Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, useful, ideal for the occasional RJ45 & RJ11 crimp job
We all love crimping, whether it be in dance form, pie toppings or RJ45 and RJ11 plug crimping. This handy tool is so cheap you won't believe it's any good but you'll be pleasently surprised to find it's quite well built, will crimp RJ45 plugs, RJ11 4pin and RJ11 6 pin - so that's 3 individual crimpers built into one tool, plus the cable stripper blade (also known as the...
Published on 17 Sep 2011 by DanW

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and useless
The centre two pressing pins were already broken when the product arrived. Two more broke the first time I put in an RJ45 connector. Creaks when you use it. This is in no way a bargain. Spend a few pounds extra and get a decent Crimping tool.
Published on 19 Nov 2011 by kungfu


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, useful, ideal for the occasional RJ45 & RJ11 crimp job, 17 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
We all love crimping, whether it be in dance form, pie toppings or RJ45 and RJ11 plug crimping. This handy tool is so cheap you won't believe it's any good but you'll be pleasently surprised to find it's quite well built, will crimp RJ45 plugs, RJ11 4pin and RJ11 6 pin - so that's 3 individual crimpers built into one tool, plus the cable stripper blade (also known as the finger tip remover/ nail clipper for the clumsy amongst you)

Next in the pack is the mysterious little yellow thingy - it's a cable cutter (insert cable, squeeze the lever down and rotate the cable to cut the outer shielding... it's also a punch tool to insert cables into phone sockets or network sockets.... would get you out of trouble but by a proper KRONE puncher for serious jobs.

Finally, it was delivered super fast, next working day delivery.

How any profit is made selling this tool for a couple of pounds is a mystery but I for one whole heartedly recommend this for your occasional networking needs.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 26 May 2011
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
A surprisingly solid item for the price. I have only used it for a few RJ11 connectors but it worked very well and gives every sign of continuing to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, yet inexpensive, crimp tool. But watch your fingers!, 11 Nov 2011
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
It does the job, and contains all the elements one needs to fit an RJ9, RJ11 or RJ45 plug to the end of a cable. But one element, the cable cutter, is unsafe to use.

. Cable cutter. DANGEROUS, can easily slice finger tips. I have removed this blade, and use a separate wire cutter.
. Sheath stripper. This works very well on standard UTP CAT5 cable without damaging the insulation of the inner wires.
. Crimper. It works well fitting the cable in the plug, and the plug feels secure afterwards. This is much better than a previous crimper tool I had. The main problem is the fiddle of feeding all the individual wires into the correct holes in the plug before crimping. When I wrote this, the Wiki for 'Modular Connector' had a nice picture showing the correct sequence for both T568A and T568B wiring.

It seems tough enough for regular use, but I'm only keeping it, and a stock of plugs, as a back-up for when I don't have time to buy ready-made RJ45 leads (which are usually cheaper than DIY!) I've only used it for the RJ45 connectors, but have to assume that the other two sizes will work equally well since they are in the same family.

It can cope with 4pin RJ9 and 6pin RJ11 connectors as well as the 8pin RJ45, and has a flat-cable stripper for the RJ9 and RJ11 and a round-cable stripper for the CAT5 RJ45 connectors. See also in the Wiki for 'Modular Connector' for more info on the 4P4C (RJ9), 6P6C (RJ11), 8P8C (RJ45) connectors that this tool is designed for, and the wiring conventions relevant to them.

There is also a flimsy tool for pushing CAT5 wires into wall socket IDC tines. Again I prefer to use my home-made tool, it fits better; a small screw-driver modified by a fine-bladed junior hacksaw to make a slot diagonally across the tip, finished off by suitably dressing it with a file.

The potentially dangerous cutter blade is why it loses a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works brilliantly, amazed at the price, 9 April 2012
By 
Graham White (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
This tool works perfectly for all the Ethernet cables I've crimped (I've not tried crimping anything other than Ethernet). The cable is held within the tool securely in position while you're crimping and I've not had any dud cables so it seems to work every time. The cable cutter on the crimper is very sharp and located near the handle so I have been a little nervous of getting a finger caught in there but that hasn't happened yet. There's also a really useful little jacket scoring tool which is similar to the cable cutter but fits cables neatly into it such that it only scores the jacket and doesn't go all the way through the cable. As for the little yellow tool supplied with it - I've found no use for that yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crimping good, 12 Oct 2011
By 
G. Mansell "manse61" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
I have now used this 3 times with no problems. Seems to be well made and very strong. Weather or not this will still be working as it should over the coming months time will only tell. I checked the cable after crimping 2 RJ45 to Cat5 cable with a tester and all checked out perfectly and I have a good connection. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly effective, 7 Feb 2013
By 
JohnF (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
This worked fine for me and allowed me to create customised cables for my home network. It is quite simple to use togetjer with the connectors and boots. Agree with other posters that the wire cutter is too exposed and needs care (hence 4*). If you haven't used one before inserting the wires in the plug is amazingly simple - you don't need to bare the wires ... just cut to length, slide into the plug (lined up in the right sequence) and they magically slide into the correct slots. A quick crimp and you're done.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very high quality for the price, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
I only needed to make up one long Cat5 run, but I thought: 'for a few quid, what's to lose?'. In fact it's very solid, mainly metal, and did the job perfectly. I've already recommended it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wanted tool, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
Long desired tool at more than reasonable price. Can now make those odd lenth ccables an cut short broken ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class service, 7 April 2013
By 
C. Asbridge (darlington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
bought these to make up an internet lead to go from my wireless hub to my smart tv as the 2 items are a bit too far apart to get good wireless reception.
could not be easier, the crimp pliers are vey robust and worked out a lot cheaper than buying a ready made long lead.
Making the RJ45 connections coud not be simpler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value For Money., 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS (Electronics)
I don't really know how you can argue with these crimpers for the price. I am astonished how they can offer these with postage at that pricepoint.

They crimp 4,6 and 8 pin terminations. They also come with a cheap and cheerful (get me out of trouble) punchdown tool.

My only criticism would be that the blade for chopping the cable is exposed at the top of the handle and I did going to pick these up to use cut myself on it.
I will be more careful but other than that great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS
RJ45 CRIMPER TOOLS by UniversalGadgets
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews