellent and fascinating. However the sound track is not adequate - with artificial very loud sounds and bangs which distract the viewers attention. For people whose mother tongue is not English this makes the comprehension of the text often very difficult. The overall enjoyment of such an interesting topic is thus largely impaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always fantastic pictures, 23 April 2011
By 
PAUL (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think it's the last season for this serie. I don't see what else History Channel could tell about astronomy in a spectacular point of view.

This box includes twice the Wonders of the Solar system. One in 2D on the the first bluray, and the same episode on the 3D bluray disc.

Although I can tell much about the 3D because I don't own the hardware (screen and player), when I see this specific bluray in 2D, it seems to me that high definition is far better than the pure 2D edition. Watching at it is like being in a video game, or some movies you can see in theme parks.

Last but not least, what is good for me, as a non English speaking customer, is the fact that the two blurays of this serie are subtitled. So is not the bonus disc, but you can find the related text on episode one in the first disc.

Although this serie is not really scientific too noisy for the silence of space), it's very spectacular. And for this price, buy it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Universe Season 5 [DVD]
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews