Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic round up release, 19 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
Tears of joy are shed after ordering this superb double feature that includes the real essence of what the Specials stood for - even the video of Ghost Town is made available here, though not part of the original albums. If you ask me this release is miles better than most of the other "best ofs" - I've always asked myself how it is possible to make dozens of compilations out of two proper albums that they made ... I'm not going any deeper here: The debut produced by Elvis Costello is a class of its own, whereas the more nuanced follow up (featuring Belinda Carlisle and the Go Gos on background vox) already heralds the end of this cult combo. My favourites are still "Rat Race", "Gangsters" and the cheerful Prince Buster cover "Enjoy yourself". Perfect purchase for new and old fans and especially blokes like me who have long been waiting for a domestic replacement of the vinyl versions of these albums at a reasonable price ... Besides: The cover of my vinyl lp shows Jerry Dammers smiling toothlessly - does anyone know about the reasons for changing the artwork here?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prefer Vinyl but still sounds good!, 21 May 2012
By 
J. wharfe-king (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
Bought this first time round on Vinyl - bits I loved, bits I didn't at the time. But had another listed 30+ years on and it was bloody great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Specials, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
Bought this in prep for the tour in November 2014. We will re learn the songs. Good selection, great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Special or More Special?, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
Anyone who grew up with the Specials were truely blessed. This double offering gives you virtually their full back catalogue with a range of musical styles as the progress from their edgy punk/rude boy early offerings to a more soulful and thought provoking sound. One of lifes great tragedies that they only recorded these two superb LP's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, pretty, pretty, pretty, pretty good!!, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
There's not much to say about The Specials that's not been said before, everyone knows them, you either like them or you don't. Not every track on the album is great, but Too Much Too Young, A Message To You Rudy, Enjoy Yourself and You're Wondering Now are worth it for this price alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the hits, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
Both albums on one CD with all the hits. At a great price there's not much too much else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never too Much. Never too young!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
Having bought the first album way back when and playing it over and over again. At home, work and parties..
An excellent reminder of my youth. Love both albums. I never got round to buying the second album but for me this is
even better than the first album. Highlighting Terry Hall and co's change in musical direction and influences.. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best two tone ska band ever, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
what can you say loved them in the early days as a young lad love them now. So good to have both their albums here together at such a cheap price.

They were and still are the best ska. Enjoy Yourself (It's Later Than You Think)

I am going to see them in May can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Specials / More Specials, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
Excellent value two-for-one reissue of the first two albums from The Specials. Not just good music, but socially and politically aware attitudes that helped to galvanize the youth of the late 70's& early 80's; sadly as relevant now as it was then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old times revisited, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials / More Specials (Audio CD)
re-living those ska days all over again - happy days indeed, timeless classics which should not be allowed to go away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Specials / More Specials
The Specials / More Specials by The Specials (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews