Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easily the most under-hyped band around....
If I wasn't a massive fan of Guns N' Roses, and Slash in particular, I would probably have never had the chance to hear this bands two albums.

I've never heard one of their songs played on the radio, and other than the excellent "Slither" (the first single from the first album), their videos are rarely seen on the various satellite television music...
Published on 3 July 2007 by Milky Joe (PSN: MilkyJoe84)

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Velvet Revolver with the intensity turned down
Scott Weiland's post-Purple-era recordings seem to inevitably mean his drug-weakened, slinky voice slithering (pun intended) around the mix, to usually good effect. However, in Libertad, the suitability of Scott Weiland in the heavy, 70's influenced section that is Slash, Duff McKagan, Matt Sorum and Dave Kushner is sometimes called into question. In direct contrast to...
Published on 5 July 2012 by Jasper Wong


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easily the most under-hyped band around...., 3 July 2007
This review is from: Libertad (Audio CD)
If I wasn't a massive fan of Guns N' Roses, and Slash in particular, I would probably have never had the chance to hear this bands two albums.

I've never heard one of their songs played on the radio, and other than the excellent "Slither" (the first single from the first album), their videos are rarely seen on the various satellite television music channels.

This is a travesty, as this, and their previous album "Contraband," are both fine examples of what Rock music is supposed to be, with none of the identical nonsense that all of the "Rock" bands that are in the charts today put out.

The most notable songs from the album are, in my opinion, the first single, "She Builds Quick Machines," "Let It Roll," which is a short but to the point introduction to the bands brilliance, "The Last Fight," "American Man," and "Gravedancer," which has an excellent solo from Slash.

Forget what Axl Rose is doing at the moment with the ever delayed "Chinese Democracy," as this is the closest thing you'll get to seeing Guns N' Roses back at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Velvet Revolver with the intensity turned down, 5 July 2012
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Libertad (Audio CD)
Scott Weiland's post-Purple-era recordings seem to inevitably mean his drug-weakened, slinky voice slithering (pun intended) around the mix, to usually good effect. However, in Libertad, the suitability of Scott Weiland in the heavy, 70's influenced section that is Slash, Duff McKagan, Matt Sorum and Dave Kushner is sometimes called into question. In direct contrast to their previous effort Contraband, Velvet Revolver's sound has seemed become tamer. Gone are the huge riff-driven songs like Dirty Little Thing and Slither, replaced by a much heavier emphasis on the vocal melodies. In fact, you would be hard pressed to remember the riffs on Libertad. If anything, Libertad sounds like an approximation of what Stone Temple Pilots would sound like if Dean DeLeo was replaced with Slash. 'She Mine', 'American Man' could have been lifted straight from No. 4, and 'Gravedancer' wouldn't sound out of place in Shangri-La-Dee-Da. Even the single 'She Builds Quick Machines' lacks the aggressive punch that 'Sucker Train Blues' threw at you.

Despite all my criticism, in no way am I suggesting that Libertad is a poor album. It has its moments - 'Just Sixteen' is a phenomenally groovy number with lyrics about forbidden/inappropriate love (although Weiland urges that 'We ain't got nothing to hide'), 'Get Out the Door' is an infectious middle-eastern inflected song that you'll find yourself humming for days, 'The Last Fight' is, in the bands' words 'something that they had never done before', a more somber song filled with reflective lyrics penned by Weiland: 'Time heals all of the burned out bridges filled with nothing but misery...' and a signature chiming hook from Slash (think the chorus line of Fall to Pieces). An interesting cover of ELO manifests itself in 'Can't get it out of my head' but it is ultimately forgettable save for two great solos by Slash. The lyrics of this album are much more coherent than the first album, which were a nightmare to sing along to simply because the vast majority of them made no sense at all, but in comparison to their first album Libertad simply seems like the volume, and intensity of Velvet Revolver has been firmly turned down. In my opinion a more pedestrian album than Contraband, Libertad simply lacks the bombastic riff-driven rock that most people expect from the lineup: Libertad is filled with well written songs filled with pretty melodies, but ultimately lacks something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really like it, more rounded sound., 8 July 2007
By 
M. Doyle "Doyleyboy" (Lowestoft, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Libertad (Audio CD)
Overall i really like this album, theres not as many really top-notch songs as there is in contraband, but there are no poor ones either. Have to say slash is the reason im a guitarist, and is my guitar god, so i might be biased but heres a breakdown of all the songs. 0-2: is crap, 3-4: Ok, 5-6: Like it, 7-8: Really like it, 9-10: Love it!

1) Let it Roll - Great rocking start to the album, thought the solo could be ever so slightly better though, but im picky :) - 9/10
2) She Mine - Nice solid chunky riff - 6/10
3) Get out the door - 5/10
4) She Builds Quick Machines - Thought this tune was a bit light when i first heard it, now its my favourite tune on the album! Awesome solo! 10/10
5) The Last Fight - Think they were trying to have their 'fall to pieces' track here, its good but not great. 6/10
6) Pills Demons & etc - Cool funky wah-wah riffage. Cool solo, but rhythm section needs to be tad louder there 7/10
7) American Man - This along with mary mary is probably most mainstream stuff here 6/10
8) Mary Mary - See above 5/10
9) Just Sixteen - 50's esque rock, with not so 50's lyrics lol. Really cool 10/10
10) Can't get it out of my head - Quite chilled riff with top wah solo. 7/10
11) For a brother - Solid if unremarkable - 5/10
12) Spay - Probably the closest sound to contraband, cool unexpected slide guitar. 8/10
13) Gravedancer - Love this tune, strongest singing on entire album i think. Beautiful, up there with Loving the Alien. 10/10
14) Hidden track - Cool little country ditty 6/10
15) Psycho Killer - A cover track, weakest in my opinion, Still ok though 4/10.

I think theres a definate maturing to all the musicians on this album, a more textured sound, although i have some issues with the production. It's definatly more chilled out then Contraband. But not so much as e.g difference between RHCP's 'Blood sugar sex magic' to 'By the way'. Weilands voice is definatly stronger, and they all seem to gel better and have developed their own sound.

Overall 8/10. For comparison G'n'R's Appetite for Destruction (my fav album ever!) gets 9.5/10. So really good, doesn't quite scale the heights of greatness, but so much better than alot of other efforts. Think this and Bullets and Octane's -
In the mouth of the young are the two best hard rock albums out recently. Definatly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars velvet Revolver.....brilliant!, 2 July 2007
This review is from: Libertad (Special Edn) (Audio CD)
As a huge fan of Velvet Revolver I knew that this album was going to be a must have in my collection. Little did I know how good it was going to be. You can really hear the transition of VR becoming more established with this record. I really recomend this to any rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a long waited, but truly worthy successor to contraband, 3 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Libertad (Special Edn) (Audio CD)
I awaited in the utmost anticipation for Velvet Revolvers follow up album to contraband.

I picked up Contraband on its day of release (having always been a fan of Guns'N'Roses), to find out what I read about the latter days of GNR to be true. The fued between Axl and Slash really did compromise Slash's talent. the guitar riffs were truly stunning, and showed Slash in a completely different light in my opinion.

So when I read that Libertad was soon to be released, I was truly excited about listening to their new material.

the moment I put the album on and listened to the first 2 minutes of the first track, I knew this was going to be a fantastic follow up to Contraband.

There is not a single track on this album that I dislike and skip (which is rare on mosts bands albums nowadays). There is hard, heavy tracks and guitar riffs but also slower tracks such as 'The Last Fight' that help break the album up whilst still letting flow smoothly. This is reminiscent of the GNR albums with tracks such as 'Sweet Child O Mine' and 'November Rain' etc.

Upon first listening to Libertad, Scott Weilands voice will surprise and amaze you. Its almost as if Velvet Revolver have got a new lead singer. This just shows that no matter how good an album Contraband is, Weiland was still battling his drug addiction, which obviously affected his voice somewhat. Weilands voice on this album is now softer and more melodic, although he can still sing the hard rock tracks when demanded of him.

It is great to see an album of this calibre from some of the best musicians from the last 20 years, and I can only hope and look forward to a third album. Especially since Audioslave (one of the other bands that, in my opinion, have gone on to greater things since splitting from their original bands/lead singers) have now seperated and are very unlikely to regroup in the foreseeable future.

i shall certainly be listening to Libertad a severe lot whilst they are (hopefully, please, please) getting together and preparing a third album to take the world storm with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Libertad, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Libertad (Audio CD)
`Libertad' is the second album from Velvet Revolver and it has a much more coherent feel about it. The sound is refined, the riffs are more powerful and the band seem to have gelled more. Produced by the great Brendan O'Brien you already have an inkling about what this album will offer and from the opener `Let It Roll' you know you won't be disappointed. Slash plays better on this album and his distinctive sound is to the fore throughout and Scott Weiland sounds more polished and at ease than on `Contraband`. If you enjoyed their first album it's a safe bet you'll be impressed by this and if you found `Contraband' to be lacking then give this a try, you may be pleasantly surprised.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drastic Improvement on the Dreadful Debut, 8 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Libertad (Audio CD)
Three years on from the rather turgid "Contraband", Guns'N'Pilots seem to have kicked themselves up the backside and produced a classic rock album. Opening with the riproaring, blink and you'll miss it "Let It Roll" races at a suckerpunch pace - a roaring scream of guitars that pins you to the back wall by the scruff of the neck and never lets go.

Unlike "Contraband"s rushed -three-weeks-and-rehab vocals, "Libertad" stands up to scrutiny. The previous albums weak points, the rushed and nonsensical lyrics, the pedestrian vocal melodies that were added after the music was complete, are thankfully missing here. In "Libertad" Weiland works with the band to shape the songs. As a result this record doesn't sound like two different bands playing at once, but one cohesive hard rock outfit that is utterly contemporary. Not bad for grizzled rock veterans approaching their 25th anniversary in the Metal Wasteland.

Also, thankfully dispensed are the Jovi-lite dull ballads. Libertad pounds away like a jackhammer, propelled by an articulate and unstoppable musical fury. The one mis-step is a cover of ELO's "Can't Get It Out of My Head" - sadly a pedestrian lowpoint on the record.. Whilst comparison to GNR are unavoidable, VR are clearly now moving into their own arena and their own musical identity. In terms of musical progression, there's little new in the palette that wasn't there in 1987 back when "Appetite For Destruction" came out - whereas Axl's new look GNR tinker endlessly with "Chinese Democracy" (the songs of which have been heard are fascinating) - but VR have created a unique identity and moved forward to continue creating material and forging forward a new artistic vision. In comparison to the debut, "Libertad" is leap years ahead and significantly more interesting. Aside from the occasional lapse into Rock Cliché ("Gravedancer" and the ELO track), "Libertad" is a fine rock record and a record far better than any bunch of long-in-the-tooth forty something metallers should produce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but frustrating, 7 July 2007
By 
S. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Libertad (Audio CD)
Ok, basically all/most of the songs on this album are pretty good, but (and it's all downhill from here) essentially, I'm finding it pretty hard to actually get at any of them because they are shielded by this ridiculous overamped/distorted production. It sounds pre-clipped to me, which is unforgivable really. It's just really poor production made for the ipod generation I think. So frustrating, because there are some really good riffs that makes you want to turn it up as loud as possible but you are instantly left regretting it as it just gets messy and so harsh. My favourite album for a long time is Iron Maiden, A Matter of Life and Death which they decided not to use the master for. Having heard this, I am eternally grateful because in contrast, this sounds like it's been mastered badly about 10 times on top of each other. It seems like when you turn it up the only thing that gets louder is the tinniness and the distortion, and the music is left behind. I am finding the louder I make it, the harder it is to listen to. Tbh i dont see why velvet revolver are using sony - bmg - rca (talk about dissolving responsibility) who frankly dont seem to know what they are doing. It sounds like a rock album produced by people used to dealing with pop groups.

Decent album though, which is why it's so frustrating.
(I'd give this probably 4 stars if not for the production, so if you arent listening on even a low end hifi you should probably take this as a glowing review as you may not notice the iffy production.)

I buy few modern albums though, so i will struggle on with it, and would still say it's worth buying.

[edit] Yeah, turns out I never really did get into this album. The production didnt help and there was nothing super-amazing that kept me trying so I guess I gave up on it. I don't listen to it much any more. Not really surprised they split up. Still, could be worse - could be death magnetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Libertad (Special Edn) (Audio CD)
You can really hear the band coming together more on the second album - i think its a lot better than their first album 'Contraband'. You can also hear a lot of the bands influences come through on certain records. It seems more personal this time, but it still rocks! Slashs solo's are still as brilliant as ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Album!!, 23 July 2007
This review is from: Libertad (Audio CD)
I was eagerly awaiting the follow up to Contraband and wasn't disapointed. Velvet Revolver, I feel have now found their sound. Contraband was a fantastic CD and was enough to whet the appetite and leave you panting for more.

Some say that Libertad isn't as heavy as Contraband, but I would say its edgier. Contraband was a dare I say it, basic rock album. On Libertad its easy to hear the bands influences come through.

She Builds Quick Machines is a perfect first single from the album and The Last Fight is rumoured to be their second. Every song on the album gets better with every listen and I am throughly impressed by the tight album the band have brought out.

Scotts vocals are brilliant and atmospheric as usual and musically Slash, Duff, Matt and Dave bring their own sound to the album.

The songs are amazing performed live, and I can honestly say Velvet Revolver are to all the critics out there a proper band, not just 4 members of previously famous bands and one 'secret weapon'.

Velvet Revolver Rock !! \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Libertad
Libertad by Velvet Revolver
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews