Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Search for Puerto del Faglioli
This is a genuinely good book. Honestly. This comes from someone who reads a lot of books, and who sets great store by clear, incisive writing. And from someone who until a recent conjunction of circumstances with which I won't bore you had no interest in motorbikes or the people who ride them. The sequence of events is compelling, the story-telling is entertaining, and...
Published on 12 Dec 2010 by Brightfield

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you've been away too long Paddy....
An entertaining and well written, unusually informative and humorous motorcycle travel adventure, but with a few question marks for me, at least. Imagine meeting a guy who has never done long distance biking before having only been a biker for 6 months, who, despite inexperience, decides to come with you and rides thousands of miles as your sole companion and, often as...
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by smartacus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Search for Puerto del Faglioli, 12 Dec 2010
This is a genuinely good book. Honestly. This comes from someone who reads a lot of books, and who sets great store by clear, incisive writing. And from someone who until a recent conjunction of circumstances with which I won't bore you had no interest in motorbikes or the people who ride them. The sequence of events is compelling, the story-telling is entertaining, and the narrative builds to portray a picture of a kind and sensitive Irishman, genuinely fascinated by the scenes he is witnessing. It is a delightful mix of personal anecdote and political and social commentary, which leaves the reader with a clear understanding of the size of Wales relative to virtually everything. And if that's not a reason to buy it, I don't know what is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an entertaining book, about biking and social observation
better than a lot of profesional writers in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The travel book of the year for 2010, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Md Sauter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Its always interesting to read of others peoples travels, Paddy has ticked all the boxes needed for an excellent read. The 12 colour pages of pictures were an added bonus and helped contextualise the journey.
The book is an adventure and commentary of the North and South Americas, written with an outsiders view and raising some thought provoking ideas. What must it have been like in America when Obama got in? We get Paddy understanding of what it was like, can also imagine I was there.
Overall a book that was unputdownable and will certainly be reread lots of times.
if you buy no other travel book this year, buy this one (and such prompt delivery from Shuvvy Press).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read..many's a hearty laugh had reading this, 21 Oct 2010
Paddy Tysons' humour blends together a brilliant book which whisks the reader off on a road trip of a lifetime, a definite must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
book arrived very quickly. well packaged i have read it 3 times now and each time i find myself being part of the journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - - -, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt For Puerto Del Faglioli (Kindle Edition)
Humorous, modest, unpretentious, absorbing, interesting.
Really enjoyed this read Paddy, look forward to perhaps meeting you sometime - Richard (MAG member)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 April 2011
I bought this as a present for my dad for his birthday. He was extremely impressed with the item and has even passed it onto friends so that they may also enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Puerto del Faglioli review, 16 Mar 2010
By 
M. J. Polaine "MattP" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I know Paddy, and he sent emails of his trips to an email group enroute. He also sent some great pictures which sadly are not included in this book, just a select few.

I've read about eight motorcycle adventure books and of course seen the whole Charlie & Ewan bandwagon. Paddy's book is typical of this genre in that nothing is typical. Each chapter was an adventure in its own right, and I was with Paddy through his pages at every checkpoint, bit falling off Peggy (his motorbike), some grim sleeping accomodation, and desperate races to go back and forth between offical desks getting bits of paper stamped.

Books like this are great if you want to escape from the daily grind but aren't able to make The Big Trip happen. Yet. Paddy writes in a simple plain style that describes what motorcycling mega-distances is really like, and the unique experiences each rider will have. There are some very gross moments as well as some humerous ones. A few had me thinking 'I'll never go there then' while other chapters presented elements about the world I would never have known - the local day-to-day stuff that gets left off high budget glossy motorcycle adventures. For this reason alone I recommend this as a good no-frills entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you've been away too long Paddy...., 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunt For Puerto Del Faglioli (Kindle Edition)
An entertaining and well written, unusually informative and humorous motorcycle travel adventure, but with a few question marks for me, at least. Imagine meeting a guy who has never done long distance biking before having only been a biker for 6 months, who, despite inexperience, decides to come with you and rides thousands of miles as your sole companion and, often as your soul companion. When, after months of shared hardships and adventure of every kind, Paddy is ready to go home and arranges to do so without even a mention of farewell or how his "friend' would get back to Vermont from Central America. A strange and abrupt ending which left me wondering its' authenticity as well as feeling that Matt (the companion rider) must have felt pretty wretched to have such a "I'm all right Jack' friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunt For Puerto Del Faglioli
The Hunt For Puerto Del Faglioli by Paddy Tyson www.paddytyson.com
£4.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews