Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Blood-Spattered Economics
This is a direct sequel to the earlier thriller Daemon, which postulated a computer program set to respond to real world events and via access to most of the world's corporation's financial data, obtained a lock-hold on them and the global economy. Reading the earlier book is, I think, a prerequisite to this book; most of the background for various characters appears in...
Published on 20 Jan 2010 by Patrick Shepherd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I was expecting more.
Having read Daemon I immediately downloaded Freedom. I was a bit disappointed. Not too sure why. I think there was too much talky talky and not enough action.
But hey ho, who am I to criticise, I've never written a book.
Published 14 months ago by CEEAITCHJAY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Blood-Spattered Economics, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Patrick Shepherd "hyperpat" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freedom (Hardcover)
This is a direct sequel to the earlier thriller Daemon, which postulated a computer program set to respond to real world events and via access to most of the world's corporation's financial data, obtained a lock-hold on them and the global economy. Reading the earlier book is, I think, a prerequisite to this book; most of the background for various characters appears in the earlier book, along with the details of how the Daemon operates, and trying to decode this book without that information would be at least confusing and probably lead to missing some important points of this book.

This book, while still very much action-oriented and with quite a gore-quotient, delves much deeper into the consequences of today's globally interconnected information flow and how disruption of that could cause an economic and political melt-down. Given the assumptions this book starts with, Suarez makes these consequences both very visible and quite believable. In addition, he adds a new level in this book, which only played a side-role in the earlier book, on the growing possibility of massive role-playing gaming becoming an economy of its own that has real-world impacts. To some degree this is already happening, as some on-line games' currency and artifacts are being bid and traded for in real-world equivalents. He also brings in the concept of on-line social reputation as a credit marker and the use of that to bring large numbers of resources to bear on particular problems in very short time periods, all adding to the believability of the plot line. However, there were a couple of places where I wondered about the true economic viability of some the projects started by such groups, even when the technology for them is sound and already out of the laboratory.

In general, I felt this was a better book than Daemon, partly due to the various items listed above that added a lot to the overall believability of the scenario, and also due to the change in the Daemon itself, now showing itself to not just be a vehicle for revenge but having much higher goals that make some of its actions at least have a decent rationale behind them. The action is still very much fast-paced and the characters remain true to their core values. The presentation of philosophical points about just what constitutes freedom and how humans organize themselves as governments and economic units adds to this, lifting it beyond the sheer 'thriller' category into something with substance. The only real negative I found with this book was single-sided characterization of those in current power, who as shown here will do absolutely anything to retain their current status. As no one is completely black or white, this struck something of a false note with me.

An engrossing read with a lot of scare factor, but needed better, more realistic 'bad guys' to reach top-flight status.

---Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More future-tech scares, 28 Nov 2010
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
Freedom continues where Daemon left off, with the computer program Daemon building a new society. Freedom ups the ante on Daemon from the beginning with grander action sequences and fleshing out the heroes and villains of the story. Suarez appeases his fans of science fiction and fantasy with a plot in which the uprising new culture is firmly rooted in a world mirroring Massively Multiplayer games. The hero has a quest - and a glowing line in his HUD that only he can see, leading him to where he is required. Those who use the darknet have floating names and levels above their heads. It's all very World of Warcraft, EverQuest etc. With the millions of players now participating in such games, Suarez's readership is sizeable and those who have played such games will get more from reading this work.

There's non-gaming future-tech in there too and at times the speculative future seems very plausible and threatening. This is sharp and dirty warfare and subsequently the feel to Freedom is more action orientated and more accessible than the first entry. At times Freedom does become complicated as it tries to ensure the reader cannot predict how the plot will develop, hindered further by the myriad of characters, some with little reintroduction from Daemon. Those small points aside, Freedom remains a well conceived piece of near-future fiction, a thriller worth investing time in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff, 20 Aug 2010
By 
D. Flower (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
Well I'm only half-way through this, but I really look forward to settling down in the evenings with it. You should definitely read Daemon first, because a lot of the events in that explain stuff in this, especially to justify (and thus provide depth to) characters' strengths/weaknesses and how they perceive events around them. The story is more complex than simply having 'good' guys and 'bad' guys, reflecting the different motives of individuals, groups and states involved. It ties in nicely with the recent economic wobbles, and you find yourself switching allegiances between characters as the plot twists and turns.

Admittedly, the 2nd half may turn out to be more action than drama, but the plot is building so well that it's probably justified.

Mr Suarez, if you'll just sit down at your computer and get cracking, we'll call it a trilogy, shall we?! :-)

Roll on the Daemon movie in 2012!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I found that whilst I didn't enjoy this book as much as the first, 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
I really wanted to give this book 3.5 stars but had to choose 4. The sequel or continuation of his daemon novel, this book picks up where the previous one left, so it wouldn't be worth reading (in my opinion) without reading the first!

As this book went on I found myself changing sides and seeing the daemon as force for positive change rather than the destructive virus left behind by a computer programming genius. Of course the book is still a little far fetched in places, and there are a few scenes (as the first book) that contain some quite graphic violence.

I found that whilst I didn't enjoy this book as much as the first, I had to keep reading to see where it ended. For that reason I'd recommend this book to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel to Daemon, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
You need to read Daemon first to make any sense of this and it suffers from the fate of all sequels in that he had to put quite a lot of the backstory into the early chapters just in case readers had either forgotten or were coming to the book without reading Daemon. I was disappointed by this but stuck with it and glad I did because once it gets going it's a worthy sequel to the earlier book. Assume for a minute that an alternative internet money system did start to thrive - who would be threatened by this? What would happen to the idea of Nations? What would happen to the idea of Corporations? Who would champion these new systems and who would want to stop them? You can read this book as a straight thriller and it works well but he has woven in enough depth to cause you to question many of the basic assumptions about levers of power and how we are arranging our world at the moment. So, a slow start but a satisfying feast and he skilfully ties up the remaining plot points right to the last page. A good read - I wonder how much of it might come true?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping conclusion to a fantastic modern 'sci-fi', 23 Jun 2014
By 
Villagepig (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
Whether you are 'into' technology or not, chances are at least some of your life is lived online. This gripping 2part story (book one is called Daemon) really plays into the weaknesses in both out current society and the proposed one. Just enough reality to make it terrifyingly plausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to Daemon .. Suarez is a genius, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
If you can read these and not be left questioning so many day to activities in your life where you thought you were making decisions, then you have completely missed the plot ... a work of genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frightening, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
Excellent character development following on from daemon. I feel kinda sorry for Loki and hope he gets the help he needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery and item as described, thanks :), 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
This is the second book by Daniel Suarez in the Daemon series and is as good as the first. I wanted the large format paperback and found this for a very good price. It arrived quickly well packaged and in excellent condition for a second-hand book. I would most certainly purchase from this seller again.

Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating idea of the future, 7 April 2014
By 
Ms L. Gooch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
This is, in effect, part 2 of Daemon. It challenges some of the ideas I had developed in the first book, about what internet security means, about how the future might work, about the capacity of humans to adapt and use technology. I've read a few books where characters end up 'in' a video game; this is an entirely different and more stimulating level. I'm not a geek, my boyfriend is and he recommended the novels. I had no trouble following the ideas, though. In this one, it was all slightly more spelled out and even repeated - perhaps the editor felt that Daemon was too niche. It does help that I've played a few video games, but anyone interested in ideas of multi-nationals, where the internet might take us, genetically modified crops and a good old bloody thriller would enjoy it. It is asking for a movie adaptation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freedom TM
Freedom TM by Daniel Suarez
£4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews