Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars45
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2012
This is an essential recording a veritable masterpiece. The previous reviewer dismisses the show as mediocre but what we have here is Elvis' glorious return to live performance after a break of 7 years (it was never ten!) Elvis performs his 50's hits with gusto his voice had deepened and he belts them out almost hoarsly but in a true rock n roll manner! Stand outs are the fabulous One Night and Trying to Get to You which are actually better than the 1950's versions. Elvis also demonstrates some excellent guitar play. Indeed old Elvis never looked or sounded better than this. The King of em all y'all!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
this product is excellent. elvis at his best, especially the sit down gig. one night with you one of the best songs and versions done by elvis. box set highly recommended.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
Wow, have not stopped playing these CDs since they arrived. I am really impressed with them, listening to them makes you feel you are part of the audience! Would highly recommend these to any Elvis fan.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
If you're a fan of the black leather clad, mean looking, panther pacing, awesome looking, hip shaking, guitar toting, and energising Elvis Presley, then this box set is for you. Almost everything that took place during the recording of the '68 Comeback Special is here (at the time it was called the Singer Special, as sponsored by Singer sewing machines. And remember, the show is from 1968, so expect that year's sound technology - no more and no less.

Elvis sings his lungs out with the excitement of a freed prisoner. And you could even argue that he was in a kind of prison - a Hollywood prison, contracted to churning out movie after movie for the past eight years solid. But Elvis belonged on stage thrilling the crowds - and that's exactly where he finds himself now. He belts out song after song, mostly from the 50's glory years - singing with even more gusto and sizzling with pent-up energy. The closing number of the televised show was the iconic IF I CAN DREAM. In this box set, you will hear it a few times in its full glory, just as you will other songs.

Whether you're a new fan or a collector, I thoroughly recommend this well presented handsome box set, complete with a great booklet. And at the time of writing, the price is an absolute bargain.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
No need to write about the music here, it's all been written before and of course is great, however it's a shame Sony/BMG have used the original edited versions for the road medley and gospel medley on disc 1 (the original album). The road medley has about 6 minutes or so chopped out of it and both contain edits that would make a butcher proud! If, like me, you're used to hearing the full versions from the "Memories" double CD, the edits sounds like the CD has jumped. The missing songs are added as bonus tracks but they make better sense as part of the full medley. There's plenty of room on disc 1 too as even with bonus tracks it's still only 58 minutes long.

Good packaging and booklet though and the rest is great just not quite as "Complete" as the title implies.

Oh well, only 8 years to go and we can all buy the extended uncut 50th anniversary edition! (plus the DVD of course on the next format that supercedes blu-ray!)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Went to the Elvis exhibition at the O2 and couldn't afford the prices in the shop so was pleasantly surprised at the cost of this CD which has all the tracks that I wanted, Love it! Anyone who loves Elvis will love this box set. Great value for money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2008
This 4 cd set represents most of what is available from the '68 TV Special live and studio recordings. It is great to have it all in one box set as earlier releases were rather fragmented. I don't think there is much unreleased material on this and certainly there is no indication of any unreleased material at all in the comprehensive booklet which accompanies the set. Having said that some of the dialogue did appear "new" to me. Elvis does a grand rocking job throughout and as we all know was lean, mean and vocall fired up throughout. Buy it and enjoy the best ever Unplugged set ever!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Although I have seen recently on DVD the 68' comeback with all the extra footage I have to mention this cd set covers the Kings comeback 100% although you might get a bit bored with the tracks "Baby What You Want Me To Do" and "If I Can Dream" because the play the same songs at least 5
times with only a slight different take but if you don't have it you must definitely buy it because its a must have for every rock n roll fan and especially Elvis fans, even my family that does not like Elvis adored it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Just fab,Elvis at his best,i love all the chat inbetween and the raw emotion on the songs.A must for any Elvis fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
If you like Elvis at all, this set is a must have. Even though you may have some of the songs that are on here, go buy this, course the way he performs them here are the best versions you will get, especially 'One night ', 'Laudy miss clawdy', 'Trying to get to you ' and 'Love me tender' have never sounded better. This set also has a nice booklet, so it is great value for your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)