Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gosh!
Well well well. What can you say?

Suddenly, from being the silly party-crashers of the 2-tone scene, Bad Manners emerge with "Gosh It's..." to show themselves to be fine musicians, capable of making socio-political statements with a tight sound AND still manage to have a laugh at the same time.

This album demonstrates fine musicianship, an ear for a...
Published on 5 May 2011 by Mr. M. Bloomfield

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Can Can!
Great to see the individual Bad Manners albums available on CD and particularly 'Gosh It's ...' (their best album in my opinion). One of my favourite moments on this album has always been the way 'Dansetta' segues into the raucous party that is the 'Can Can' (a rare novelty record in that it isn't annoying but a total delight). There's a couple of problems though...
Published on 17 Nov. 2011 by Mr Pleasant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gosh!, 5 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gosh It's... (Audio CD)
Well well well. What can you say?

Suddenly, from being the silly party-crashers of the 2-tone scene, Bad Manners emerge with "Gosh It's..." to show themselves to be fine musicians, capable of making socio-political statements with a tight sound AND still manage to have a laugh at the same time.

This album demonstrates fine musicianship, an ear for a cracking melody, syncopated beats and a broad range of musical styles. Compare it with the earlier "Loonee Tunes!" (which is nevertheless a fine collection of songs in itself) and you'll find yourself thinking that Buster and co had undergone some form of musical awakening in the space of a single year.

It's as though all the previous success had finally paid off, allowing the gang to experiment and find themselves musically. Their unapologetically daft dominance of the British singles charts seemed to have given them the confidence to come out of their shells and produce what must be one of the best albums of the genre, by any band at any time. "Weeping and Wailing", "Casablanca", "Ben E Wriggle", "Runaway" and "Never Will Change" provide a spine to this CD of well-crafted, harder-edged music, while for those still longing for the bonkers, adrenaline-fuelled 'nutty sound' that had them competing with Madness in the first couple of years of their career there's enough to be well pleased about with tracks like "Dansetta", "Don't Be Angry", and the classic "Can Can", which took the charts and the public's imagination by storm but still, criminally, never quite made it to Number 1. Then, for good measure, we get given the EP headliner Buona Sera, plus excellent B-sides (my favourite being "Armchair Disco" from the "Can Can" 45) to keep us moving for just that little bit longer.

This isn't what you might expect from Bad Manners. The group was never really known for laying down adult, clever, and even cosmopolitan rhythms - but it really works. They finally show how they were capable of producing a classic album that didn't just rely on partying and dancing till you sweat after all. And what a superb sound it is!

Funky, sophisticated, danceable ska from the 'fun boy nine'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rotund hero's of Ska best moment., 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gosh It's... (Audio CD)
An underrated, but important part of the British Ska movement in the early 1980's.
I first discovered BM at about nine or ten years old, they were a great band to dance to (for the boys) at various school discos, releasing a string of instantly catchy hit singles.
After BM's hits dried up I lost touch with the band, & it wasn't until nearly 30 years later that I saw a "best of.." album, so I thought I would relive my youth a bit.
Now what I got was 2 CDs, one a greatest hits package, but the other was full of album tracks & B-sides. What surprised be about this second disc, was the quality of the songs so I decided to investigate BM's back catalogue.
My favourite of these was 1981's "Gosh It's..".
This album contains a fascinating mixture of styles, from the quality writing & musicianship of songs such as "Walking in the Sunshine" & "Casablanca" to the experimental, slightly leftfield "Gherkin", to the great fun tracks like "Can Can" & "Ben E. Wriggle".
What you get is an amazingly diverse record that should have sold by the bucket load.
BS were always perceived as a singles band, although this was the bands most successful record, it only peaked at 18 in the UK album charts.
So if a fan of ska, then this album is an integral part of that scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the Can Can!, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr Pleasant (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gosh It's... (Audio CD)
Great to see the individual Bad Manners albums available on CD and particularly 'Gosh It's ...' (their best album in my opinion). One of my favourite moments on this album has always been the way 'Dansetta' segues into the raucous party that is the 'Can Can' (a rare novelty record in that it isn't annoying but a total delight). There's a couple of problems though. Firstly, the segue is not there ... just an awkward pause (I can only assume that this clunky bit of editing has been done so that `Can Can' can be downloaded as a single track without you hearing the join with `Dansetta'). Secondly, the 'Can Can' that appears on this CD issue sounds absolutely appalling. I was so gobsmacked at how different it sounds compared to the original vinyl release that at first I thought it was a different take (it's so bad, I'm not sure how this mix has been cobbled together). It's puny, lacking in any Oomph! and the mix is totally wrong in every way imaginable. It's been mastered by Tim Turan who has worked on Slade's back catalogue (so you'd expect a certain level of competence). The rest of the CD sounds OK-ish so how Mr Turan managed to foul this track up so badly is beyond comprehension (honestly, you really would have a job to make it sound any worse). This is such a shame as not only is the 'Can Can' such a great track but the preceding build-up from the tail end of 'Dansetta' ends in let-down rather than lift-off. I think that Bad Manners sound considerably better on the 2xCD 'Walking In The Sunshine' compilation ('Can Can' sounds as it should). I would advise buying this instead and if there are any tracks you want that are missing, download them individually off these new releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gosh It's... (Audio CD)
Got this had it years ago lost at a party love it ! The oldies are the best takes you back good memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, Great band. Love the Can can, 21 Mar. 2011
By 
R. J. Kasimier "kasi" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gosh It's... (Audio CD)
Great music from a great British ska band. The Can Can was a hit in the Netherlands in 1981

Love this song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gosh It's...Bad Manners on CD..., 13 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Gosh It's... (Audio CD)
Gosh It's ...Bad Manners is their very best album, available on CD with bonus tracks for the first time ever.

Classic album that belongs on all music collector's shelves, musical and refined.
Buy it, even if you've never heard of Bad Manners...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gosh It's...
Gosh It's... by Bad Manners (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews