Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Voice In The Darkness
Ghostpoet (aka Obaro Ejimiwe), not unlike a latter
day Dick Whittington, left the cold grey streets of
Coventry and set off for London Town in search of
something golden. His album 'Peanut Butter Blues and
Melancholy Jam' may well bring him fortune and fame.

The ephemeral image on the project's front cover is
entirely apt. A man barely...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but distant sounding hip hop
Interesting debut album with a very unique sound. Ghostpoet's lackadaisical lyrical style flows nicely over the dub influenced beats to produce a very polished sound. Don't let the title put you off.
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by Moonpube


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Voice In The Darkness, 21 Feb 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (Audio CD)
Ghostpoet (aka Obaro Ejimiwe), not unlike a latter
day Dick Whittington, left the cold grey streets of
Coventry and set off for London Town in search of
something golden. His album 'Peanut Butter Blues and
Melancholy Jam' may well bring him fortune and fame.

The ephemeral image on the project's front cover is
entirely apt. A man barely emerging from a thick,
cloying mist; his features half-formed and melting.

So too, in many ways, with the music. The album stutters
and stammers into life over the bruised and battered riff
of 'One Twos', segueing with the stark rumbling narrative
of 'Run Run Run'. It's chilly stuff. Melancholy indeed.

Mr Ejimiwe creates a distinctively bleak sound world.
There is little respite from his unsettling urban vision.
'Us Against Whatever Ever' pitches a vocal akin to an
evocative playground rhyme against a rumbling and grumbling
bass and synth misama. Love struggling against adversity.

'Longing For The Night (Yeah Pause)' is a fine invention.
The fractured quasi-latin beats support some of the album's
strongest lyrical imagery. Quietly humourous and strangely
affecting; a man trying to make sense of the world with words.

'Gaaasp' wraps up a bluesy melody in a juddering four-chord
arrangement. "I take a deep breath and live life a little bit";
cautious optimism; a little ray of sunshine trying to push its
way through the dense clouds. The best track by a mile.

Final track 'Liines' is a dark rocking anthem of sorts. The
textures are more open; the voice less obscured; the rhythm
solid, muscular and clearly defined. A powerful conclusion.

With PBBandMJ Ghostpoet has given the listening world a gift.
A dusty gem determined to show a sparkling face in the darkness.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard a track on 6 music and had to hunt out the album. I know I'm late to the party but I'm glad I'm here. Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good good Cd..love ghost poet..., 2 April 2014
By 
Nicola knight (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (Audio CD)
Excellent album...go on treat yourself...catchy little songs...thank you Top Boy.....can't wait for the next album I wonder when that is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genre Defying Brilliance, 17 Feb 2012
Ghostpoet is a genre-busting lyrical genius. His drawled vocals drift lackadaisically across minimalist backing tracks that are at times beautifully melodic and at times hauntingly barren musical landscapes. The burgeoning beats and the Poet's vox combine to make some of the most infectious and magically listenable trip-hop since Tricky's Maxinquaye.

Top track is without doubt "Survive It", a realist view of the world wrapped up in a classy lead vocal and broken up by the catchiest chorus on the album. Other highlights are "Gaaasp" and "I Don't Know", which is a classic electronica backing track masquerading as a grimy rap track.

A brilliant album, takes a few listens to catch all of the little nuances and lyrical brilliance, but hugely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get this in your life immediately!, 29 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (Audio CD)
Wow, I'm absolutely blown away by this album. As a fan of all the genre's of music that this encompasses (hip-hop, electronica, dubstep...), this excels in all categories and really is the sum of its parts.

The production is pretty minimal and works so well, with its scattered hi-hats, deep kick drums and earth-rumbling basslines. There are some moments that utilise a "band", i.e. acoustic drums, a synth-line here and there and some guitar work, but blends so well with the primarily electronic sound.

But its the vocals that take first place. There have been comparisons to The Streets (and I have read somewhere that Mike Skinner has championed Ghostpoet somewhat...), but I don't think the comparison does it justice. Yes, some of the lyrical themes are similar (i.e. songs about night outs and drinking, etc etc) but I personally find The Streets a bit too cheesy whereas Ghostpoet explores new ways of writing about those similar themes. Vocally, they are worlds apart. I love the slurred but fluid tones of this man, he makes rapping melodic and manages to get some hooks into his wordplay that won't leave you alone.

Love the album from start to finish, no dud tracks to be seen. Personal highlights are 'Us Against Whatever Ever', 'Survive It', 'Cash & Carry Me Home' and the best album-closer I have heard in a longwhile - 'Liiines'.

In short - Get this in your life immediately!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (Audio CD)
first album i have purchased from them after seeing them on jules holland. I really like them, dont often listen to a album start to finish, usually get bored and skip tracks....but this is a start to finsh over and over.
Impressed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of hip hop, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (Audio CD)
I've had this album for ages, since it came out, and haven't stopped playing it (favourite track is "survive it") but haven't got around to writing a review; it is thoroughly deserving of the Mercury nomination it received. Each track is well crafted with a sublime range of beats, but it's the lyrical content that really takes this album to the next level: thoughtful, insightful, witty and clever and his delivery is superb. Even if you're not into hip hop, this is a must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 25 Mar 2011
By 
S. Michaels - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (Audio CD)
GhostPoet is so underrated, If you like calm,relaxing and abit of slow paste rap, im sure you will like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply incredible, 19 Feb 2011
By 
J. Pappenheim "Papsby" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM (Audio CD)
With my favourite artists at the moment being James Blake, Glasser and Twin Shadow, I felt there was no place in my heart for the UK grime scene. But then along came Ghostpoet with his awesome 'The Sound of Strangers EP' which showcased single worthy 'Cash & Carry Me Home'. Simply beautiful.
After the wonder of his EP, his debut album 'Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam' cemented his place in my top 10 acts for 2011. Taking elements from chillwave, dub, dubstep and dream pop then layering his social commentary laden lyrics on top, Ghostpoet has created an album that defies the usual expectations of genre crossover albums. Highlights of the album are 'Longing For The Night', 'Garden Path' and the opener 'One Twos / Run Run Run', but then again the whole of the album is brilliant.
Definitely worth a buy, it'll be an asset this year to show it off and introduce your friends to it. Simply incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but distant sounding hip hop, 6 Oct 2011
Interesting debut album with a very unique sound. Ghostpoet's lackadaisical lyrical style flows nicely over the dub influenced beats to produce a very polished sound. Don't let the title put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM
PEANUT BUTTER BLUES & MELANCHOLY JAM by Ghostpoet (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews