Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars9
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2015
Superb transfer and remastered version of this film.To see the evolution of the song from start to finish is brilliant.I still don't watch most of the actual film parts as they are of their time and a bit too heavy to watch again and again.However watching The Rolling Stones creating music is the key element of this film and that sadly includes seeing Brian Jones going downhill,it's as bad as watching the last film of Elvis in concert which always makes me sad,true talent,incredible talent,unraveling before our eyes.I still prefer to watch Brian Jones in The Rock N' Roll Circus when he was still 'there'.A must for all fans of The Rolling Stones and better on Blu-Ray at the right price.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
Ths is a good transfer, the picture is very good and the sound is phenomenal! My only compliant is that there are not enough extras, there is a Jen-Luc Godard documentary ('Voices') and nothing else, and there is a lot that needs explaining!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
This UK Blu-ray version is quality wise beaten by the French Carlotta films version from 2011. The Carlotta edition has a far better transfer. It contains the two available editions of this movie, plus an in-dept portrait of Godard, the director. So make your choices !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2012
As others have said this is half of a great film. The film is divided into two themes. The first being some sort of politicaly charged scenes that don't make a lot of sense. When interveiwed for the documentary 25 x 5 even Mick Jagger admitted he had no idea what the film was about. There are parts of these segments that boarder on out and out racism and the way women are depicted whould never make it into a film today. But let's be honest that's part of the appeal of the Stones. I mean they wrote Some Girls (even if they cut out the sexest lyrics to Some Girls for the film shine a light) and Brown Sugar so if you require political correctness to enjoy something move on.
The other part of the film is the Stones recording the track Sympathy For The Devil. This is amazing. You see it start off as a demo Jagger and Richards perform to the band to the almost complete version thst turned into the song we know and love. You get to see how far gone Brian Jones was at the time and the dynamic the Stones had in the Studio,
In my opinion this is the film the Beatles were trying to make with Let It Be (get over yourself Sir Paul and admit you were acting like a control freak and just put the film out. I mean we all have bootlegs of it anyway and you know it will be one of the first things to come out after you die so put it out while you have input. please!) at least as far as the Studio Segments go. Blu ray picture is better then the DVD which looked great anyway. Audio is only stereo but hey so the record. I really don't see how they would have all the parts to make a real 5.1 mix anyway. If you are a Stones fan this is a must. If you fancy yourself a song writer this is a must. If you like Hot Rocks and nothing else this is not for you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
The film quality is excellent and arrived in the post promptly. The film is a snap shot of London at the time and show's an in-sight of how the stones developed the title song towards it's finished state.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I was a bit disappointed as the album was maenly filmed in the recording studio it was good in places but not what I expected yours truly johnboy drayton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
The Rolling Stones Sympathy of the Devil on blu-ray is fantastic, i'm really pleased with it. Well worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
I am a huge Stones fan so this is a treat as far as I'm concerned. I will be buying their other blurays too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Wonderful product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse