Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read
Excellent film. Glad I read the book first. The parts were well played and gave an insight to the Queens father and mother that shows them just like another couple, helping the other overcome a problem. Arrived promptly, well packaged and in excellent condition.
Published on 8 May 2012 by Mrs. Susan E. F. Yuille

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cynical attempt to cash in on the King's Speech with very poor archive and false reviews
I'm not sure what the other reviewer of this programme was watching but this is not a five star programme but a cynical attempt to cash in on the popularity of The Kings Speech by taking an existing documentary and making out it is relevant. The programme features all archive content with no real storyline and mixes events and timelines up making no sense whatsoever. If...
Published on 10 Feb 2011 by SA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cynical attempt to cash in on the King's Speech with very poor archive and false reviews, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not sure what the other reviewer of this programme was watching but this is not a five star programme but a cynical attempt to cash in on the popularity of The Kings Speech by taking an existing documentary and making out it is relevant. The programme features all archive content with no real storyline and mixes events and timelines up making no sense whatsoever. If you are hoping to find out something of the man who was King George VI then don't waste your money on an ill-conceived and poorly thought out programme, there is nothing about the King's speaking in public on this DVD despite its long-winded title Shame on IMC Vision whoever they are for putting out this rubbish. I was surprised that the other reviewer AliBahBah commented on how poor some of the footage was and yet still gave it a five star review. However, I then searched AliBahBah's other reviews and surprise surprise, he/she gives five stars to a sackful of DVD's that just happen to be IMC Vision products. Come on Amazon, stop these companies posting false five star reviews on their own products - it's despicable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 8 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film. Glad I read the book first. The parts were well played and gave an insight to the Queens father and mother that shows them just like another couple, helping the other overcome a problem. Arrived promptly, well packaged and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Story One, 28 April 2011
By 
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent account of one of the great modern romances played out under such pressure in those trouble times. You cannot but help to be a bit sad that all these two people wanted was a Quiet family life but events forced them into a different role But Boy they did a great job. This is a must have item for all dedicated Royalty fans like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little documentary, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
Reading some of the other reviews i think this dvd has been poorly judged by some, especially faulting it on not focussing on the King's speech impediment and misleading title and cover. As the title 'King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story' suggests this dvd looks at the relationship between the king Geoerge and Elizabeth, featuring a good source of archive footage. After watching the kings speech I, like many other reviewers it seems, wanted to find out more about this era and found this to be a great source of information and intersting footage.

Great little documentary, would reccomend to anyone like me who wanted to know more about the Kings life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King George VI & Elizabeth, 6 April 2013
By 
Doreen Langmead (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
Just lovely. He was always my favourite monarch and I bless the woman who loved and cared for him. It is a lovely story and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory..., 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
... but not exceptional. Its main advantage is the huge amount of original footages from the period but the soundtrack and the narrating voice are not particularly compelling, and I even noticed a couple of historical mistakes.
Anyway it still works as an introduction to the theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Royal Love Story, 27 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
The King's Speech got me interested and the real story shown in this DVD was just as moving. True devotion from a couple who were so good for each other. Heartwarming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opening!, 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
Although I have many of the scenes on Discovery or the History Channel, it was great and sometimes touching to know more about them and the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King George V1 & Elizabeth, 3 April 2011
By 
P. Smith "Justme" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
Great!! I lived through the war with them as my King and Queen. I loved them then and still do. He was a lovely King with no airs and graces, Just a very shy man with a job to do and I applaud him for overcoming his speech difficulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars King George VI, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: King George VI & Elizabeth - A Royal Love Story [DVD] (DVD)
I recently watched The Kings Speech at the cinema and really enjoyed it. I wanted to know more about the story of King George VI and found this DVD on Amazon. It's really interesting, especially seeing actual archive footage of King George VI speaking. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews