Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, but it Would be Nice to see some Original UK Scripts
This series follows the pattern of the previous three seasons of Law and Order UK in that the plots come from the long running American series. The US episodes were searched for stories which would translate effectively into a UK setting - some of them would not transfer easily particularly with the UK justice system. I suppose there is a lot of US source material in that...
Published on 12 July 2011 by Brett H

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No sub titles
Great series, but as there are no English subtitles for the hard of hearing, really no point in buying it !
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by Markus Ronald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, but it Would be Nice to see some Original UK Scripts, 12 July 2011
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This series follows the pattern of the previous three seasons of Law and Order UK in that the plots come from the long running American series. The US episodes were searched for stories which would translate effectively into a UK setting - some of them would not transfer easily particularly with the UK justice system. I suppose there is a lot of US source material in that Law and Order was a very long running series, but you do wonder if they are planning to introduce some made for the UK scripts at some point in the future. However, having said that, my enjoyment of Law and Order UK was not really affected by the fact that I have probably viewed most of the American source programmes over the years and I only occasionally got a feeling of deja vu.

This time round we have 6 more episodes to go with the 20 from the previous three series. Although originally intended as a single series, clearly this one will run and run. Fans of the series will be pleased that another 13 episodes have been commissioned to make up Series 5 and 6. The stories all follow the same format in that they start with a police investigation of the crime and apprehension of the perpetrator and the second part is the court room case and outcome. The main focus is in solving the crimes and getting the conviction so we do not get a lot of personal detail about the characters. This contrasts the series with others such as the recently introduced Scott and Bailey [DVD], where the main characters' personal lives feature as a significant part of the show.

The fourth series is very much along the lines of the previous three so if you are a fan of Law and Order UK it will not disappoint. The new box set of Law & Order: UK - Series 1-4 [DVD]may be worth considering if you are thinking of buying these DVDs. For the hard of hearing the producers of this set have yet again failed to include subtitles which is regrettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK Law and Order, 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
these arrived in no time and I was very happy with now purchase,Got it as a present for a frienf in USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I welcome you folks to the fourth British crime drama series of Law and Order UK. Do you think it's good?, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I feel that the fourth series of Law and Order UK is excellent because the character of Detective Sergeant Ronnie Brooks played by the delightful actor of Bradley Walsh is fantastic.

I mean, he deals with his character perfectly well and I feel that he fits into his part accurately.

Also, the idea behind the British programme of Law and Order UK is that it has good quality entertainment for those who enjoy a "whodunnit" followed by the courtroom dramas attempting to prosecute the offenders and you can re-visit the episodes on this DVD at any time.

Joining Ronnie in this series are Detective Sergeant Matt Devlin who is played the actor Jamie Bamber.
I feel he is a good sidekick to Ronnie especially in earlier series like this one and the actress of Harriet Walter is very good because she is the character of Detective Inspector Natalie Chandler from the Metropolitan Police force in London.

Apart from the background stories from the police, you get to see what the CPS (Crown Prosecution Service) thinks about the crimes.
There are three characters who work for the CPS and they are called Crown Prosecutor James Steel, Crown Prosecutor Alesha Phillips, and George Castle, the Director of London Crown Prosecution Service.

I feel that they are good characters within their parts and it's because that they are good actors.

Their names are Ben Daniels who is from Nuneaton in Warwickshire, Freema Agyeman is known for her character as Martha Jones from the BBC television science fiction drama programme of Doctor Who from 2006 until 2010 and the Glasgow (Scotland) Bill Paterson is recognized as the character of Professor Edwin Bracewell from the stories of Victory of the Daleks and the Pandorica Opens with Matt Smith and Karen Gillan in the fifth series of Doctor Who from 2010.

In summary I like the DVD product of Law and Order UK series four.

The truth is I have waited a very long time because I already ordered the seventh series of Law and Order UK on Tuesday 8th October 2013.

This is why I have paid 6.65 today minus the amount from my student discount card instead of the normal price of 7.00.

The fact is that on this DVD you get to see and watch six good episodes. Are we all clear?

So, that is all of my information I can tell you for now folks.

Thank you Amazon.co.uk for your reliable service and for your hard work. Five stars all round!!! Bye!

By Richard Hill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always Good, 3 May 2014
By 
Da Parsons "Jedknows" (West Country Boy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoy this series and never cease to be amazed at how well Bradley Walsh fits into his part!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a series!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
We love these DVDs and wondering why we didn't buy them before now will be sending for the last three series in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Law & Order 3, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I had watched the series live and decided that it would be good to re-visit the programme. Good quality entertainment for those who enjoy a "whodunnit" followed by the courtroom dramas attempting to prosecute the offenders. This review has been pasted into all seven series which I bought together because all of them lived up to expectations. Packaging and delivery were up to your usual high level Amazon, well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great drama, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
So much better than the USA version in my opinion. Very classy production, first class acting from all the cast. Love this show and thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bradley gets better as he gets more into the role., 29 Jan 2014
By 
Dg Truby "Denis Truby" (Slough Berks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive Bradley Walsh fan and in the first few series he was just getting into the part. The series has an excellent cast that gell together. The stories are good and better without the ad breaks. If you want a good laugh watch the gag reels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Law and Order, 22 Dec 2013
By 
S. M. Huxley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Love all the Law and Order series plus Doc Martin plus the Vera series this to cover all the requests you have asked about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD]
Law and Order: UK - Series 4 [DVD] by Omar Madha (DVD - 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews