Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value on a fab double album. BUY IT.
i have always loved the proclaimers. when i saw them on top of the pops, it was clear this was no fake, manufactured duo. they were great and they had no intention of following the crowd. lovely scottish voices and dealing with many topics beyond just romance. when i saw them live, i loved them even more.

these two albums are a bargain on amazon. you should...
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by katherine

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good value, poor case design
It's great value, being the same cost as sunshine on leith by itself, however the case design means that you require a herculean effort to remove the disks, often concerned that they may break in doing so.
Published on 18 Dec. 2012 by R. Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value on a fab double album. BUY IT., 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
i have always loved the proclaimers. when i saw them on top of the pops, it was clear this was no fake, manufactured duo. they were great and they had no intention of following the crowd. lovely scottish voices and dealing with many topics beyond just romance. when i saw them live, i loved them even more.

these two albums are a bargain on amazon. you should buy it. i love playing in my car and with these albums you get many well known songs (500 miles, letter from America, and beautiful songs like sunshine on Leith, then i met you plus other great songs such as over and done with along with cap in hand.

really good double album which is i guess is an edgy version of scottish folk music. this duo are not softies and many songs make important statements.
BUY IT. BARGAIN. SOME SING A LONG SONGS, SOME CLEVER SONGS AND SOME THAT MAKE YOUR SPINE TINGLE WITH EMOTION.
PS - i am just a run of the mill fan and so i say it is great merely because it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars speedy delivery, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Just received my CD Sunshine on Leith.
After seeing the film last week really wanted the CD - couldn't find it any of the stores - so good old Amazon to the rescue.
Received it in record time - Great CD with all the film songs and more. Its a must have if you see the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sun shines on The Proclaimers, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
nm1270 (Tonypandy,Mid Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
I first bought "Sunshine On Leith" on vinyl when it was first released in 1988, so when I spotted this double CD package in Asda for a fiver it was a "must buy" moment. I could revel in these uncomplicated and beautifully constructed three and a half minute folk/pop songs for hours on end. Of course the singles "(I'm Gonna Be) 500 Miles" and "Letter From America" are here but I defy anyone to listen to "Cap In Hand", "I Met You" and "I'm On My Way" without being swept away by Craig and Charlie Reid's intertwining harmonies. The slightly inferior debut album "This Is The Story" knocks off a star but this is till an essential purchase for the modest price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful truth, don't leave because I can't see you, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Since I first bought This Is The Story in 1988, I've wondered how you would describe it. Only now I finally got a CD copy did it strike me: it's Gospel. White, urban, Scottish Gospel. Matured during several obscure years on the dole, you have this bleak picture of Thatcher's Britain at its worst - 'all these guys with their clever mouths who are saying we should move south' - and Scotland in apparently terminal decline. But the whole thing is transformed by the light of faith, climaxing in Joyful Kilmarnock Blues where an enforced walk home from a football match becomes a transcendent experience.

I'm not sure how Craig and Charlie's attitudes have changed since then - age takes its toll, and that evangelical certainty is apt to coil round and strike itself - but their vision remains. For me, this is one of the best albums of the last 30 years.

Sunshine On Leith, their international breakthrough, was made much more quickly and saw big changes. They expanded from acoustic duo to a hefty Country Rock sound (albeit with some superb contributions from Telecaster legend Jerry Donahue). The loss of subtlety is felt from the first bars of the album, with the DIY hammering of 500 Miles; into the gap left seeps just a hint of naffness. Lyrically the focus is more positive but more earthbound: love, marriage, kids, getting hammered; the alienation has crystallised as overt Nationalism. Although it's good, and there are still some soaring moments - like the chorus to Sean - it's much more conventional all round. That symbiotic, bedsit-nurtured intensity has dissipated slightly. And really - how many Proclaimer fans, however dedicated, were clamouring to hear them simulate sex (as they do in 'Jean')? It's always made me feel a bit queasy.

Still, there remains something refreshing about the wholesome, denim-clad ordinariness of the Proclaimers' world, contrasted with pop stars' standard chick and bling accessories (or for that matter the effete musings of English Indie types). And the keynote remains: 'I'll thank Him for His work, and your birth, and my birth'. They've never been fashionable and never will, but there's no question this is an amazing double.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the hits, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
I. C. Pizzie (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Great for a car journey - can sing along to all these well loved songs. Does what it says on the tin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific value double CD, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Since watching the film last month I just HAD to get this - can't believe this is my first Proclaimers CD - and it takes you back to their early days. If you haven't seen them, check out their YouTube videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barrie tunes, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
I had to buy this after seeing the film Sumshine on Leith. Brilliant film and two brilliant album with songs I had forgotten all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 26 April 2014
By 
Enfield 250 (Bletchley, Bucks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Hadn't got any Proclaimer music, this seemed to fit the bill and does!
Will get played more and more as time goes on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Fantastic I love listening to it and I can relate each track with moments in the film which I love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music and at the price an absolute, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
What can I say, it's the Proclaimers. Fantastic music and at the price an absolute bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story
Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story by The Proclaimers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews