Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value on a fab double album. BUY IT.
i have always loved the proclaimers. when i saw them on top of the pops, it was clear this was no fake, manufactured duo. they were great and they had no intention of following the crowd. lovely scottish voices and dealing with many topics beyond just romance. when i saw them live, i loved them even more.

these two albums are a bargain on amazon. you should...
Published 21 months ago by katherine

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good value, poor case design
It's great value, being the same cost as sunshine on leith by itself, however the case design means that you require a herculean effort to remove the disks, often concerned that they may break in doing so.
Published 19 months ago by R. Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value on a fab double album. BUY IT., 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
i have always loved the proclaimers. when i saw them on top of the pops, it was clear this was no fake, manufactured duo. they were great and they had no intention of following the crowd. lovely scottish voices and dealing with many topics beyond just romance. when i saw them live, i loved them even more.

these two albums are a bargain on amazon. you should buy it. i love playing in my car and with these albums you get many well known songs (500 miles, letter from America, and beautiful songs like sunshine on Leith, then i met you plus other great songs such as over and done with along with cap in hand.

really good double album which is i guess is an edgy version of scottish folk music. this duo are not softies and many songs make important statements.
BUY IT. BARGAIN. SOME SING A LONG SONGS, SOME CLEVER SONGS AND SOME THAT MAKE YOUR SPINE TINGLE WITH EMOTION.
PS - i am just a run of the mill fan and so i say it is great merely because it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars speedy delivery, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Just received my CD Sunshine on Leith.
After seeing the film last week really wanted the CD - couldn't find it any of the stores - so good old Amazon to the rescue.
Received it in record time - Great CD with all the film songs and more. Its a must have if you see the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sun shines on The Proclaimers, 23 Jun 2014
By 
nm1270 (Tonypandy,Mid Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
I first bought "Sunshine On Leith" on vinyl when it was first released in 1988, so when I spotted this double CD package in Asda for a fiver it was a "must buy" moment. I could revel in these uncomplicated and beautifully constructed three and a half minute folk/pop songs for hours on end. Of course the singles "(I'm Gonna Be) 500 Miles" and "Letter From America" are here but I defy anyone to listen to "Cap In Hand", "I Met You" and "I'm On My Way" without being swept away by Craig and Charlie Reid's intertwining harmonies. The slightly inferior debut album "This Is The Story" knocks off a star but this is till an essential purchase for the modest price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the hits, 13 Jan 2013
By 
I. C. Pizzie (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Great for a car journey - can sing along to all these well loved songs. Does what it says on the tin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seen the film?, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
You will love this if you have enjoyed the film Sunshine On Leith. All the songs from the the film but sang by the original artists who are fantastic! This double album is kept in my car and is played over and over, even my grandchildren like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barrie tunes, 23 Mar 2014
By 
V. Hill "Toots" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
I had to buy this after seeing the film Sumshine on Leith. Brilliant film and two brilliant album with songs I had forgotten all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific value double CD, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Since watching the film last month I just HAD to get this - can't believe this is my first Proclaimers CD - and it takes you back to their early days. If you haven't seen them, check out their YouTube videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 26 April 2014
By 
Enfield 250 (Bletchley, Bucks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Hadn't got any Proclaimer music, this seemed to fit the bill and does!
Will get played more and more as time goes on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
Fantastic I love listening to it and I can relate each track with moments in the film which I love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music and at the price an absolute, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story (Audio CD)
What can I say, it's the Proclaimers. Fantastic music and at the price an absolute bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story
Sunshine On Leith / This Is The Story by The Proclaimers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews