Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Middle Bit
The story continues, and this is the problem, it would have been better to have only released the omnibus edition which contains all three books. Some serials, note I have not called it a series, can be read as single novels or in any sequence but this serial does not work read like that. Without giving away too much of the plot it continues from the previous book without...
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by Bob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good writing, poor antagonists
This wasn't quite as good as the first book. I enjoyed it, but the 'villains' were one-dimensional and cliche'd. The plot was also not as well constructed as sending Reza to a Marine training camp without intelligence oversight of all he was doing seemed silly. The strengths as with Empire, are the emotional scenes.
Published on 23 Aug 2011 by Ravenfeeder


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Middle Bit, 24 Aug 2011
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
The story continues, and this is the problem, it would have been better to have only released the omnibus edition which contains all three books. Some serials, note I have not called it a series, can be read as single novels or in any sequence but this serial does not work read like that. Without giving away too much of the plot it continues from the previous book without prologue or introduction and continues the adventures of Reza as he returns to the human realm most of the book explores Reza's relationships and his joining the marines. Again a well written book which is interspersed with action there is a background of conspiracy at high levels of government. The author does not play for time by adding extra detail when he want to he just moves forward e.g "six years later". Apart from the beginning and towards the end of this book the Kreelans do not feature much in this book. As with the previous book it ends on a cliff hanger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Action, More Story, Less Crisp, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
In Her Name: Confederation has more of a science fiction feel than the first in the series. It is similar to the first book in that we follow Reza Gard over a period of years. I'm not sure if I'm more into the story, or if it's because Hicks gained confidence as he went on, but the writing seemed more in the scene in the second book. Probably a combination of both confidence and my enjoyment.

Gard appears in the story shortly after it begins and immediately takes control of the show. After spending years with the Kreelans, his personality, his spirit, and even his physiology is changed. We are shown new tricks that Gard learned as a Desh-Ka Priest. Hicks does a great job of releasing these tidbits throughout, all the way until the end.

Although it is the second in a series, I love that In Her Name: Confederation has a great build up and climax. In another series I'm reading, it feels like each book is only meant as a precursor to the next. I don't get that with Hicks at all. Each of the first two books can stand on its own.

There were two things keeping In Her Name: Confederation from a five, but I'm a bit of a stickler so I'm not surprised.

The second book didn't seem as clean to me as In Her Name: Empire, or Season of the Harvest, a thriller also written by Hicks. It wasn't bad, the grammar was fine, but there were areas throughout that could have been crisper.

The second reason is that I'm not 100% sold on how much I love the characters. Like them yes, love, not yet. This tells you how much I love the plot and every other element in the series since I'm still at four out of five stars. There is no doubt however, that as the story progresses I will only enjoy it even more. Part of my enjoying a specific author is becoming used to their writing style.

In Her Name: Confederation is a great second book in the series and anybody looking for a science fiction or fantasy series would do well to get this one on their bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story continues..., 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
While, in my opinion, not as strong as 'Empire' this is still a fantastic read which continues the was with the Kreelans.

I felt that this book suffered from having not as much story based on the Kreelans and focusing on the confederation.

Saying that, this is still an excellent read and I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good writing, poor antagonists, 23 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
This wasn't quite as good as the first book. I enjoyed it, but the 'villains' were one-dimensional and cliche'd. The plot was also not as well constructed as sending Reza to a Marine training camp without intelligence oversight of all he was doing seemed silly. The strengths as with Empire, are the emotional scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
Loving every second of the Kreelan empire. The first book is free, so give it a try, you won't be disappointed. Will be reading his other books when I finish this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
W. G. Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
Uncompromising, intense and utterly absorbing. I was swept away by this book just likes a cork in the rapids. This was the best book in the series so far and I cannot wait for the next but sadly the last instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
Found the whole 6 books compelling. Sceptical when I started with First Contact but just kept reading. Very addictive and great read thanks Michael, keep writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Her Name books, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
There are three sets of these books and every single one of them is wonderfully written. Michael R Hicks introduces a great number of characters but every single one of them is memorable and well described. The world of the Kreelans is so real, as is their ethos, and Ichiro and Reza, when you get to them, are wonderful. Within the books there are very strong women as well and Desh-Ka and Esah-Zhurah will grab your heart too, as will Michelle and Jodi. I have read other books of the same ilk but these are the best I've come across. I'm waiting for the next instalment so am re-reading them and find that there is much I missed the first time round, due in no part to the 'I can't put this book down' sensation. I would thoroughly recommend every single book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good read, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confederation (Redemption Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name 6) (Kindle Edition)
Some original ideas. Downloaded to Redemption Trilogy to read on holiday and ended up downloading and reading The Last War Trilogy too. Not read any Michael R Hicks before but rather enjoyed all the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews