Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Stones!
I am a huge Stones fan so this is a treat as far as I'm concerned. I will be buying their other blurays too.
Published 8 months ago by njw1

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mick Keef & Jean Luc
Godard's elaborate tracking shots prowl around the studio where the Stones laboriously rehearse a new song (Sympathy for the Devil only springs into life when the session musicians are brought in). A voice-over reads Burroughs style cut-ups, providing an ongoing mock commentary on this footage and the various interspersed episodes such as black militants reading from...
Published on 10 Mar 2007 by HJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mick Keef & Jean Luc, 10 Mar 2007
By 
HJ (London UK) - See all my reviews
Godard's elaborate tracking shots prowl around the studio where the Stones laboriously rehearse a new song (Sympathy for the Devil only springs into life when the session musicians are brought in). A voice-over reads Burroughs style cut-ups, providing an ongoing mock commentary on this footage and the various interspersed episodes such as black militants reading from black power texts while torturing white women in a scrapyard by the Thames, "Eve Democracy" being interviewed about revolution, fascist texts being read in a Soho pornographic bookshop and so on.

One Plus One was not a success - Godard was in turmoil - his previous film "Weekend" had proclaimed "the end of cinema" in any conventional sense, his marriage to Anna Karina had finished & then of course the May 68 events exploded & Godard aligned himself with the Maoists & total cultural revolution. And, as the interesting accompanying 1968 documentary on the making of the film makes clear, Godard was out of his element working with an unfamiliar English cast, crew & locations as opposed to his old Parisian set up.

So One Plus One was made "on the run" from Paris May 68 & was the first of several flawed attempts to make a new type of experimental satire. Godard films the Stones not to create swinging sixties rock n'roll mythology but to demystify it, to show it as cultural production. The culture critique here puts Marx with Freud & attempts a kind of "deconstruction" influenced by Barthes, Derrida et al & it has to be said that Godard asks all the right taboo questions about sex, politics, gender & race but can't sustain any kind of meaningful analysis - and so it will probably seem an obscure & incomprehensible film to many viewers today.

Of course it is interesting to see how the Stones worked (Jagger in charge, Keef supportive, Brian Jones comatose) and predictably this DVD edition stresses the 60s rock n'roll mythology angle, precisely what the film was trying to undercut & the reason why Godard famously assaulted the producer at the NFT premier. Still, you get both versions of the film & a reversible sleeve so you can choose Godard or the Stones, revolution or nostalgia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real gold here, but Prepare to be Irritated, 14 Jan 2005
It will be patently obvious that I am speaking as a Stones fan, not as a Godard fan, when I say that this is an almost unwatchable film. ALMOST, I say, because there is lots of terrific vintage fly-on-the-wall studio footage of the Stones creating and evolving Sympathy For The Devil which forms the basis of the film. Courtesy of an unobtrusive roving camera (well, it doesn't make them TOO self-conscious - Mick and Charlie are the only ones who ever seem to know it's there) you basically get to wander around and observe the Rolling Stones in a typical day at the office ( actually filmed over several days) as they experiment with different rhythms and sounds before finally coming up with the version of Sympathy that made it onto Beggars Banquet. Apart from Mick occasionally chiding Charlie for coming in with the right thing at the wrong time, there is little evidence of the tension so clearly seen in the Beatles "Let It Be" (when are we going to see that on DVD?) In fact the sense of creative chemistry and unspoken musical empathy and communication is a joy to watch. The results are not always brilliant, but that's what fly-on-the-wall is for! But you have to pay the price, because sadly this is interrupted again and again with sketches and scenarios containing some of the most embarassing, pretentious, witless and idiotic sixties political claptrap ever captured on film, and a running commentary consisting of an extremely irritating voice reading from a pornographic novel, which, appallingly, even sometimes overrides the soundtrack in the Stones segments. Godard was clearly caught up in the militant delirium of the age but it all looks so arrogant, and pointless now, totally devoid of either humour or humanity. If someone could just get hold of even more of that original, warts-and-all raw footage of the Stones at work and put it all together, leaving out the rubbish, it would be an amazing and enthralling film for Stones fans, documenting the creation of one of their all time greats. For now the best I can suggest is to edit out the junk yourself, or at least make judicious use of the scene selection feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Stones!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathy For The Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am a huge Stones fan so this is a treat as far as I'm concerned. I will be buying their other blurays too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sympathy for the Devil, 29 July 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Socha "first part" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathy For The Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Rolling Stones Sympathy of the Devil on blu-ray is fantastic, i'm really pleased with it. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars rolling stones sympathy for the devil, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathy For The Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was a bit disappointed as the album was maenly filmed in the recording studio it was good in places but not what I expected yours truly johnboy drayton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLURAY, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Mark A. Streets (Derby. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathy For The Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ths is a good transfer, the picture is very good and the sound is phenomenal! My only compliant is that there are not enough extras, there is a Jen-Luc Godard documentary ('Voices') and nothing else, and there is a lot that needs explaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great artwork, 29 Jan 2005
By 
digit "digit" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Or possibly a slightly tampered with great artwork. I'm not sure why a vesion of this exists with this title, but very possibly it's the Stones' own edit of Godard's One Plus One, the film he made with them and which they weren't happy with. The problem seems to have been that he never did deliver the final triumphant rendition of Sympathy for... as we know it on record. Anyway, for safety's sake, go for One Plus One. The Stones sequences are interesting, but best for me are the scenes of sixties radicalism, which are, contrary to the review above, fascinating, hugely inventive and often funny.

EDIT
Or perhaps that should be the review below now. Anyway, since writing this, I found One Plus One on DVD in Fopp and bought it, only to discover that it contained both versions of the film and, a little confusingly, a reversible cover, one side proffering 'Sympathy...' the other 'One...' (The 1+1 side's appropriately better graphically). Doesn't seem to be the same edition on sale here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yea the other reviewers have nailed this pretty good!, 5 April 2012
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sympathy For The Devil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As others have said this is half of a great film. The film is divided into two themes. The first being some sort of politicaly charged scenes that don't make a lot of sense. When interveiwed for the documentary 25 x 5 even Mick Jagger admitted he had no idea what the film was about. There are parts of these segments that boarder on out and out racism and the way women are depicted whould never make it into a film today. But let's be honest that's part of the appeal of the Stones. I mean they wrote Some Girls (even if they cut out the sexest lyrics to Some Girls for the film shine a light) and Brown Sugar so if you require political correctness to enjoy something move on.
The other part of the film is the Stones recording the track Sympathy For The Devil. This is amazing. You see it start off as a demo Jagger and Richards perform to the band to the almost complete version thst turned into the song we know and love. You get to see how far gone Brian Jones was at the time and the dynamic the Stones had in the Studio,
In my opinion this is the film the Beatles were trying to make with Let It Be (get over yourself Sir Paul and admit you were acting like a control freak and just put the film out. I mean we all have bootlegs of it anyway and you know it will be one of the first things to come out after you die so put it out while you have input. please!) at least as far as the Studio Segments go. Blu ray picture is better then the DVD which looked great anyway. Audio is only stereo but hey so the record. I really don't see how they would have all the parts to make a real 5.1 mix anyway. If you are a Stones fan this is a must. If you fancy yourself a song writer this is a must. If you like Hot Rocks and nothing else this is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mist...., 15 April 2011
By 
F.H (Brussels , Belgium) - See all my reviews
This film could have been a great documentary on the stones on the way they worked in the studios.
But this is not what you get...Instead it's a collection of bits and pieces of the stones rehearsing sympathy for the devil cut by actors commenting politics events or something of the kind....A lot of rubbish.
No comments by the stones on anything so it is hard to figure why the song ends up into a samba rythm.
God knows Godard probably filmed great stuff...It would be good if someone could take the rushes and make a decent film out of them.
But that's a stones fan dream...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an easy ride but more insightful than Easy Rider!, 6 Aug 2006
Having just seen this for the first time it makes more sense to me now than Easy Rider in the way it captures the underlying mixtures of ideologies which helped create the confusion which was the late 1960's. Sympathy for The Devil has been the Stones song, along with Street Fighting Man, which captures the spirit of the alternative media, sociological/psychological/psychiatric critiques, and political feelings/actions of the era. It belongs with a re-appraisal of IT, OZ, Zig Zag, Play Power, Steal This Book, Rolling Stone, the Yippies, the Diggers, the various left wing groups etc. which were the substance of a difficult period of which hippies were the public face/gloss. There are deeper issues here along with Black Power which is Goddard's main focus but not sole source if you analyse the soundtrack, captions, images and interview questions.
Yes the film is confusing but, like the way the song is developing throughout the film, so were the ideas in the so-called 'real world' - the world in which we and our current leaders were then living and exploring.
For viewers of my age - a baby boomer - use it as a tool to reflect upon how you were and how you were thinking then and drawing comparisons with your present state of being; in that way you might find the film a very useful tool. If you don't you are probably as dead and unaware now as you were then - which explains an awful lot about the state of politics today!
This is a valuable historical document. I don't think it was intended as such but it has become so. There's got to be at least one PhD here for someone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb50c4744)

This product

Sympathy For The Devil [Blu-ray]
Sympathy For The Devil [Blu-ray] by Jean-Luc Godard (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews