Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long road continues with a great 'pop' album
After Paul Young's death everyone thought that Mike Rutherford's side project, Mike & The Mechanics would end their road. For us surprise, Mike decided to continue with Paul Carrack, and release album called Rewired (2004), it wasn't much of a success. Now after seven years, road continues, but what have changed? One thing that have changed is the lineup of the mechanics...
Published on 19 April 2011 by Anton Partonen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars surprised
thought it would as good as earlier cds.
it is ok but for me a bit of a letdown. maybe expected too much.
Published 20 months ago by JAMES KAMARIS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long road continues with a great 'pop' album, 19 April 2011
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
After Paul Young's death everyone thought that Mike Rutherford's side project, Mike & The Mechanics would end their road. For us surprise, Mike decided to continue with Paul Carrack, and release album called Rewired (2004), it wasn't much of a success. Now after seven years, road continues, but what have changed? One thing that have changed is the lineup of the mechanics. The new mechanics are Andrew Roachford, soulful singer and Canadian actor and singer, Tim Howar + bonus member Arno Carstens. Many have said that Andrew Roachford sounds lot like Paul Carrack and Tim Howar sounds lot like Paul Young, that's true, though the new mechanics have freshed the old Mike & The Mechanics sound. One thing that haven't changed is the team boss, Mike Rutherford, and after a long hiatus, Mike has done a great job and I could say that overally the album is a brilliant pop album.

Album starts with soft and uptempo title track. Though the track is a good opener, the song itself isn't the best in the whole album. I would give it ***

The next song is the first single release "Reach Out And Touch The Sun". The track tells a lot of the mood what the new mechanics has brought to the lineup. It's a modern adult-pop track, but after many times of listening, it still doesn't strike, although it`s a very good track. ****

After that comes the second single "Try To Save Me". This track is overally good pop song, it's not hit but not bad either. ****

Then, there's finally a wake up call. Fourth track is called "Background Noise". On the first three tracks the singer was Andrew Roachford, in this track it's time for Arno Carstens to step in. The track is really great song and the "background noise" stays in your head after the listening. This is the first song that proves that Mike's decision to continue his solo project was right. *****

Then it's Roachford's turn to strike in the song called "I Don't Do Love". The first minute of the track is very touchful and the song seems to tell a story of a man who's disappointed on his realationships in the past and don't want to fall in love again. This song is one of my favorites on the Road, I would give it *****

The next song is "Heaven Doesn't Care". Now is the time for Tim Howar to step in on this song. The song is very similar to M&TheM's biggest hit "Living Years". The song is about Heaven's disregard of the people who access to the Heaven; Heaven doesn't care if you don't go with every rule of the Bible. It's a great song and a possible hit. *****

Then it's Carstens turn when comes "It Only Hurts For A While". It's a typical Mechanics and adult pop track. The song is about heartbreak and how "It Only Hurts For A While". It's very soothing track and Carstens voice is really pleasant. Even though the track itself is one of the weakest in the album, I have a soft spot on this particular song. ****

And after a little break, Roachford comes in with a great song, "Walking On The Water". The song is a great pop track and it maintains "The Road's" fresh sound. ****

After that it's Carstens final song on the album, "Hunt You Down". For the first time when I was listening this song, I thought: this is funny and catchy song, but is it too "catchy" for the album? I don't think it is. It's nice when 9th track on the album can put a smile on your face. Harmless track and after few times of listening, the song brings a great filler to the album. ****

Then it's the Howar's second and final song, "Oh No". The song reminds me distantly of some 80's or early 90's female voiced song. It's not a bad thing, but this song kind of waits to be liked, so it grows in time. It isn't the best on the album, but it's not the weakest. This track does a great job for a preparing to a final song. ***

After that comes the final song, "You Can Be The Rock", which isn't the bad song either, but kind of unusual Mechanics way this isn't the best "final", although the first song, The Road, and this together nicely sums up the sound of the album. ***

All in all, this is a great comeback album, and a great pop album. If you want to enjoy brilliantly done pop songs that differs from today's music scene, this is the album for you. I loved it, although I've never owned Mike & The Mechanics album until now. Hopely Mike doesn't change his team after this stint, because I eagerly wait what these guys could do in the next album. Mike & The Mechanic's takes you to a nice little trip, which you can do a many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 9 Jun 2011
By 
G. Hearnshaw "GH" (Camberley, SY UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
What a great album - Some how the release of this album passed me by. I was disappointed with Rewired and thought that would be the end of the band. However this release takes the Mechanics back to where they belong. All the tracks are catchy and after several listens there are none I am skipping by.
I can give no higher praise and hopefully there will be further releases now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mike and the mechanics torque the talk, 8 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
This was a very pleasant surprise. A revamped Mechanics that springs on you a great list of songs. There is a distinct style that comes out the Mike and the Mechanics and this one really does hark back to early Mechanics - even the use of a children's choir. Distinctive keyboard and guitar work and a strong mix of vocal styles hit the spot. I think Mike's new team, while not adventurous in any musical direction, will satisfy the fans. Nice one Mike and well done new Mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The winding road, 10 May 2011
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
The music on this album is a melodic synthesis of new intensely perfect sounds that convey a sense of nostalgia, re-inforced by the poetic clarity of words that are almost more spoken than sung. You feel as if you are listening to something so personal, so autobiographical, that these are stories being played out and for which you have been given permission to eavesdrop. The music draws you in as if a portal to the emotions and history of this group, once in youth, now in the passing of time and life...with nothing lost in the passing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Waiting For, 19 May 2011
By 
Mallard (Nottinghamshire. U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
This CD has been well worth the wait, brilliant tracks, my only critisim would be they lack the outstanding vocals of either Paul Carrack or Paul Young, but apart from that "well done guys", its been some time, also good to see them touring again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album - it grows on you after a few plays, 5 May 2011
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
A Great Album - it grows on you after a few plays.
3 excellent new vocalists. (But not forgetting the 2 Pauls that went before them.)
Can't wait to see them live next week in Brighton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Comeback Album, 25 April 2011
By 
P. M. D. Schueler (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
Having heard the single and another track from this album prior to its release I was already to write a review of a fairly bland album.
I liked the single and Roachford but would The Mechanics (as I have known them all these years) sustain a whole album of this type of sound?
In actual fact the songs on the album are sung by three different vocalists and it is a really good varied album of songs with the three singers all adding something different.
It is a very good start for the newly polished Mechanics and I am sure going in this direction future releases will only improve things.
Surely now for the Mechanics boss Mike Rutherford "The Road" is clear for an appearance on Top Gear afterall Jeremy is a big fan of the other band he is associated with !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Road, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
Bought this because I have all the other MatM albums and saw them at the Symphony Hall in May. Despite the new members it is clearly identifiable as Mike's and the singers sound surprisingly like Paul. Like others who've reviewed this I love Background Noise and I Don't Do Love but all are worth a listen. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mechanics Pass the MOT !, 25 April 2011
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
My main concern has always been that Paul Young seemed irreplacable. As good as Paul Carrack has undoubtedly been, Paul Youngs voice made a great number of the Mechanics songs what they were. That said, I still liked Rewired, their last release which was recorded after Young's sad death and included Carrack on the album title as associate artist, mainly for it's different direction. All that said, I was little worried about this album as it didn't even have Carrack on it. However, much to my surprise, the new line-up completely freshens it up and the rotation of singers on the songs gives a definite Young/Carrack feel to it, heady praise indeed. Each singer brings their own qualities. Credit to Mike Rutherford who has gone back to what worked in the first place. Stand-out songs for me are the title track which opens the album, Try to Save Me and especially Hunt You Down which has an excellent vibe running through it. All in all, I think it's an excellent album and well worth catching the up and coming tour. I dare say even the great Paul Young would be looking down and giving it a big thumbs-up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the new album!, 4 May 2011
By 
M. SULLIVAN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Audio CD)
Go and see them live!

Saw Mike Rutherford and his new lineup, live, at The New Theatre, Oxford last night (03/05/11) and they were fantastic. They played some of the new, a lot of the old and even some Genesis music. Mike Rutherford has surpassed himself this time in acquiring such an amazing line-up.

I agree with others comments that both Paul Young and Paul Carrack would be hard acts to follow, but believe me in Andrew Roachford, who also plays keyboards, and Tim Howar he has found a pair of vocalists that easily compete with, if not better the two Pauls.

With the fantastic and versatile guitarist Anthony Drennen supporting their voices, the brilliant Gary Wallis on drums and the added bonus of Luke Juby on Keyboards, Rutherford has in my opinion assembled the best bunch of 'Mechanics' a garge would ever want to see.

If any of you do not have tickets for the remainder of their UK tour can I suggest you get some. You will not be disappointed.

Well done Mr Rutherford and crew my wife and I loved your concert in Oxford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road
The Road by Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews