Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction worth having.
This is probably going to be one of the most under-estimated shows of recent years. I understand the reasons, but I also appreciate that Ronald Moore and company and company wanted to go for something which took a wider perspective than Battlestar. Whilst this means the first part of the season often appears slow, it seeks to introduce us to the various principal cultures...
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by H. Nowlan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to get started
After a fairly promising pilot, this series gets off to a slow start. The story is actually very simple but the "action" is spread over too many episodes. Would have benefited from a severe edit.
Published 13 months ago by R. Lythgoe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction worth having., 4 Jun 2011
By 
H. Nowlan (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably going to be one of the most under-estimated shows of recent years. I understand the reasons, but I also appreciate that Ronald Moore and company and company wanted to go for something which took a wider perspective than Battlestar. Whilst this means the first part of the season often appears slow, it seeks to introduce us to the various principal cultures of the 12 colonies along with their differences, desires and flaws, and this certainly pays off in the second set of episodes in this, sadly, single season show. The build to the final episode is excellent, and that episode itself is one of the best I have seen, marrying well into the larger canvas of the conflict to come. Well worth and look, and a valuable addition to the (contemporary) Galactica universe, with some solid performances and some splendid drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sadly cancelled, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The 2nd part of Caprica season 1 is a definite improvement on the first half of the series. It is very sad to see that the execs ditched the show after it upped the anti and became a promising proposition. The plots of this season were faster paced and grittier a la BSG best moments, though there were some plot twists that didn't always make sense other than for dramatic effect.

The virtual reality and its effects on society were beginning to be explored more fully as were the political complexities of the 12 colonies. Another intelligent SF series bites the dust. So it goes......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a pioneering work, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Panagiotis Karatasios (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Caprica, the prequel to BSG, from producer Ronald Moore was a truly pioneering work in the genre of science fiction. Because it was trying something new it had both its ups and downs. It was not just a story of the creation of the cylons but also an anatomy of the society which created them viewed through the lifes of some powerful individuals and their families but not only. We see a society with religious fanaticism and terrorism, a society of mass consumerism and powerful corporations,of organized crime, a society of corporation intrigue, of racial prejudice, we see different planets with different social systems (some of them poor and under dictatorship), a society with massive use of lawless virtual reality from the teenagers etc. And in the middle of all them is the creation of cylons not as a simple result of scientific progress but embedded in the complex fabric of a society.
But there were no space battles and explosions, no pointless action, not even much space. On top of that the history was really complicated not easy to follow.This was a series which demanded patience (not usually found in modern audiences)
The most important fault of the series was that its first part was rather slow and some of the characters seemed not to have much to do with the story. But the second part really payed up and it led to a big finale.
Unfortunately it seems that this kind of intelligent and unconventional science fiction does not have much of an audience and the series was cancelled. I don't know when and if such an attempt will be made again but i really hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of your time?, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just finished watching the series. In the context of Caprica being cancelled, I'd like to say that absolutely this show wasn't made for everyone. But Syfy and the money hungry operators only want dumb tv and the sad truth is so do many commercialised viewers, who for too long in their lives have been fed vegetable tv and cannot engage in anything passed Roseanne. I loved BSG and yes that included all that lovely action, but BSG's writers introduced a hugely complex sociological frame to the story. The whole cylon war was about that history and to quote: "This has all happened before, It will happen again". The writer of BSG also had his hand in DS9, which shouldn't suprise anyone considering how deep that became also. What happened to scifi fans that enjoyed a moral story? or a reflection on our society? why does it just have to be liquidised vegetables for babys too simple to enjoy real cuisine? I'm ever so glad I had the privilage to have digested this delight yet equally appalled studios cannot see beyond the dollar sign. It's why hollywood movies are absolute junk, yet world cinema have the fruits of discovery. Caprica and Ronald D.Moore are ahead of our time. And its 5stars, but clearly not everyone can fathom why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Potential to be brilliant until SyFy binned it., 17 April 2014
By 
A. D. Hain "AndyH2002" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Caprica story is supposed to be a prequel to the highly acclaimed and excellently reimagined, Battlestar Galactica.
I say "supposed to be", because for me, some of the mythologies don't line up properly. There are nods to BSG with the inclusion of the Adama family, but I do think that the story would have worked with any family. Perhaps the writers envisaged the young William Adam growing up throughout numerous series and a final tie in with the parent story. Thanks to SyFy cancelling, we'll never know.
That said, this is a great story based around a society bloated on wealth and power, spiralling into debauchery. Hints of the Roman and indeed British Empires here.
The basic premise of the story and the establishment of the principle characters is covered is Vol 1. This volume brilliantly brings threads together for a climactic finale and plants some brilliant seeds for another series. Indeed, the trailer scenes shown at the end of the finale episode, only make it more frustrating that the show was scrapped.
Whether you're a BSG fan or not, if you like sci fi mixed with intrigue, then you'll like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just not very good, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This was dispatched quickly and well packaged. It pains me to write a negative review. I thought Battlestar gallactica was one of the best TV series if not the best ever made and was very excited to see this and tried my hardest to like it. i wasched all of season 1 but had to admit defeat by the second episode of season 2 I'm sorry it just isnt any good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Why did they have to cancel this?? Was it too much to see that it made people think about themselves & their families?

Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toasters?, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series and a story that had so much potential such a shame season 2 was never completed!!!the guys that made this should take note that people are still buying the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Caprica is so enjoyable to watch and can get really tense at times! (*Possible spoiler*): On the last episode my heart was starting to beat really fast it was that tense lol! I really wish they hadn't cancelled this show! The preview for series two looks insane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to get started, 10 July 2013
By 
R. Lythgoe "Ron" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After a fairly promising pilot, this series gets off to a slow start. The story is actually very simple but the "action" is spread over too many episodes. Would have benefited from a severe edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD]
Caprica - Season 1, Volume 2 [DVD] by Eric Stoltz (DVD - 2011)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews